The Office : Season 4

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
The Office Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve
    Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve Carell) thinks he's the coolest, funniest, best boss ever - which, of course, makes him the uncoolest, most obnoxious and annoying boss as far as his staff are concerned. Salesman Jim Halpert (John Krasinski) has always loved receptionist Pam Beesly (Jenna Fischer) and loves sabotaging his cube-mate, the know-it-all Dwight Schrute (Rainn Wilson). Ryan Howard (B.J. Novak) started as a young, smart, self-possessed temp, but quickly figured out the real office politics despite Michael's attempts to instill the official point-of-view, and gets himself a job at corporate HQ in New York.

    The staff is rounded out by quiet Phyllis Lapin Vance (Phyllis Smith), beaten down by the working life Stanley Hudson (Leslie David Baker), office alcoholic Meredith Palmer (Kate Flannery), up-tight Angela Martin (Angela Kinsey), formerly closeted homosexual Oscar Martinez (Oscar Nunez), stocky and uncouth Kevin Malone (Brian Baumgartner), ambivalent kleptomaniac Creed Bratton (Creed Bratton), Sad Sack HR rep Toby Flenderson (Paul Lieberstein), persistently love-struck Kelly Kapoor (Mindy Kaling), icy corporate manager turned Michael's girlfriend Jan Levinson (Melora Hardin), former Stamford branch denizen and Cornell graduate Andy Bernard (Ed Helms), warehouse foreman Darryl Philbin (Craig Robinson), and Pam's ex-fiancé Roy Anderson (David Denman).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    The show is in it's prime right now. My favorite season so far. I have watched the entire season in a day. It's that addicting. I love theThe show is in it's prime right now. My favorite season so far. I have watched the entire season in a day. It's that addicting. I love the office and can't get enough of it. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    You can't beat this show. The Office is awesome. One of the greatest shows ever. It is always so hilarious. The cast is amazing and have suchYou can't beat this show. The Office is awesome. One of the greatest shows ever. It is always so hilarious. The cast is amazing and have such good chemistry. Steve Carell is crazy funny and makes a perfect Michael Scott. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2016
    9
    This show is witty, clever and comical at the same time. I watched the first season on a suggestion from a friend, and didn't know what IThis show is witty, clever and comical at the same time. I watched the first season on a suggestion from a friend, and didn't know what I thought. After getting into it and watching every episode after that, I began to love the style and approach. The character and plot development are outstanding! You will quickly grow attached to the characters and their stories... even the challenging times are engaging. I would recommend this show for anyone who enjoys a good laugh, but still wants a story that inspire thought and emotion. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Still great, but starting to show some wear, this writers'-strike afflicted season had the benefit of adding Amy Ryan's Holly, but sufferedStill great, but starting to show some wear, this writers'-strike afflicted season had the benefit of adding Amy Ryan's Holly, but suffered from inconsistency that was not present in the show's previous two outstanding seasons. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2016
    7
    With only 14 episodes -- ‘The office’ manages to continue with its simple plot and nuanced way of presenting humor. It just works. HilariousWith only 14 episodes -- ‘The office’ manages to continue with its simple plot and nuanced way of presenting humor. It just works. Hilarious characters with many different personalities and traits. Development of these individuals have become a more explored part of the show, nice! Still it’s not a show for everybody -- but it is one of the most simplest comedies out there. Romance, humor, chemistry & a simple plot. Simple and really fun!

    Average personal episode score: 73,8/100

    Personal rating: 78/100
    Critical rating: 75/100
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    7
    Still enjoyable, but a much weaker season than those that came before it. It can still bring the laughs even if some episodes can be dudsStill enjoyable, but a much weaker season than those that came before it. It can still bring the laughs even if some episodes can be duds overall. I typically find myself complaining about sitcoms that put so much emphasis on certain character's relationship dramas, watching characters go back and forth with their feelings for each other is a way overused sitcom trend, but since the Jim/Pam storyline sort of wrapped up in season 3 there seems to be a missing hook here. Luckily it looks they are planning a new one for season 5.

    Season 4 is still good. It may be the weakest season so far, but it's still funny and has great characters to keep it entertaining overall. Part of me wonders if I just burned myself out and that I'm starting to pick up on the lack of any big change in the formula. On the bright side it it looks like some fresh new aspects have been set up for season 5. I still like the show and looking forward to more.
    Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2016
    0
    what a horrible show. It's boring, not funny, and the characters are so hard to like. Parks and Rec is 10 times better than this crap show.what a horrible show. It's boring, not funny, and the characters are so hard to like. Parks and Rec is 10 times better than this crap show. The only good episodes were stress relief and dinner party Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.