The Office : Season 8

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
The Office Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 7, 2011
    63
    James Spader, as the cryptic new CEO, is better. Everything he says sounds like a parable intended for stupid children. That's how to manage Dunder Mifflin. [15 Nov 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Dec 7, 2011
    38
    The show's been just barely treading water.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The office has been a bit of a disappoint this season. Carrel certainly provided the glue to hold the show together but I am surprised thatThe office has been a bit of a disappoint this season. Carrel certainly provided the glue to hold the show together but I am surprised that the cast of strong characters has not kept up the comic delights from other seasons. Has there been a change in the writer's stable? This seems to be an obvious answer. The show just is not funny this year, often resorting to the overly bawdy and slapstick for laughs. Looks like it may be the last season. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Writers always step it up. Cast is always stellar. And the new lead Andy Bernard (Ed Helms) works like a charm. The Office can still stand upWriters always step it up. Cast is always stellar. And the new lead Andy Bernard (Ed Helms) works like a charm. The Office can still stand up to any comedy on TV and say " f u c k you" Collapse
  3. Nov 1, 2016
    9
    I didn't expect to like this show without Steve Carrell but I have to say, he was a strong character, and tended - through character andI didn't expect to like this show without Steve Carrell but I have to say, he was a strong character, and tended - through character and performance - to make every scene in every episode all about him. It was a bit oppressive by season 7. I actually found that the ensemble cast started to really come into their own without Michael Scott's constant mugging. James Spader as Robert California added a quirky intrigue. I wish Creed and Meredith had been more developed. Overall, this entire show is a great binge-watch. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    I feel that I should re-evaluate this show, based on it's performance through the mid-season. I thoroughly enjoyed the first through thirdI feel that I should re-evaluate this show, based on it's performance through the mid-season. I thoroughly enjoyed the first through third episodes of the season, not questions asked. Then, the writers turned Andy into a new Michael. They made him dumb, and completely took him out of character. James Spader is great as Robert, but he doesn't add anything to the show that other corporate bosses haven't. Save for a few episodes such as "Mrs. California" and "Garden Party", this once great show has been middling, at best. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    Turning Andy into the new Michael was a questionable decision. It's hard to fight for him when he's going for Erin, knowing fully-well how badTurning Andy into the new Michael was a questionable decision. It's hard to fight for him when he's going for Erin, knowing fully-well how bad it would be for her. This is without question the weakest season of The Office. The Tallahassee arc is particularly disappointing and after that there are a string of underwhelming episodes culminating in the weakest season finale the show has ever seen. The cast is still charming and elevate much of the material, so it is much watch TV for fans of the show. 6.5/10 Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    Comparing to seasons 1-7, this just isnt The Office of old, alot of the comedy, almost most of it left with Steve Carrell, the absence ofComparing to seasons 1-7, this just isnt The Office of old, alot of the comedy, almost most of it left with Steve Carrell, the absence of Michael Scott is very evident, as an overall series this season is good but being The Office this is a very sub-par season Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    2
    When getting into the 5th episode of season 8, I knew they should have ended the show after Carrel left. But know watching the ninth season,When getting into the 5th episode of season 8, I knew they should have ended the show after Carrel left. But know watching the ninth season, the series has improved read my review on their page. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.