The Office : Season 9

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
The Office Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 20, 2012
    91
    Here's a show that knows how to dive into its final season.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 19, 2012
    91
    The results so far are very (very) funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 20, 2012
    70
    most importantly, The Office is generally funnier than it was last season.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 20, 2012
    60
    The deadpan goofiness remains fresh enough to keep fans interested.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 20, 2012
    58
    The ninth and final season premiere of NBC's The Office definitively answers a few key questions about the cogs at the middling paper company Dunder Mifflin--if anyone out there is still interested in the once smart, now just silly sitcom.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 20, 2012
    50
    One episode does not a season make. But the Season 9 premiere, "New Guys," is as uneven as most episodes have been for the last few years.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2012
    30
    There is exactly one interesting storyline.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Despite the fact that Steve Carell is gone, Greg Daniels and the other writers have been able to make this a a season worth watching. It isDespite the fact that Steve Carell is gone, Greg Daniels and the other writers have been able to make this a a season worth watching. It is turning out to be a pretty good season and seems to be good at closing many of the story lines and allow the characters to begin a new chapter of their lives. Hopefully Carell make an appearance sometime during this season as the finale would not be the same without him. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2016
    9
    It was a very satisfying ending to one of my favorite series. They really pulled out all the stops to make me laugh hard, and the way theyIt was a very satisfying ending to one of my favorite series. They really pulled out all the stops to make me laugh hard, and the way they resolved many story lines brought tears of happiness to my eyes several times.when it was over I had a warm, content feeling. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Season 9 comes after the weakest season of The Office and it is a big improvement. The new characters are given room to improve, especiallySeason 9 comes after the weakest season of The Office and it is a big improvement. The new characters are given room to improve, especially Nellie, whose character and character arc in the 8th season was annoying and preposterous, respectively, becomes much more sympathetic. The cast remains strong, and the Finale is one of the best episode this fine series has given us. The only consistent weakness of the final season is Andy Bernard. The writers didn't know what to do with him this season and his scenes were mostly cringe-worthy and he was annoying entirely without being endearing. 7.7/10 Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While this season did what it was done to do I noticed that something happened. What ever happened to the character development. The writing was witty and sharp but I still could not get used to Steve Carrell being gone. But the visual direction and the moods I were able to feel but sometimes some of the shots took me out of the mood. The creativity is overall cool but I will have to say it did make me want to say farewell to Dunder-Mifflin. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2016
    6
    In my opinion, the levity of the show has been sucked out by the drama. They also seem to be taking all the characters to a point where noneIn my opinion, the levity of the show has been sucked out by the drama. They also seem to be taking all the characters to a point where none of them are good people. Andy had anger issues yes, but he was a nice guy. Now he's just sad and desperate. Oscar was a good guy, now he's having an affair. I just miss goofy lovable Michael days. When he would make childish decisions but he was always a good person and loved his office. I feel like I'm pushing through. Each episode has it's moments that are funny, but the story arcs are making me not like some of my favorite characters. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2016
    5
    My Rating: (9.0/10.0)

    Great ending to a great show. Even without Steve Carell, "The Office" finished strong. Well worth watching,
    My Rating: (9.0/10.0)

    Great ending to a great show. Even without Steve Carell, "The Office" finished strong. Well worth watching, especially if you've seen the first 8 seasons already. Highly Recommend Season 9.
    Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not here to hold back.

    After completing Ep 17 into Season 9 i'm about to explode. This season - Season 9 - of The Office is by far the WORST SEASON OF THE SHOW. It actually makes me sad and infuriated that the show I had come to love has been reduced to this flaming pile of garbage. I've been watching The Office since Season 1 with my girlfriend who became my fiancee and then my beautiful wife and now the mother of my son and daughter only 2 weeks away. Our tradition after a long day was to kick back right before bed and laugh our butts off to Michael Scott and the gang.

    So fellow Office fans - what has gone wrong? As pointed out by some great Metacritic posters, as soon as Steve Carell left the show the essence of funny basically died. And you can see just how far the show has fallen in this final season.

    If you dont mind the spoilers, i'll continue....

    So for those of you who already know the show - the writing has been terrible. The jokes rely much more on physical comedy or pratfalls compared to the quick witt we know. Then there's the biggest issue for me - the characters. Its literally like the writers hadn't watch the first 6 seasons of the show. They've scripted horrible character traits that NONE of the characters would do. Examples...

    * Andy. First of all making him the new branch manager was a stupid idea. His character is not strong enough to have had that responsibility. In this season when Andy is around he's an un-likeable prick. He acts like a complete azzhole to Erin and Nelly. He's vindictive and scatterbrained. Andy is all wrong.
    * Jim and Pam. The loveable couple that now doesnt communicate with each other. Jim pursing a sports job in another city while leaving Pam to raise the kids (who are also seemingly never around). Plus Jim is now unsure of himself (lacking confidence) and making dumb selfish decisions. Meanwhile Pam has become more unsure of herself and not being upfront. Oh, and I cant forget the potential marriage cheating disaster that the writers have put in with the camera operator Scott, who we've never seen before for 8 years but clearly is making a play for Pam.

    And thats just the main players. But really you can look at Oscars character now being an adulterer/mimbo, or Angela who now hangs out with everyone in the break room and is buddy-buddy... Like, what the hell is going on here??!?

    I told my wife and we agree - we're gonna get through these last few episodes and the throw this dung out on the street. We may keep S8 and watch it every few years if we really need a reminder of how bad The Office had become. But I can promise you we will NEVER watch Season 9 again.

    Honestly, The Office was that light hearted show that made me feel good about myself (hidden reference) but its no wonder why Carell, Novak, Kaling all abandoned ship! They must've seen the iceberg and promptly jumped off the Titanic!! Cant blame them.

    So as pointed out by others -do yourself a favor and stop watching The Office after Season 7. There is nothing for you after. Unless you're like me and a have to complete the show. That is literally the only reason left why i'm watching. It pains me to go episode after epoisode without laughing, watching again unlikeable characters finding themselves in ridiculous plot twist or hair brained schemes. This season reeks of desperation trying to reclaim old glory by what - bringing back old characters from seasons ago? Even though they have no real reason for their inclusion? Jan? Gabe? Is this what its come to???

    Wow.... Just wow. The Office deserves so much a better ending than the one the fans were given.

    /rant
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.