• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
The Office Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Paul Lieberstein, James Spader, Steve Carell
  • Summary: Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve
    Carell) thinks he's the coolest, funniest, best boss ever - which, of course, makes him the uncoolest, most obnoxious and annoying boss as far as his staff are concerned. Salesman Jim Halpert (John Krasinski) has always loved receptionist Pam Beesly (Jenna Fischer) and loves sabotaging his cube-mate, the know-it-all Dwight Schrute (Rainn Wilson). Ryan Howard (B.J. Novak) started as a young, smart, self-possessed temp, but quickly figured out the real office politics despite Michael's attempts to instill the official point-of-view, and gets himself a job at corporate HQ in New York.

    The staff is rounded out by quiet Phyllis Lapin Vance (Phyllis Smith), beaten down by the working life Stanley Hudson (Leslie David Baker), office alcoholic Meredith Palmer (Kate Flannery), up-tight Angela Martin (Angela Kinsey), formerly closeted homosexual Oscar Martinez (Oscar Nunez), stocky and uncouth Kevin Malone (Brian Baumgartner), ambivalent kleptomaniac Creed Bratton (Creed Bratton), Sad Sack HR rep Toby Flenderson (Paul Lieberstein), persistently love-struck Kelly Kapoor (Mindy Kaling), icy corporate manager turned Michael's girlfriend Jan Levinson (Melora Hardin), former Stamford branch denizen and Cornell graduate Andy Bernard (Ed Helms), warehouse foreman Darryl Philbin (Craig Robinson), and Pam's ex-fiancé Roy Anderson (David Denman).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Ricky Gervais, Stephen Merchant
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Mar 24, 2005
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 1, 2013
    90
    It's ironic that NBC's most original sitcom in years is a remake, but who cares? The Office is a daring, unflinching take on very American workplace tensions.
  2. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    83
    The good news for fans — and neophytes — is that the new sitcom is clever and insular, capturing all the drudgery, awkwardness, and rivalry of cubicle living. ... Ultimately, though, The Office lacks the aching subtlety of the BBC version.
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    75
    Devotees are probably poised to dismiss the adaptation out of hand, but I found enough funny business here to overcome my sales resistance.
  4. Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    May 17, 2013
    60
    Carell's Scott may emerge as one of those characters viewers dearly love to hate, but the guess here is that he's too over the top - much more so than Gervais' character was - to be appreciated in doses this large. He'd be more effective as a secondary character - think Danny DeVito's immortally despicable Louie DePalma in "Taxi." [24 Mar 2005, p.B33]
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 17, 2013
    60
    It ain't bad. Unnecessary, maybe. Why watch the road-show version when you can rent the DVD of the original? But not bad. [20 Mar 2005, p.1E]
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    May 17, 2013
    50
    Somehow executive producer Greg Daniels (``The Simpsons,'' ``King of the Hill'') and his cast must win over new fans while not pissing off the old fans. [23 Mar 2005, p.42]
  7. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    May 17, 2013
    30
    Carell doesn't capture the weird charm, the subtlety and the vulnerability -- and the show doesn't have any of those...Frankly, it's sometimes so painful to watch you can just imagine remotes clicking all across the country. [24 Mar 2005]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    The Office is awesome. One of the greatest shows ever. It is always so hilarious. The cast is amazing and have such good chemistry. Steve Carell is crazy funny and makes a perfect Michael Scott. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Love the show my top favorite shows. I think Dwight is my favorite characters but I miss Michael Scott. I don't want to spoil so I'll just say best show ever always full of surprises. Watched it I thought it was the weirdest show ever but I got hooked so now it's my fav! Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    This show remains my favorite show on TV. Even after Steve Carrell left, the writers adapted the show to keep it entertaining. It has lost some luster since Steve's departure, but is now more grounded and realistic. It is more down to earth while still being funny. Season 8 was not my favorite season, but it was sure up there. I can't wait to see what they do in Season 9. Collapse
  4. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    Short but sweet. one of the best office seasons. Mainly because it sticks almost stricly to comedy rather than going into dramatic romance sub-plots that just don't belong like in the newer seasons. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Personally i think the series is far worse without steve carell 80% Of the jokes are based on him being a dumbass and the rest are pranks on dwight one of my favourite comedy shows ever Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    The first season of the American remake of "The Office" started off on a mixed note. The pilot was very similar to the British original, but in the next few episodes, the series picked up the pace. The turning point - for me, personally - was "The Alliance". The series showed even more promise with "Basketball" and the season finale, "Hot Girl". I really wanted to see where the show was going next for its subsequent seasons. I'm glad I did.
    Watch this show, all nine seasons! It's one of the greatest TV comedies ever. But don't forget the British version too.
    Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This comedy series is great. I've been watching it recently from season 1 and im now in season 7. The only thing that really bothers me is the Michael- Holly relationship. I was already relieved when Holly was put out for Nashua but when she came back it got worse. First off the actress didnt fit for the role. She's not as pretty as the character supposes and she looks older not to mention her annoying voice! There was a greater chemistry between Michael and Jan Levingson. She's perfect for Michael's character. She's the real hottie in the show and this show needs one. I hate it when they take her out and when they made her insane. She needs to be back in the show and no Holly show ups anymore please!! Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.