The Office : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
The Office Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve
    Based on the popular British series of the same name, this faster-paced American version follows the daily interactions of a group of idiosyncratic office employees at paper company Dunder Mifflin's Scranton branch via a documentary film crew's cameras.

    Regional manager Michael (Steve Carell) thinks he's the coolest, funniest, best boss ever - which, of course, makes him the uncoolest, most obnoxious and annoying boss as far as his staff are concerned. Salesman Jim Halpert (John Krasinski) has always loved receptionist Pam Beesly (Jenna Fischer) and loves sabotaging his cube-mate, the know-it-all Dwight Schrute (Rainn Wilson). Ryan Howard (B.J. Novak) started as a young, smart, self-possessed temp, but quickly figured out the real office politics despite Michael's attempts to instill the official point-of-view, and gets himself a job at corporate HQ in New York.

    The staff is rounded out by quiet Phyllis Lapin Vance (Phyllis Smith), beaten down by the working life Stanley Hudson (Leslie David Baker), office alcoholic Meredith Palmer (Kate Flannery), up-tight Angela Martin (Angela Kinsey), formerly closeted homosexual Oscar Martinez (Oscar Nunez), stocky and uncouth Kevin Malone (Brian Baumgartner), ambivalent kleptomaniac Creed Bratton (Creed Bratton), Sad Sack HR rep Toby Flenderson (Paul Lieberstein), persistently love-struck Kelly Kapoor (Mindy Kaling), icy corporate manager turned Michael's girlfriend Jan Levinson (Melora Hardin), former Stamford branch denizen and Cornell graduate Andy Bernard (Ed Helms), warehouse foreman Darryl Philbin (Craig Robinson), and Pam's ex-fiancé Roy Anderson (David Denman).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 1, 2013
    90
    It's ironic that NBC's most original sitcom in years is a remake, but who cares? The Office is a daring, unflinching take on very American workplace tensions.
  2. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    83
    The good news for fans — and neophytes — is that the new sitcom is clever and insular, capturing all the drudgery, awkwardness, and rivalry of cubicle living. ... Ultimately, though, The Office lacks the aching subtlety of the BBC version.
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    75
    Devotees are probably poised to dismiss the adaptation out of hand, but I found enough funny business here to overcome my sales resistance.
  4. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    May 17, 2013
    60
    Carell's Scott may emerge as one of those characters viewers dearly love to hate, but the guess here is that he's too over the top - much more so than Gervais' character was - to be appreciated in doses this large. He'd be more effective as a secondary character - think Danny DeVito's immortally despicable Louie DePalma in "Taxi." [24 Mar 2005, p.B33]
  5. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 17, 2013
    60
    It ain't bad. Unnecessary, maybe. Why watch the road-show version when you can rent the DVD of the original? But not bad. [20 Mar 2005, p.1E]
  6. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    May 17, 2013
    50
    Somehow executive producer Greg Daniels (``The Simpsons,'' ``King of the Hill'') and his cast must win over new fans while not pissing off the old fans. [23 Mar 2005, p.42]
  7. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    May 17, 2013
    30
    Carell doesn't capture the weird charm, the subtlety and the vulnerability -- and the show doesn't have any of those...Frankly, it's sometimes so painful to watch you can just imagine remotes clicking all across the country. [24 Mar 2005]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Although the original UK series' ugly cousin, this first season of The Office US is a cracker. Great writing and acting ensure the crossoverAlthough the original UK series' ugly cousin, this first season of The Office US is a cracker. Great writing and acting ensure the crossover is a success. John Krasinski already shows promise. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Itâ Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    This show remains my favorite show on TV. Even after Steve Carrell left, the writers adapted the show to keep it entertaining. It has lostThis show remains my favorite show on TV. Even after Steve Carrell left, the writers adapted the show to keep it entertaining. It has lost some luster since Steve's departure, but is now more grounded and realistic. It is more down to earth while still being funny. Season 8 was not my favorite season, but it was sure up there. I can't wait to see what they do in Season 9. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Overall from season 1 to 9, I wish there was a season 10, to make it reach other few TV programs such as Small ville, as much as theOverall from season 1 to 9, I wish there was a season 10, to make it reach other few TV programs such as Small ville, as much as the jokes/funny moments and wittiness were a dying breed in former episodes. I do however applaud The Office for lasting that long, and carrying on without its major character *Steve Carrell*. I say a big Thank you for all the laughs from season 1 producing more funny moments than i could laugh at to 9 showing the show has more jokes as little as it may be up its sleeve. From the bottom of my heart, I say thank you The Office US. Great Job you kept me and a whole lot of people who understood the humor entertained! Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Personally i think the series is far worse without steve carell 80% Of the jokes are based on him being a dumbass and the rest are pranks onPersonally i think the series is far worse without steve carell 80% Of the jokes are based on him being a dumbass and the rest are pranks on dwight one of my favourite comedy shows ever Expand
  6. CBZ
    Mar 8, 2011
    7
    Although The Office started very well, after three seasons it became a very repetitive show where there was less humor and more drama. I wishAlthough The Office started very well, after three seasons it became a very repetitive show where there was less humor and more drama. I wish they stopped when they were at its peak, like they did with the original UK version, which is a lot better for those people with more mature taste and sense of humor. Nonetheless, this is a good show and a landmark for the TV comedy. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    trying too hard to be funny. its already smell failure from the very first episode. really, watching it just making me exhausted. the joke aretrying too hard to be funny. its already smell failure from the very first episode. really, watching it just making me exhausted. the joke are not smart, tacky, dull. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale)

    Episode Review: The Office (Series Finale) Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    NBC's The Office closed up shop last night with a super-sized series finale, capping a nine-season run. What are critics saying about the final episode? Find out inside, and give us your take, too.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.