• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    The debut treads water getting everybody up to speed, but the dagger-in-the-heart of a cliffhanger--coupled with [Joseph] Morgan's radioactive onscreen charm--should keep The Originals' veins flowing amply. [4 Oct 2013, p.60]
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  4. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Oct 2, 2013
    67
    Gillies’ character is one for the ages, and although the actor’s portrayal of him is as wonderfully measured as ever, his actions here feel like the equivalent of a vampire Parent Trap situation, with Gillies just trying to keep his siblings together using whatever trickery he can. Yet, in spite of all of these concerns, it still feels like there’s a show here.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Oct 3, 2013
    60
    The premiere episode of the new series, "Always and Forever," tells pretty much the same story as the backdoor pilot, only from the point of view of Elijah (not Klaus, as before). This works on some levels but stumbles on others.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 2, 2013
    58
    A not-bad spinoff that feels older than "The Vampire Diaries" and even more convoluted.
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    It's "House of Cards," with a werewolf/vampire hybrid instead of a charming but ruthless Southern senator.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  10. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 2, 2013
    50
    There are so many vampires and undeads and such on television these days that this crew is going to have a hard time getting attention, especially if the show continues to be as much of a grab bag as the pilot episode is. Some serious focusing--on specific story lines, specific characters--should be the first order of business.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  12. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    The performances are over the top and enjoyable enough.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  14. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    33
    Like 'Vampire Diaries' (and so much else), The Originals lacks a sharp wit, preferring the heavy-velvet drapery of self-seriousness and pretend passion.
  15. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    [A] turgid and convoluted pilot.
  16. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider their opinions to be the only ones that matter so they give creative material absolutely NO wiggle room for interpretation.

    This show is NOT vampire diaries. It's a little older, more mature, and a bit edgier. While VD is about an awful main actress and her unbelievably complicated *or some say stupid* romantic life, this is about family. Not family in the disney sense, but in the medieval "My brother is really my worst enemy, at least until we come up against someone even more vile".

    This sets a story with believable motives (if you can believe in witches, vampires, etc, or give the writers the benefit of the doubt that within this universe they exist) and interesting characters. I love me some grey (rather than black/white) antagonists. I love the motives for moving to/staying in New Orleans. Klaus is a fantastic actor. Elijah is.... kind of a god. Rebecca is obviously the weak link in the Originals, and seems to now have moved off of VD, which is both good and bad. I hated her in VD, but her presence in the Originals has me apprehensive. Yet, even here the character's motives and dialogue are improved over the dialogue (in the same week) the character has on VD.

    Let's see where this goes, though I am a bit anxious that the Originals (and by extension VD) keep finding more and more powerful baddies, at least in the Originals the motives behind Marcelle and his Devina are clouded.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite new show. Although the pilot was not very good, the other episodes are amazing and ground breaking. I think the acting is very good and the actors could not of done a better job. Full Review »