• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
The Originals Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A spin-off from The CW's hit series The Vampire Diaries, this New Orleans-set supernatural drama will focus on the vampire siblings of Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    First I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and CharlesFirst I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and Charles Michael Davis very sexy. I am hoping he is not taken away from the show. The last story with the witches was getting a little crazy... but thats over.. I hope the stories to come will be much more suspenseful and captivating. I haven't miss an episode yet and don't plan to! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I'm not a fan of the Vampire Diaries, however, love for that show is not needed to be entertained by The Originals. It has both great actingI'm not a fan of the Vampire Diaries, however, love for that show is not needed to be entertained by The Originals. It has both great acting and a story line. Although, I do find one or two characters to be annoying at times that is to be expected with any show. Overall this show is amazing and Klaus, the main character, makes the show great with his myriad of emotions. So for those seeking to watch it just because you're in LOVE with the vampire diaries its not that show. It's completely separate and different so one should not expect it to be. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of aThis is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery andI previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery and action! not a cheap spin-off at all.. Not only should the vampire diaries watch out but the entire CW network! well done on a fantastic new show. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    I have faith that this will end up being way more exciting than The Vampire Diaries so long as it can get it's footing with a second and thirdI have faith that this will end up being way more exciting than The Vampire Diaries so long as it can get it's footing with a second and third season, the last few episodes have exploded as I knew they would. I understand the gripes about this cast being able to support their own show but as I see it these are older and more refined actors than those on TVD all they need is a good fresh start which they have nailed. expect my score to rise through this season. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    I have not read a review that really does this show justice, so I am writing one. There are so many mind numbing vampire tv shows and moviesI have not read a review that really does this show justice, so I am writing one. There are so many mind numbing vampire tv shows and movies out there today like Twilight, Teen Wolf, and even this shows origin The Vampire Diaries, that when someone with a brain sees the word vampire, their mind is immediately closed to even the notion of something enjoyable. But this show is not like any of the others, in so many ways it differs from the image of teen vampire TV.

    To start off there are no teen vampires in this show, they are all adults. Then there are the constant love stories that plague the vampire genre, that have been almost entirely eradicated in The Originals, tho there is one character who's lines really do annoy the viewer, but that is less than the number one show on television, The Walking Dead, and the character (Cami) gets far less lines than Daryl, and Beth.

    On top of that there are so many shows that have far worse writing and acting than The Originals, like the popular show Arrow, Sleepy Hollow, or The Agents of Shield, but many critics give all of those shows far better reviews, simply because they cannot fathom the idea of a decent vampire show. I am personally made fun of in a joking manor by many of my friends because I watch the show, and feel so strongly about coming to its defense.

    Now I'm not comparing the show to Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead or any other great shows, because I don't think that the Originals is as good as any of them. But I also don't think that it is nearly as bad as so many critics say, claiming that the only reason the show is popular is because our generation has been conditioned to love vampires so much, but I believe that they only give the show bad ratings because they have been conditioned to despise anything that involves the word vampire.

    But none of what I have said up to this point was really a review, so here it is.
    The Originals is a show about the Mikaelson families battle for control of the city of New Orleans. The Mikaelsons are a family of ten who lived in the new world around the year eleven hundred. They lived with their tribe of humans with a couple of mixed in witches, neighboring a tribe of people who every full moon turn to wolves and kill anyone who wonders the woods. One night Henrik, the youngest Mikaelson and his older brother Klaus stay out to watch the men turn to beasts and Henrik is killed. Fearing that the rest of her children are in danger, Esther Mikaelson; a very powerful witch, turn her children against their will into creatures of the night who cannot be killed by any wolves or men. And so Finn, Elijah, Niklaus, Rebekah, and Kol become the original vampires. Then when they slaughter people, their parents are filled with regret and the witch Esther turns her abusive husband, Mikael into a vampire who only feeds on the blood of vampires. Mikael then discover that Klaus is not his son, when Klaus turns into a wolf at the full moon, after activating his wolf gene by his first kill. In the origin show that The Originals spun off from (The Vampire Diaries) Klaus kills Mikael after being hunted by his adoptive father for a thousand years. Then Klaus is drawn back to his old home, which Mikael destroyed, New Orleans. There The Originals picks up with the remaining members of the original family Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Rebekah (Claire Holt), and Elijah (Daniel Gillies), who will fight against witches, wolves, vampires and humans to reclaim their home, and protect their family.

    In conclusion, the show has decent acting a good story, with decent screen writing, great action, Danial **** Gillies, mostly great actors, and character that you will quickly begin to care about, (not including Jackson). So I would give the show about a 7.9, for above average, enjoyable, and plenty of Klaus killing people.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    Sadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up forSadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up for extinction are the white-Europeans due to dangerously low birthrates globally. Inter-racial couples make up 13% of America, and even less globally. So now those of us that are smart and caring are starting to ask why is it then necessary to constantly push this agenda in American TV shows? We don't have constant TV shows about Native Americans in interracial relationships. Probably because we know that would be cruel and insensitive. When a birthrate among any racial group is dying out, time to not be cruel and insensitive. We all come from ancient tribes, and we are all beautiful. Maybe 100 years from now, this kind of message won't matter if white-European birthrates start going up, but until then it's hateful and irresponsible media messages. I stop watching any show now when I see this message being pushed. Wake up world, not matter what race you are. Panda bears are worth saving, and any race can become the Panda bear. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews