The Originals : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Originals Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A spin-off from The CW's hit series The Vampire Diaries, this New Orleans-set supernatural drama will focus on the vampire siblings of Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    First I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and CharlesFirst I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and Charles Michael Davis very sexy. I am hoping he is not taken away from the show. The last story with the witches was getting a little crazy... but thats over.. I hope the stories to come will be much more suspenseful and captivating. I haven't miss an episode yet and don't plan to! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Having been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apartHaving been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apart from the Vampire Diaries because it's not really focused on love but rather family, loyalty, and power. These characters know who they are; they're not really as conflicted as the characters in VD but rather are struggling with past demons. This show is just enchanting, captivating, edgy, and it has its rather intense moments. The Originals is a show that shouldn't be underestimated because it has a lot of surprises and it makes you connect to the characters on a personal level. Not to mention all of the awesome actors who are not only just incredibly good looking but extremely talented. Give this show a shot. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of aThis is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery andI previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery and action! not a cheap spin-off at all.. Not only should the vampire diaries watch out but the entire CW network! well done on a fantastic new show. Collapse
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    Good series.
    Although concept seems cliche, the way it portrays vampires/human/wolf eternal conflict is interesting and clever.
    This goes
    Good series.
    Although concept seems cliche, the way it portrays vampires/human/wolf eternal conflict is interesting and clever.

    This goes without saying but Joseph Morgan is simply at his best here.

    Recommended.
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been exited about this show ever since they announced it. I liked the pilot, but I kinda saw the ending coming. I feel like we saw every trick Klaus can do so he's becoming somehow predictable. They need to step up there game in the next few episodes Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    Sadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up forSadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up for extinction are the white-Europeans due to dangerously low birthrates globally. Inter-racial couples make up 13% of America, and even less globally. So now those of us that are smart and caring are starting to ask why is it then necessary to constantly push this agenda in American TV shows? We don't have constant TV shows about Native Americans in interracial relationships. Probably because we know that would be cruel and insensitive. When a birthrate among any racial group is dying out, time to not be cruel and insensitive. We all come from ancient tribes, and we are all beautiful. Maybe 100 years from now, this kind of message won't matter if white-European birthrates start going up, but until then it's hateful and irresponsible media messages. I stop watching any show now when I see this message being pushed. Wake up world, not matter what race you are. Panda bears are worth saving, and any race can become the Panda bear. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 10, 2016
    Get the latest renew/cancel predictions for 40 TV shows still on the bubble, including Agent Carter, The X-Files, Elementary, Grimm, iZombie, Nashville, American Crime, and more.