• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Originals Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A spin-off from The CW's hit series The Vampire Diaries, this New Orleans-set supernatural drama will focus on the vampire siblings of Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Having been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apart from the Vampire Diaries because it's not really focused on love but rather family, loyalty, and power. These characters know who they are; they're not really as conflicted as the characters in VD but rather are struggling with past demons. This show is just enchanting, captivating, edgy, and it has its rather intense moments. The Originals is a show that shouldn't be underestimated because it has a lot of surprises and it makes you connect to the characters on a personal level. Not to mention all of the awesome actors who are not only just incredibly good looking but extremely talented. Give this show a shot. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I think "The Originals" is great for a spin-off. It has some of the best characters from its mother show. Most of the actors are great actors and are very believable. I also love the fact that the antagonists and the protagonist (who was an antagonist on the Vampire Diaries) are not 100% evil or good respectively; I believe that is more like the reality of the human nature, no one is 100% evil all time and are capable of kindness sometimes, and there is always a reason to why someone is "evil" no one is born evil; and the converse is true no one is a completely good all time; so I love the accuracy of the portrayal of the human or used to be human nature. I also love the more mature plot and themes of this show compared to its mother show. However, the show did take a couple episodes to set up an interesting plot, but the plot it started setting up seems very interesting and definitely holds your attention and makes you think. Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    This show is a great twist that was necessary for TVD. More interesting, more deep in the knowing the original vampires and telling their story. This was Julie Plec's best idea after TVD. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider their opinions to be the only ones that matter so they give creative material absolutely NO wiggle room for interpretation.

    This show is NOT vampire diaries. It's a little older, more mature, and a bit edgier. While VD is about an awful main actress and her unbelievably complicated *or some say stupid* romantic life, this is about family. Not family in the disney sense, but in the medieval "My brother is really my worst enemy, at least until we come up against someone even more vile".

    This sets a story with believable motives (if you can believe in witches, vampires, etc, or give the writers the benefit of the doubt that within this universe they exist) and interesting characters. I love me some grey (rather than black/white) antagonists. I love the motives for moving to/staying in New Orleans. Klaus is a fantastic actor. Elijah is.... kind of a god. Rebecca is obviously the weak link in the Originals, and seems to now have moved off of VD, which is both good and bad. I hated her in VD, but her presence in the Originals has me apprehensive. Yet, even here the character's motives and dialogue are improved over the dialogue (in the same week) the character has on VD.

    Let's see where this goes, though I am a bit anxious that the Originals (and by extension VD) keep finding more and more powerful baddies, at least in the Originals the motives behind Marcelle and his Devina are clouded.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    Last year, The Vampire Diaries gave us a preview of what the spinoff, The Originals would be like. And, if very much is, exactly how they said it would be. The question remains, is the character of Klaus, notorious for doing everything we don't want him to do but still managing to not have us COMPLETELY hate him because of his moderately good looks and awesome powers enough to sustain a show? After two episodes, I'm not so sure. The show... lacks color and variety. What I mean is, the cast isn't very strong in terms of likability and unless they throw in some crazy Vampire Diariesesque twists and surprise deaths, I feel it will not live beyond a first season. It's not terrible, I didn't say that but it's not the Vampire Diaries. Klaus isn't really doing it for me. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Unoriginal vamps must really appeal to those zombiefied tweenies, yep can see this playing alongside bieber in some emo rave.

    Start one-two hundred years previously., then jumps to modern times, three guesses where? D'oh! New Orleans because that is where True Blood comes from, with all the werewolves, vampires, and witches. Next opening up with a vampire on a cell phone because they aren't telepathic, but wait he is chatting to another vampire taking a bath in the bathtub. If you make it any further, you discover that vampires were made by a witch to defeat werewolves so now they has hybrids, werevamps. These were the original vampires ever, only now 200 hundred years later and New Orleans is infested with vampires, snarks and grumpkins. If vampires were that easily made, every witch would be one then they all could be daywalkers.

    These original vampires are about as clueless as they come, you would have to be a zombie, in giving this show more then 15 minutes. It really sucks!
    Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews