• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Originals Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Joseph Morgan, Daniel Gillies, Claire Holt
  • Summary: A spin-off from The CW's hit series The Vampire Diaries, this New Orleans-set supernatural drama will focus on the vampire siblings of Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Julie Plec
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 3, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Having been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apartHaving been a Vampire Diaries fan and just a fan of supernatural series shows, this is a brilliantly made show. It really sets itself apart from the Vampire Diaries because it's not really focused on love but rather family, loyalty, and power. These characters know who they are; they're not really as conflicted as the characters in VD but rather are struggling with past demons. This show is just enchanting, captivating, edgy, and it has its rather intense moments. The Originals is a show that shouldn't be underestimated because it has a lot of surprises and it makes you connect to the characters on a personal level. Not to mention all of the awesome actors who are not only just incredibly good looking but extremely talented. Give this show a shot. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I think "The Originals" is great for a spin-off. It has some of the best characters from its mother show. Most of the actors are great actorsI think "The Originals" is great for a spin-off. It has some of the best characters from its mother show. Most of the actors are great actors and are very believable. I also love the fact that the antagonists and the protagonist (who was an antagonist on the Vampire Diaries) are not 100% evil or good respectively; I believe that is more like the reality of the human nature, no one is 100% evil all time and are capable of kindness sometimes, and there is always a reason to why someone is "evil" no one is born evil; and the converse is true no one is a completely good all time; so I love the accuracy of the portrayal of the human or used to be human nature. I also love the more mature plot and themes of this show compared to its mother show. However, the show did take a couple episodes to set up an interesting plot, but the plot it started setting up seems very interesting and definitely holds your attention and makes you think. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of aThis is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery andI previously rated this before but now i've come back to correct my sin. WHAT A SHOW! Full of twists and turns with so much mystery and action! not a cheap spin-off at all.. Not only should the vampire diaries watch out but the entire CW network! well done on a fantastic new show. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    I have faith that this will end up being way more exciting than The Vampire Diaries so long as it can get it's footing with a second and thirdI have faith that this will end up being way more exciting than The Vampire Diaries so long as it can get it's footing with a second and third season, the last few episodes have exploded as I knew they would. I understand the gripes about this cast being able to support their own show but as I see it these are older and more refined actors than those on TVD all they need is a good fresh start which they have nailed. expect my score to rise through this season. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2014
    8
    I wouldn't pay too much attention to the critic score as those people clearly have bad taste in shows/movies and what not. I like this showI wouldn't pay too much attention to the critic score as those people clearly have bad taste in shows/movies and what not. I like this show because it keeps you interested in it, not to mention it has a lot of action in it. For the ladies it has the romance aspect thrown into it, but it's just an overall good show to watch and I believe it's better than it's counterpart The Vampire Diaries. If you're thinking of watching this show, then stop thinking and go watch it. You won't regret it. It's one of the few shows I actually enjoy around this time of the year. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    Sadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up forSadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up for extinction are the white-Europeans due to dangerously low birthrates globally. Inter-racial couples make up 13% of America, and even less globally. So now those of us that are smart and caring are starting to ask why is it then necessary to constantly push this agenda in American TV shows? We don't have constant TV shows about Native Americans in interracial relationships. Probably because we know that would be cruel and insensitive. When a birthrate among any racial group is dying out, time to not be cruel and insensitive. We all come from ancient tribes, and we are all beautiful. Maybe 100 years from now, this kind of message won't matter if white-European birthrates start going up, but until then it's hateful and irresponsible media messages. I stop watching any show now when I see this message being pushed. Wake up world, not matter what race you are. Panda bears are worth saving, and any race can become the Panda bear. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews