The Originals : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Originals Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A spin-off from The CW's hit series The Vampire Diaries, this New Orleans-set supernatural drama will focus on the vampire siblings of Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. This series is about the bonds of family and heated power struggles--with a big dose of vampiric hedonism mixed in. Sounds like the makings of something pretty fang-tastic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 3, 2013
    67
    There are a lot of moving parts and agendas here, but The Originals does a pretty good job of stitching them all together by the end of its first hour.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    63
    If you’re into The Vampire Diaries (I’m not), you’ll get sucked into this sleek spinoff.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2013
    50
    The Originals deserves credit for a mostly clear set-up for newcomers.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The originals strikes me as what "Dallas" might have been if J.R. and Bobby had been immortals. And living, of course, in the Big Easy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 1, 2013
    40
    The heavy-handed dialogue, courtesy of series creator Julie Plec and Michael Narducci, doesn’t deliver much bite.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    The Originals should give us some idea of just how deep the current teenage affection for vampire stories goes. If it can support a show this ludicrously written and terribly cast, it's deeper than most adults can fathom.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    First I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and CharlesFirst I have to say.. I love The Originals and Love the sexy Daniel Gillies .. if Vampires were real.. He could bite me anytime and Charles Michael Davis very sexy. I am hoping he is not taken away from the show. The last story with the witches was getting a little crazy... but thats over.. I hope the stories to come will be much more suspenseful and captivating. I haven't miss an episode yet and don't plan to! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I'm not a fan of the Vampire Diaries, however, love for that show is not needed to be entertained by The Originals. It has both great actingI'm not a fan of the Vampire Diaries, however, love for that show is not needed to be entertained by The Originals. It has both great acting and a story line. Although, I do find one or two characters to be annoying at times that is to be expected with any show. Overall this show is amazing and Klaus, the main character, makes the show great with his myriad of emotions. So for those seeking to watch it just because you're in LOVE with the vampire diaries its not that show. It's completely separate and different so one should not expect it to be. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of aThis is one of 2013's best series. Although it is a spin off from Vampire diaries, it has gone above and beyond what is expected of a supernatural series. This show not only features some good acting, but there is also some real charisma amongst the actors. Additionally, it take suspense to a new level. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    This Series explode for me every expectations.The first time i hear that they gonna make a Spin-Off about The Original Vampires of The VampireThis Series explode for me every expectations.The first time i hear that they gonna make a Spin-Off about The Original Vampires of The Vampire Diaries i was a little bit angry.One of the biggest reason i keep seeing this Series was because i really like the Storyline with the Originals and now with they gone i wasn't sure if i would see anyone of them.But then,after some 3 episodes of The Originals i can only say that this series got potential.They got really some good characters,a very good script and a amazing plot. Collapse
  5. Nov 5, 2014
    8
    I wouldn't pay too much attention to the critic score as those people clearly have bad taste in shows/movies and what not. I like this showI wouldn't pay too much attention to the critic score as those people clearly have bad taste in shows/movies and what not. I like this show because it keeps you interested in it, not to mention it has a lot of action in it. For the ladies it has the romance aspect thrown into it, but it's just an overall good show to watch and I believe it's better than it's counterpart The Vampire Diaries. If you're thinking of watching this show, then stop thinking and go watch it. You won't regret it. It's one of the few shows I actually enjoy around this time of the year. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2015
    7
    If anyone wants to watch this show, then do so for Klaus, and Klaus only. The rest are unimportant, but it's almost delicious to watch hisIf anyone wants to watch this show, then do so for Klaus, and Klaus only. The rest are unimportant, but it's almost delicious to watch his whims and scheming unfold in a perfectly unpredictable manner. The man reflects a Man's dark side so perfectly that it makes for an unapologetic and guilty viewing.

    But before I come to that, I gotta say, I find the whole moral judgments from posters on Klaus' character so funny and immature and lacking in narrative understanding. It's as if the nicer and one-dimensional a character is, the faultless it is, the better it is. This notion is very nauseating, by the way. When the exact opposite is true; the more faults a character has, the more dynamics it has to play with. People should endeavour hard to remember that.

    Coming to the review, I cannot stress enough how badly written almost all of the characters are, save for Klaus. The good thing about him is the fact that he already has such dynamic and fluctuating elements to his characterization that implicitly support the narrative, keep it interesting - as long as he's in the frames, of course - and he's an excellent plot catalyst. He's excellent and phenomenal in every aspect. This paper-thin plot would have sunk a long time ago had it not been for his tightly constructed character that skillfully and flawlessly takes on several personas in every episode. It's mind-blowing how a writer (or writers) can craft such a brilliant character and be equally and conversely bad and drab on the other end. The rest of the characters are petty as hell.

    The rest of them need constant props to even make a dent in the narrative. I really suggest the writers to up their game, otherwise the whole thing will become fragmented fairly quickly. Over all, this is Klaus' show through and through, and here is to a rather wishful hope that it remains so.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    Sadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up forSadly, like many of today's TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up for extinction are the white-Europeans due to dangerously low birthrates globally. Inter-racial couples make up 13% of America, and even less globally. So now those of us that are smart and caring are starting to ask why is it then necessary to constantly push this agenda in American TV shows? We don't have constant TV shows about Native Americans in interracial relationships. Probably because we know that would be cruel and insensitive. When a birthrate among any racial group is dying out, time to not be cruel and insensitive. We all come from ancient tribes, and we are all beautiful. Maybe 100 years from now, this kind of message won't matter if white-European birthrates start going up, but until then it's hateful and irresponsible media messages. I stop watching any show now when I see this message being pushed. Wake up world, not matter what race you are. Panda bears are worth saving, and any race can become the Panda bear. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews