The Paul Reiser Show : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 14, 2011
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 13, 2011
    58
    Most of the material flatlines even before it begins, while never rising to the level of the HBO series to which it pays homage.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 13, 2011
    50
    The older you are, the more you might respond to the oft-clunky, middle-aged craziness of The Paul Reiser Show.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Apr 14, 2011
    40
    I'm not saying the copycat comedy of The Paul Reiser Show isn't funny, but it doesn't compare favorably to the cracked originality of Community or 30 Rock.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 14, 2011
    40
    Some of the humor is decent enough, but some also has the same feeling as Paul's life: We're here and there's nothing we can do about it, so we might as well tell jokes.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 13, 2011
    40
    It's all incredibly broad, and lacking in any real point of view.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 13, 2011
    40
    Much of the action arises from Reiser's inability to manage his mouth, but where David boldly owns the dark and limitless empire of his self-absorption, Reiser still wants to be the happily married Dad who may say the wrong thing once in a while but whose heart is still in the right place. A guy who's just like you, only much richer with his own show. But you can't have it both ways; just ask Larry David.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Apr 13, 2011
    40
    The series is better when it strays from Mr. David's format, but mostly it follows it too closely.
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 13, 2011
    40
    Despite solid work from the show's supporting cast, none of the elements of this show really work. So far, the only thing it has going for it is that it kicked "Perfect Couples" off the air.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 11, 2011
    40
    It suffers from predictable jokes that are more likely to conjure a hint of a smile, not a belly laugh.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 11, 2011
    40
    The gag [that Reiser is "is happily bored"] loses considerable steam, though, once you realize he has chosen to busy himself writing, producing and starring in this tepid art-imitates-life comedy, which only serves to make "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Seinfeld"--its closest comedic kin--shine even brighter by comparison.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    6
    It's interesting that Larry David appears in episode one since the comparisons are unavoidable. I've never been a big Paul Reiser fan (I'mIt's interesting that Larry David appears in episode one since the comparisons are unavoidable. I've never been a big Paul Reiser fan (I'm one of the few people who could take or leave "Mad About You"). I'm also upset that the hilarious Perfect Couples appears to have been elbowed out by this show but I like the premise of getting an inside look at the lives of comedians. I'd say it deserves a second viewing. Full Review »
  2. JBM
    Apr 17, 2011
    9
    The critic reviews of this are completely out of touch. The show was interesting and the characters funny and full of potential forThe critic reviews of this are completely out of touch. The show was interesting and the characters funny and full of potential for development. The cast of "buddies" were all clearly drawn and likable and the plot twists had excellent comic delivery. Sure, Seinfeld it is not but it is far better than 80% of the freshmen comedies being put on the air right now. The Paul Reiser Show should be given plenty of time to develop an audience. It deserves it. Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    0
    The Paul Reiser Show is a complete and utter piece of crap. NBC should bring back the far superior Perfect Couples or maybe even Kath and Kim.The Paul Reiser Show is a complete and utter piece of crap. NBC should bring back the far superior Perfect Couples or maybe even Kath and Kim. Or better yet they should bring back both and get rid of Outsourced too. But whatever they do, they need to get rid of the crap that is The Paul Reiser Show. Full Review »