• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 19, 2011
    60
    As a kind of CSI: Sleaze City, the show is quite watchable.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 19, 2011
    58
    NBC, together with Academy Award-winning producer Brian Grazer ("A Beautiful Mind"), tries to duplicate the success of AMC's "Mad Men" but cribs the wrong details with a woefully untalented cast, mixed feminist messages and a melodrama that is at times laugh-out-loud funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    If the show can rein in some of its more outrageous plot tendencies and focus on music and social issues, it could grow into a Club viewers will want to frequent.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    What we get is an unwieldy and mostly humdrum combination of mob tale and backstage musical.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    Taylor does a strong job of showcasing the show's main set, a recreation of the original Club, and several of the musical numbers (sometimes the Bunnies get to sing, and other times the show casts actors to play '60s musicians like Ike & Tina Turner) really pop. But the show's attempts at social relevance ring hollow, and the main plot leans too heavily on the wooden Cibrian.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 19, 2011
    50
    The acting isn't great, some of the hundreds of subplots aren't bad, but this ain't "Mad Men" and Cibrian and Heard are no Jon Hamm and January Jones despite their desperate attempt to be.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    Subtract its clunky dialogue, ludicrous plot devices and empowerment nonsense, and you're left with its heightened sense of pulchritude.
  8. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    The Playboy Club plods forward with no ballast, hoping that the vibrant early '60s music and the miles of bunny cleavage will compensate for the lack of original plotting and characters.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    Given the emphasis on soapy doings and shiny exteriors, the serial threatens to short-change its most interesting attributes, glancingly commenting on issues pertaining to sociology and the sexual revolution (such as a Bunny marveling, "I make more money than my father") while lacking the latitude to truly probe them.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    42
    An ambitious but ultimately weak attempt to set an ensemble drama inside Hugh Hefner's hallowed, smoke-filled nightclub of early 1960s Chicago.
  11. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 20, 2011
    40
    The whole thing quickly becomes hokey and a grind. Blame goes consistently to the writing.
  12. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2011
    40
    An insipid and unconvincing attempt to position bunnies at the forefront of a social and sexual revolution.
  13. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 19, 2011
    40
    The sobering truth is that sometimes when you mix too many colors, you don't get a brighter rainbow. You get dark gray. Or, in this case, a supersize soap opera.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    3
    I tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. TheI tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. The reason? The constant glorification and sanctification of Hef. The man made lots of money off **** and ass... fine, I can accept that - but please, stop the revisionist butt-kissing which paints the man as some sort of social champion, changing the world, curing it's ills, empowering women and supporting special interest groups. The whole thing comes off reeking of a self-serving propaganda piece as opposed to the entertaining show it could have been. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator)Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator) tries to sell himself as a pioneer of civil and women's rights while he has women prancing around with bunny ears and cotton tails sticking out of their bums. I wonder how many times the phrase "like Madmen" was tossed around during the writers meetings? Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks.I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks. Thought it was well made and had some good drama going on, not to mention some good eye candy. Hopefully the rest of the series will be out on DVD Full Review »