• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1
The Playboy Club Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The drama takes a look at the bunnies who worked the infamous Playboy Club in Chicago, where entertainers, politicians, and the mob came to have a drink in the early 1960s.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 16, 2011
    80
    A sharply drawn and riveting one from the evidence on hand, and bolstered by a skilled cast. This club should lure plenty of customers, television-viewing variety. They'll have good reason.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 16, 2011
    63
    The bottom line is this isn't a show you tune into for sophisticated narrative, innovative plot twists and complex characters. It's a sexy, soapy period drama that's as fluffy as the tails on its buxom stars' backsides.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 19, 2011
    63
    The series does have energy and narrative drive, some fun performances, and a glossy '60s eye-candy sheen. That may be enough to hold your attention while Playboy works on some of its problems.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 16, 2011
    50
    Given the emphasis on soapy doings and shiny exteriors, the serial threatens to short-change its most interesting attributes, glancingly commenting on issues pertaining to sociology and the sexual revolution (such as a Bunny marveling, "I make more money than my father") while lacking the latitude to truly probe them.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 20, 2011
    40
    The whole thing quickly becomes hokey and a grind. Blame goes consistently to the writing.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Sep 26, 2011
    30
    I said that The Playboy Club might be promising. Guess what? I lied.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 19, 2011
    0
    What was one of the worst drama pilots of the fall is now one of the worst for slightly, superficially different reasons.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks. Thought it was well made and had some good drama going on, not to mention some good eye candy. Hopefully the rest of the series will be out on DVD Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    7
    Compelling storyline with just enough potential to keep you wanting more. Reminds me of AMC's Mad Men series. Great cast and screenplay. Let's hope the writers can keep our attention. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    I read some negative reviews on this one, so I almost didn't check it out. I'm glad I did though, there was a lot to like here. Eddie Cibrian proved that he's way too hot for Leanne Rimes, and some of the hot chicks could act. Drawbacks here include allowing Hugh Hefner to narrate even with his loose dentures (gag) and not casting a hot young actor as Heff. In the pilot he's only shown from behind at the end. Fix that and I'll watch again. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator) tries to sell himself as a pioneer of civil and women's rights while he has women prancing around with bunny ears and cotton tails sticking out of their bums. I wonder how many times the phrase "like Madmen" was tossed around during the writers meetings? Collapse
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    3
    I know how hard these new shows starting to keep struggling and struggling because of the Nelson ratings. Just like NBC, these shows have a lot on their minds thinking: who's getting the axe this fall" and I'm playing a new game called "The Watch or Die" game. The first one who got their bees stunged was "The Playboy Club." I agree with the PTC and that's why NBC made their fate into execution. The criticism, the controversies they had over the past summmer or spring including a Utah NBC affiliate banning the show for puting its weight over "pornographic material," and the reason why the show's cancelled is the ratings. I read Playboy Magazine, watch Playboy TV, and having their own primetime show is inappropriate. I thought this was going to be a TV-MA type of show, but NBC is the only network who got the slowest amount of shows. So "The Playboy Club" is one of the worst shows of 2011, but Hef is still the man! Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    3
    I tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. The reason? The constant glorification and sanctification of Hef. The man made lots of money off **** and ass... fine, I can accept that - but please, stop the revisionist butt-kissing which paints the man as some sort of social champion, changing the world, curing it's ills, empowering women and supporting special interest groups. The whole thing comes off reeking of a self-serving propaganda piece as opposed to the entertaining show it could have been. Expand

See all 7 User Reviews