• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 14, 2008
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanF.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I'm going to have to really strongly disagree with the critics on this one. I didn't even hear about this show when it was on. But a very good program. Parker Posey, Lauren Ambrose, and Amy Sherman-Palladino all teaming up for a sit-com (in a tired genre, and I thought this show took a unique approach to it). With all the tripe and garbage that clouds the airwaves, I can't I'm going to have to really strongly disagree with the critics on this one. I didn't even hear about this show when it was on. But a very good program. Parker Posey, Lauren Ambrose, and Amy Sherman-Palladino all teaming up for a sit-com (in a tired genre, and I thought this show took a unique approach to it). With all the tripe and garbage that clouds the airwaves, I can't believe this program was canceled. Then again how many brilliant and insightful shows over the years have been nearly immediately canceled. I saw some similarity to the Gilmore Girls (mainly that I thought Parker Posey was similar to Lauren Graham's character), but this show is also very different and seems to be aimed at an older demographic. Amy Sherman-Palladino is a genius, so I assume she'll be back sooner than later, with another brilliant program. Shame on Fox and the critics for this not still being on the air. I can't believe this show was promoted correctly, or stayed with long enough by the Fox Network. Expand
  2. AmandaE.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Absolutely loved this show... just cant seem to find it on again. The premier was a bit shaky, but i think it will all be great, if i could find it again.
  3. BrandonS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    0
    Canceled already! Thank God.
  4. ChrisS.
    Mar 22, 2008
    2
    That 2 is based on the leads only. I have nothing but respect for lauren ambrose but this show is shit, and the surregete mother story line in this show was actually on six feet under (were ambrose got her start!). What a waste of two fine actresses.
  5. Jay
    Mar 18, 2008
    7
    I was looking forward to see this. BOth Posey and Ambrose fan and needed something new to see and this has the potential to get better and let the tightness loosen. I didn't like the Gilmore Girls (and hate the quick talking) but will give this a few more tries to see if the actresses keep me coming back.
  6. JonH.
    Mar 16, 2008
    2
    Oh it pains me! I'm a fan of Parker Posey and I cringed through this whole show. I might try the second episode to see if it's any better... but I couldn't watch when it was first broadcast. The problem with the show is it seems like a sitcom that only sorta wants to be a sitcom full of talent who have no real experience in a sitcom - from the creator to the main two stars. Oh it pains me! I'm a fan of Parker Posey and I cringed through this whole show. I might try the second episode to see if it's any better... but I couldn't watch when it was first broadcast. The problem with the show is it seems like a sitcom that only sorta wants to be a sitcom full of talent who have no real experience in a sitcom - from the creator to the main two stars. There's so much talent here it was painful to watch how incredibly unfunny it was. You'd get the impression that Posey wasn't a great comic actress... and maybe not even a very good actress... from this first episode. We all know both to be untrue. The laugh track is absolutely horrible as well. Even when there were parts that made me slightly smile it was ruined by the riotous laughter of the laugh track. It was like being in a movie full of idiots who don't get what's funny and what's not. With some major retooling the talent here could possibly do something cool. I doubt they'll get the chance. If Posey wants to be in TV (and more Posey is never a bad thing) something playing more to her natural comedic talents would be much better than sticking her into some half-baked sitcom. Expand
  7. TomF
    Mar 15, 2008
    2
    What a waste of Parker Posey.
  8. KevinG.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    Everyone seems unable to allow the sit-com format to grow beyond what it has been. I believe in the sit-com, and I enjoy shows that don't so readily recall other, older shows. I knew while watching The Return of Jezebel James that critics would pick it apart, assume that everything different is simply an unsuccessful attempt to be like everything that came before. They're wrong. Everyone seems unable to allow the sit-com format to grow beyond what it has been. I believe in the sit-com, and I enjoy shows that don't so readily recall other, older shows. I knew while watching The Return of Jezebel James that critics would pick it apart, assume that everything different is simply an unsuccessful attempt to be like everything that came before. They're wrong. I really enjoyed the show; it was moving and funny and quirky. It moved quickly past the obligatory set-ups, and some may see these early (you can see them acting, blah, blah, blah) scenes as rushed or insincere. If you're familiar with the format, fluent in the TV sitcom language, you see that these "obligatories" are not important. Instead, we see highlighted wonderful acting, great moments of emotion, humor and drama, and an unconventional storyline--for the sitcom format, I mean (surrogate motherhood themes don't have to be confined to hour-long dramas). The show works, and clearly has potential to be something a lot of people would want to watch. I hope Fox gives it a chance. Expand
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 17 out of 22
  1. Sherman-Palladino forces the sisters on each other out of an almost crippling sense of joint self-interest that's as painful as it is illogical.
  2. Not many women will want to come back after seeing it because the first 30 minutes are a complete and utter mess.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    30
    Even without a death slot on Fridays, this strained story would be a tough sell.