The River : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 7, 2012
The River Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The search for explorer Dr. Emmet Cole (Bruce Greenwood) in the Amazon jungle by his family and friends is the focus of this series created by the writers of the "Paranormal Activity" movies.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 3, 2012
    100
    The scares are not as over-the-top as American Horror Story but more chilling because they're applied glancingly. [13 Feb 2012, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 13, 2012
    83
    The performances are good but constrained by the parameters of scary-story acting.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 7, 2012
    75
    A strong cast and that things-that-go-bump-in-the-night shooting style so far keep the show on course.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    You have a series that cobbles together a pretty strong rooting interest.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Heller
    Feb 7, 2012
    63
    The series manages to serve up a legitimate fright or two, but it needs to slow down.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 6, 2012
    58
    The River in comparison seems like stale tap water, unworthy of any prolonged big drink of time or effort.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 6, 2012
    40
    The mixture of "Lost" storytelling and "Paranormal" style is neither intriguing nor particularly scary, and it doesn't help that there's hardly a glimmer of humor.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 40
  2. Negative: 16 out of 40
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    The River is a great show. It's a nice change of what's being offered on TV, it's a horror and adventure all in one. I hope it sticks aroundThe River is a great show. It's a nice change of what's being offered on TV, it's a horror and adventure all in one. I hope it sticks around for another season Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this show. It is creepy and very entertaining to watch. I would be highly disappointed if they canceled it. It is differentI absolutely love this show. It is creepy and very entertaining to watch. I would be highly disappointed if they canceled it. It is different than all the other shows out there. Expand
  3. kap
    Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I absolutely am hooked by this show. Has a fair amount of tense moments as well as an addictive plot line. It has become my Tuesday nightI absolutely am hooked by this show. Has a fair amount of tense moments as well as an addictive plot line. It has become my Tuesday night routine and will miss it after the season is over. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has some very good dramatic performances, but without a good story they fall flat. The big novelty of this show is that the lead protagonist talks to "manifestations" of people from his present, or past, or characters from books. But the writing is lazy, and the plot is slowly dolled out and not that interesting. I had to give up after episode 3. Why?

    ** spoilers ***

    They put in very mediocre filler content that took up half the episode. In a series that only has 6 episodes? That's completely ridiculous. And the episode ended with "new evidence" from the victims apartment that should have been discovered immediately after the murder. I'm seriously supposed to believe that a cop is murdered, and the detectives didn't bother to look in her apartment for clues? Lazy writing at it's worst. There is no logic to the plot of this tale, or sense of mystery, and the only reason new clues are given is to drive the story forward. No thank you.
    Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'd have to say it is not what I expected. I actually fell asleep towards the end of both episodes but tried to stay awake hoping it would get better. The way the characters acted after each encounter with a supernatural entity was like "oh, we just lost a cameraman to a ghost, let's push on, I see ghosts everyday". There was no real fear in any of the people like there is in paranormal activity, which made that movie truly frightening. With paranormal activity, the actors were truly stressed and frightened and freaking out after encountering a ghost, and the audience felt their anxiety. Nope, not with the cast in the River. It was like, hey, my mom just got sucked into a river and then emerged from the ground at a grave site, lets just pretend that didn't happen and film us a good t.v. show!........ridiculous. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    Attention TV Land: The found footage approach is **** The Blair witch project is **** . Cloverfield is **** Paranormal activity was actuallyAttention TV Land: The found footage approach is **** The Blair witch project is **** . Cloverfield is **** Paranormal activity was actually good, but that is the only time it has or will ever work. Not using FF would have made this show better but it would still be bad. None of the characters are good enough to make you care if they live or die and the plot is presented too slowly and badly to care what it is about either. I watched the double premier as 2 separate episodes because I couldn't bare watching it all at once and I gave up after 15 mins of the 2nd half. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    I've seen episodes of Sesame Street that were more suspenseful than this show. The writing is vacuous and lacks any sense of humor. The actingI've seen episodes of Sesame Street that were more suspenseful than this show. The writing is vacuous and lacks any sense of humor. The acting is acceptable but unremarkable. The show simply moves way too fast for its own good. If you want to create legitimate scares, you must build suspense, you must make your viewers care about the characters for them to care if they are in danger.

    This was one of the worst premiers I've ever seen, don't waste 45 minutes of your life on it.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews