The Sarah Silverman Program : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 172
  2. Negative: 81 out of 172

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. peterd
    Feb 10, 2007
    6
    The greatest comic talent of her generation has taken a turn that I have found puzzling. If the humor is repulusive, there is something wrong with the humor. Hail to TV for putting on this Goddess, but a great pity that her comedy has developed in the way that it has. Of course her great talent is apparent. For anyone who has missed the idea this show is,Pee Wee's Playhouse redone The greatest comic talent of her generation has taken a turn that I have found puzzling. If the humor is repulusive, there is something wrong with the humor. Hail to TV for putting on this Goddess, but a great pity that her comedy has developed in the way that it has. Of course her great talent is apparent. For anyone who has missed the idea this show is,Pee Wee's Playhouse redone with the star now a malevelent narcissitic woman. Expand
  2. NickM
    Feb 4, 2007
    5
    the show relyed on vulger, childish, and immature comedy for a lot of it, which grows very tiring, but sarah the main character is both comical and loveable.....ill give the show another try, but i doubt ill be a dedicated watcher every week
  3. NatC
    Mar 13, 2007
    4
    Pretty Bad so far......hopefully will get better....Comedy Central why have you deserted me? I've had to resort to watching the networks to get a good laugh! Thank goodness for reruns of "Scrubs" !!
  4. JeezLouise
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    I watched the show for about 10 minutes, and I could actually feel my brain cells committing suicide. Ms. Silverman's grating "comedy" worked on Saturday Night Live in small doses but her own show is tortuous to watch. Her offensive and obnoxious "acting" seems to define her as a person, since this is the only schtick she's got.
  5. DaveB
    Mar 7, 2007
    5
    not hysterical, but not painful to watch either, Like a less funny strangers with candy
  6. [Anonymous]
    Feb 6, 2007
    4
    tries way to hard to be funny but ends up being annoying
  7. DanielB
    Feb 14, 2007
    5
    Mediocre work from a mediocre talent. She was good on Mr. Show, and that's about it
  8. NateJ
    Feb 17, 2007
    5
    very dumb but naked trucker is much much much worse i hate that show take it off the air comedy central is to good of a network to put these shows on.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Where her movie overstayed its welcome, the quick-shot format of TV works beautifully. The result is haphazard, amoral, ridiculous, wildly offensive...and, you know, totally hilarious.
  2. 80
    The Sarah Silverman Program is a welcome outlet for Silverman’s brand of outlandishness, blessedly stingy with its desire to breach mores, and much more concerned with decorating its late-night comedy turf so that it can welcome any kind of unexpected laugh: shock, parody, irony, insult humor or absurdity.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The pilot... iis actually the least funny of the three episodes I saw; in the other two, "Sarah" and the other characters are much better developed and the stories hang together better. Still, it's an acquired tastelessness.