• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 15, 2011
  • Season #: 1
The Secret Circle Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Shelley Hennig, Thomas Dekker, Gale Harold
  • Summary: Cassie (Britt Robertson) moves to Chance Harbor, Washington, after her mother dies and discovers she is one of several high school girls who descend from powerful witches, in the drama based on the books by L.J. Smith (who also penned the Vampire Diaries books).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
  • Creator: L.J. Smith
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 15, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 13, 2011
    80
    This air of familiarity notwithstanding, the pilot is splendidly rendered; effective in the expected ways in a way that makes you forget you expected them.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 9, 2011
    75
    The acting is flat, but the show casts a hokey spell. [19 Sep 2011, p.65]
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 14, 2011
    70
    The Secret Circle does exactly what you expect it to do, yet that efficiency ends up being refreshing rather than maddening.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2011
    58
    The CW built this predictable teen supernatural romance as a companion to the similar and better "Vampire Diaries.".
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 14, 2011
    50
    What they get is Diaries' less attractive little sister, one that, beneath all the witchcraft, is just another CW teen-driven soap.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 12, 2011
    50
    As usual, it's a new kid who provides a wide-eyed introduction to the shenanigans, though nothing in the pilot conjures any genuine magic, TV-wise.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2011
    16
    Based on a book series from the same author who ginned up The Vampire Diaries and drawing upon every market-tested trope the witchy-poo genre has to offer.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. May 10, 2012
    10
    I love this show. Please make season 2!!!! I knew Adam wasn't going to get rid of the crystal. And I want to see the 4 new people. Omg just make season 2 please!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    The Secret Circle boasts for its creepy mystery, good-looking actors, amazing script, and witchy fun. It's hard not to get caught up with the series, and I may find myself in the near future watching the whole series over and over again. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I think they should keep the secret cirle .I love that show its one the best shows on the cw I realy didnt like the ringer or heart of dixie the secret circle is better Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I love this show. I hope this one lasts!! This is a fun show based on the books of the same name and the history of witches in Salem and their decendants. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    The series opener was entertaining. The Secret Circle thus far is exactly what you would guess based on promo's. There is some lingering mystery left in the plot which sets up what could be a nice ride for the rest of this season. Casting for the most part is pretty decent. My only gripe begins and ends with "The Bad Girl" of the teenage circle, Faye. She is a bit over the top and exactly what you would expect a protagonist teenage witch to act like, if you were trying to hit the bad stereotype trifecta. A minor issue that can be overlooked so long as her scenes are minimal or she calms down and finds her character. If you enjoy other CW shows, The Secret Circle should not disappoint. If a good plot can be found down the road that introduces a reason to tune in weekly besides cute chicks and magic, I'll be sold. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    After three episodes I was ready to give up and then I watched the fourth...me thinks this show has legs and given the chance it may get dark. Episode 4 introduces the concept of demons and spooky Heather's turn has given me renewed confidence that this show is going to get better and better. It's got its faults - Natasha Henstridge's face doesn't move; the concept, even down to a magical crystal mirrors the much loved Vampire Diaries; the boys aren't hot enough; and gran doesn't seem to care that a lamp gets broken every episode....BUT.... introducing demons could make it fun and Williamson's got form that cant be denied. A slow burn, perhaps! Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    Cliched teeny bopper show with bad scripts, ridiculous plots and god awful acting, the lead actress is horrendous. I was given this to watch by a starry eyed girl at work and by episode 6 I was wanting to stick pins in my eyes. Awful, just awful! Trite, unoriginal yankee rubbish. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.
  2. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.