The Secret Life of the American Teenager : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 131
  2. Negative: 57 out of 131

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    I try not to watch this show because I turned it on and counted over 50 times that they said "sex" "abstinence" or made some other blatant sexual reference in one episode "Ashley, are you going to have sex?" "I'm not going to have sex. And if i was going to have sex i wouldn't tell you about sex" "Sex is something you should talk about. sex...." blah blah blah. Oh please, realisticI try not to watch this show because I turned it on and counted over 50 times that they said "sex" "abstinence" or made some other blatant sexual reference in one episode "Ashley, are you going to have sex?" "I'm not going to have sex. And if i was going to have sex i wouldn't tell you about sex" "Sex is something you should talk about. sex...." blah blah blah. Oh please, realistic this show isn't Expand
  2. JenniferN
    Jan 4, 2010
    1
    OMG.... i just got out of high school about a year ago... this TV show is the most unrealistic TV show out there...... me and my boyfriend lived together for three years now and we dont talk about sex THAT much... i swear.. in this TV show..... you hear sex in every single scene. =.= LAME!
  3. PhilipG.
    Jul 23, 2008
    0
    This show is amazing! I love all the drama and the storyline is awesome!
  4. Genej
    Jan 5, 2010
    2
    In the end, all you see is kids mention the word sex 300 times during one episode. It's a completely biased show with bad Christian undertones hidden by it's onimous, self-absorbed, completely mornic, sex depraved writers. It's really hard to not look away from this mess, and I mean that in the worst way possible. There are plenty of shows trying to captilize in on the In the end, all you see is kids mention the word sex 300 times during one episode. It's a completely biased show with bad Christian undertones hidden by it's onimous, self-absorbed, completely mornic, sex depraved writers. It's really hard to not look away from this mess, and I mean that in the worst way possible. There are plenty of shows trying to captilize in on the Juno/teen-mom situation. Ironically, MTV's Teen Mom is just behind this, however, Teen Mom is atleast a docu-drama. While, the writers of this show try and make the kids sound mature, all they sound like is droids from planet mono-tone. However, it ends up being one of those "so bad, it's hard not to watch" shows. Which was probably the goal for this piece of crap all along. Expand
  5. DeeMotherof5teens
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    Horrible Show. Here is what I got out of listening to one episode from the next room while my step daughters watched it: There's a girl that likes to have oral sex, Tom broke up with Tammy but it isn't because she won't have sex with him. She has phone sex with him all the time and Adrian thought everyone was aware of that. Tom does like a different girl and wants to have Horrible Show. Here is what I got out of listening to one episode from the next room while my step daughters watched it: There's a girl that likes to have oral sex, Tom broke up with Tammy but it isn't because she won't have sex with him. She has phone sex with him all the time and Adrian thought everyone was aware of that. Tom does like a different girl and wants to have sex with her so poor Tammy needs to put out or get out. Maria has wanted to kiss one of the boys for a long time and is now offering to have his baby. She wants to get engaged and have beautiful sex, have babies and run a sausage factory. Another girl had sex with one of the boys, but never really dated him, and that makes him feel rejected. So he offers to dance with her, yet she has to clarify if he wanted to dance vertically or horizontally. Rickie is having sex with other girls and Adrian isn't happy about it. He is also cheating on her and doesn't want to be in a relationship with her because that jeapoardizes his relationship with his son and baby mama. The parents in the show only see a problem with Amy and Adrian not getting along but don't seem to have a problem with all of these teens having sex with each other. Adrian has had sex with Rickie, Ben, Jack and other guys... Amy has only had sex with Rickie and Ben. Maria just wants to have sex with them but hasn't had it yet. Needless to say... this show will no longer be watched in my home. Expand
  6. alicen
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    Wow, what a terrible show for it's content and acting! I have two teenage daughters whom i have a very open relationship with and both just laugh at the absurdity of this series. It is totally unrealistic. Yes, some teens do have sex but it is NOT all they talk about. Also, a character like Ben would be considered by his peers as a freak with a sick obsession for a teen mom. If you Wow, what a terrible show for it's content and acting! I have two teenage daughters whom i have a very open relationship with and both just laugh at the absurdity of this series. It is totally unrealistic. Yes, some teens do have sex but it is NOT all they talk about. Also, a character like Ben would be considered by his peers as a freak with a sick obsession for a teen mom. If you really want to have your children see what teen moms and dads are like and what thier lives turn into after a teen pregnancy have them watch the reality show "16 and Pregnant" it's awful, trashy , sad and very depressing , now that's what typically happens in real life when you get pregnant at 15 ! This show just glamorizes the whole idea of teen sex and pregnancies...oh and by coincidence the "bad Bay" sperm donor just happens to be an incredibly good looking guy!! What the hell were the producers and writers thinking when they created this show? Expand
  7. BrianA.
    Jul 1, 2008
    1
    I thought nothing could be more preachy then "7th Heaven". I was wrong. This show is not realistic at all. Sure, sex is an issue on the minds of high school students, but they don't talk and think about only sex 24/7. And the religious messages are just absurd. I'm expecting Pat Robertson to pop out and start rambling at any time. Terrible in all ways.
  8. Mark
    Jul 10, 2008
    0
    This show is completely unrealistic. I'm a sophomore now, and there aren't any teenagers I know that say sex that much. And just about evey character is annoying and fake. Especially Ben, and that older sister; They are awful characterization. Worst teenage show I've seen in a long time. Next time don't let the person from a Christian show try to take on teenage pregnancy.
  9. DaveT.
    Jul 10, 2008
    1
    Truly a weak attempt at presenting a fresh perspective on a common theme.
  10. EricB.
    Jun 20, 2009
    2
    This show is absolutely awful. The acting is bad, the story is bad, and this is not what a teenagers life is like. In some episodes they say the word sex so many times it's unbearable. The drama element is awful and this show, overall, is just a big pile of crap.
  11. MorganF
    Aug 2, 2009
    2
    As a teenager, this show insults me. It is probably the most unrealistic show I have ever seen. Teens talk about sex. Teens have sex. But its not all we talk about. I absolutely cringe everytime some character opnes their mouth.
  12. Shayla
    Aug 6, 2009
    2
    Unrealistic, but still somewhat entertaining. I am an adult and I have a child and to me the most bothersome thing about this show is how mature all the teenagers seem. I've seen adults less mature about sexual issues, yet every 15 year old seems to have a better handle on sex than I do. Obviously written by someone who has a very idealistic view of what teenagers really feel like. Unrealistic, but still somewhat entertaining. I am an adult and I have a child and to me the most bothersome thing about this show is how mature all the teenagers seem. I've seen adults less mature about sexual issues, yet every 15 year old seems to have a better handle on sex than I do. Obviously written by someone who has a very idealistic view of what teenagers really feel like. Most teenage sex, especially at 15, is not fueled by logical thinking but passion, curiousity, and peer pressure. Writers do not have their finger on the pulse of teenagers. Expand
  13. MeganS
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    I started watching this show with the Pilot and found it mildly enjoyable, but wow has it gone downhill. The main thing that bothers me is that every single scene is about sex- who
  14. WhoopdeeD.
    Jul 1, 2008
    0
    This is the biggest waste of film I've seen in awhile.
  15. JillD
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    Not worth wasting your time.
  16. JustJack
    Jul 25, 2008
    2
    Typical fundie-Xtian influenced didacticism on worn out topics that are not borne out but substantiated facts. teen pregnancy is on the decline but this show merely ramps up the hysteria and bludgeons the audience with inane chicanery and ideological claptrap. We stopped watching it after we realized it gives our daughter the narrow, myopic Xtian cult messages about life. No more Xtian Typical fundie-Xtian influenced didacticism on worn out topics that are not borne out but substantiated facts. teen pregnancy is on the decline but this show merely ramps up the hysteria and bludgeons the audience with inane chicanery and ideological claptrap. We stopped watching it after we realized it gives our daughter the narrow, myopic Xtian cult messages about life. No more Xtian fundies in TV please, and enough of the "god network" already. If this is the mainstream of America, there's real reason to be afraid. Expand
  17. RaysaJ.
    Jul 29, 2008
    0
    Teenagers, parents, Christians, educators, and medical professionals must be insulted by their portrayal in this wreck. I more than suspect the good user reviews are network interns told to blog up this mess.
  18. LloydE.
    Aug 19, 2008
    3
    This show is only worth watching if you're one of the parents that reads the books on how to... parent... and are over the age of 40. Need to know what goes on in your teenage daughters life? Don't fret! Look no further than this joke of a television show. You see, it's simple. Every single teenage girl, as soon as she hits 15, will: A) Have sex B) Want to have sex C) Have This show is only worth watching if you're one of the parents that reads the books on how to... parent... and are over the age of 40. Need to know what goes on in your teenage daughters life? Don't fret! Look no further than this joke of a television show. You see, it's simple. Every single teenage girl, as soon as she hits 15, will: A) Have sex B) Want to have sex C) Have sex and get pregnant Use this handy information to have awkward talks with your daughter about whether or not she's having sex. What's that? You think she isn't? Don't make me laugh. I really think this show would've done better if it made fun of what people think stereotypes are, as opposed to this laugh of a drama. Expand
  19. JoeG.
    Aug 29, 2008
    1
    Waaaaaay too cliche.
  20. KatieC.
    Sep 4, 2008
    2
    As a fifteen-year-old girl in your average high school, I can honestly say that I'm appalled by the way this show portrays people my age. If the poor, unbelievable acting performances weren't bad enough, the stereotypical characters are so unrealistic that I found myself embarrassed to be watching the show at all. I'll try not to reiterate what many other people have As a fifteen-year-old girl in your average high school, I can honestly say that I'm appalled by the way this show portrays people my age. If the poor, unbelievable acting performances weren't bad enough, the stereotypical characters are so unrealistic that I found myself embarrassed to be watching the show at all. I'll try not to reiterate what many other people have already spoken of, but it's hard not to ramble on about how insulting I find this show when the adult's impression teenage life is so condescending and unrealistic. If that wasn't bad enough, the parents are annoying and would actually improve themselves by reading cheesy parenting books (and if that was done on purpose, I couldn't tell). All in all, this is one of the worst shows on TV. At least shows like Gossip Girl, though unrealistic, ACKNOWLEDGE that they're unrealistic. This show pretends to be what high school is actually like, and I'm disgusted by it. Expand
  21. brittanyk.
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    If only this show was satire then it would be funny and entertaining. the fact that it's attempting to be a real portrayal of teens is misguided and inaccurate. i sometimes wonder if any of the writers and producers ever visit a real high school before acting as if they know the REAL lives of teens.
  22. ellenm.
    Feb 7, 2009
    0
    this show is beyond a joke. as a 15 year old girl in high school i KNOW this is absolute garbage. I'm not saying that that sex isnt something that gets talked about, but in this show they don't ever talk about anything not related to sex. i was watching this episode where that adriean girl was talking to her councelor saying "i like to have alot of sex." omg who would ever say this show is beyond a joke. as a 15 year old girl in high school i KNOW this is absolute garbage. I'm not saying that that sex isnt something that gets talked about, but in this show they don't ever talk about anything not related to sex. i was watching this episode where that adriean girl was talking to her councelor saying "i like to have alot of sex." omg who would ever say that to a teacher? ;S and why do the kids just talk about sex freely with there parents? not many kids do that, at all. I also can't stand the little 'explainer' things they they throw in. its so obvious and it totally throws the whole show off. im sick of being banged over the head with this stupid message. the religous people are annoying, and i know plently of religous teenagers and none of them feel the need to inform everyone of there beliefs 24/7. the characters are completely unbelievable. adrien and the blonde jesus nut look about 10 years too old for there characters. the parents are all annoying, especially the christian ones, why would they think they have any say in there daughters romantic life? omg. this show is so annoying. this is what the show is like if you have never seen it: teen girl 1: hey, guess what, i love having sex teen girl 2: ahaha your so funny, you trickster! im christian, im christian im christian im christian i love jesus teen boy 1: your all so beautiful lets go talk in a dark lonely corner somewhere teen girl 2: no thanks my mum says im only aloud to talk to people they have met *ignores teen girl 1: OMG i know we have only been out on one date but i love you lets get married!!!!111!!!11```` teen girl 1s friends: but your pregnant! teen girl 1: NOOO IM JUST FAT AHHH. Expand
  23. caroline
    Mar 22, 2009
    0
    The situation is very realistic- its how its portrayed. i mean seriously kids in high school are not quite so stereotyped. bad acting made worse by terriblee writing. the whole show is fake and confused- like how ben falls in love with amy in like 0.00002 seconds and then is all like LETS GET HITCHED. and his dad who's all for it. and the bad boy who's not rlly a bad boy- that The situation is very realistic- its how its portrayed. i mean seriously kids in high school are not quite so stereotyped. bad acting made worse by terriblee writing. the whole show is fake and confused- like how ben falls in love with amy in like 0.00002 seconds and then is all like LETS GET HITCHED. and his dad who's all for it. and the bad boy who's not rlly a bad boy- that is soo overdone. this show is complete crap and if u cant see that u are incredibly stupid and nieve. Expand
  24. lisab
    Aug 28, 2009
    1
    Man oh man. I'm one for cheesy reality tv and teen soaps but holy cow. I never notice acting but in this show, it definitely stands out. I am ten years past my teens but I know clearly, this is not how high school works. Sex wasn't brought up in EVERY conversation. The only way this show is entertaining is to laugh at. None of it is realistic in any sense . The main girl has Man oh man. I'm one for cheesy reality tv and teen soaps but holy cow. I never notice acting but in this show, it definitely stands out. I am ten years past my teens but I know clearly, this is not how high school works. Sex wasn't brought up in EVERY conversation. The only way this show is entertaining is to laugh at. None of it is realistic in any sense . The main girl has friends who are so 'cliche' it's sickening. I really don't know how this made it on ABC. It's more of an MTV hour fill in type of show. They could do so much better... Juno, which this show is related to, was much better and would never make it as a show... obviously. Expand
  25. KiraH
    Aug 7, 2009
    0
    This is the worst show ever... the characters are either always fighting or talking about sex & nothing really ever happens. I am normally not one that notices bad acting in every show or movie, but this show has the worst acting ever! The characters are all very wooden, and nothing that happens on the show is even remotely believable. Everyone is so annoyingly linked to each other that This is the worst show ever... the characters are either always fighting or talking about sex & nothing really ever happens. I am normally not one that notices bad acting in every show or movie, but this show has the worst acting ever! The characters are all very wooden, and nothing that happens on the show is even remotely believable. Everyone is so annoyingly linked to each other that it becomes ridiculous (for example, this person's mother use to date this other person's father who had an affair with ANOTHER person's mother). It's like, how is this even realistic?? Then there is the main character, the new mother Amy, who acts like a total b--- about everything. Yes, I know she just had a baby & has to deal with all the stress & hardships of being a teen mother, but would it kill her to stop complaining & b---ing about everything & everyone for once? Also, nearly everyone seems to be OBSESSED with sex all the time that it's all anyone ever talks about. Everyone spreads all these rumors around & are always fighting one another about it that the show just becomes extremely boring to watch. And the "good girl" Grace is annoyingly preachy & delusional most of the time, while all the "bad girl" Adrian wants to do is have sex, which she seems only to be around for, in order to enhance the storyline. Amy's best friends Madison & Lauren don't even seem like her best friends, just two immature little girls who don't even know what is going on most of the time. The show focuses on how everyone is sooo involved in everyone else's life that there's little room for other things to happen, which makes it so frustrating to watch. The characters are not even the least bit likeable, nor believable. The girls all seem either very bitchy or annoying, and the guys are either very boring or just interested in sex. All in all, the show is very cliche & filled with bad acting along with shallow characters, so if you're ready to ask "So what even really happened on the show?" after each episode, then by all means watch. Not even satisfying in the least bit. Expand
  26. [anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Hey, here's a great idea! Let's make a 7th Heaven ripoff, only let's have them talk about sex every two words! Great idea, huh? Well, it is if you're my sister
  27. MollyY.
    Aug 12, 2008
    1
    The only reason I gave this show a score at all is because I could not stop watching it because of how incredibly stupid it is. The parents of the pregnant girl are so dense and are sorry excuses for a parent. The parenting skills are a disgrace. Each character is such cliche, textbook label that it is disgusting. Nobody is like that in high school. Yes, teens have sex. Get over it! I The only reason I gave this show a score at all is because I could not stop watching it because of how incredibly stupid it is. The parents of the pregnant girl are so dense and are sorry excuses for a parent. The parenting skills are a disgrace. Each character is such cliche, textbook label that it is disgusting. Nobody is like that in high school. Yes, teens have sex. Get over it! I find the acting to be below par, worse than Seventh Heaven by far. I still cannot believe Molly Ringwald stooped that low to be in this show. Also, there is no way a teen would take off their shirt in school (especially a girl) and not get into any sort of trouble. There are dress codes, you know. Expand
  28. KierstenA.
    Aug 22, 2008
    0
    this show is terrible, and the plotline where the cheerleader defends herself against sexual predators and then somehow becomes the town joke is reprehensible.
  29. adamb
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    Possibly worst written and poorest acted drama of the new millenium. The school band plays and marches around the pregnant girl between classes. The actress that plays the younger sister makes Michael Phelp's look like Tom Hanks. When guys are alone they have in depth discussions about relationships. The girl doesn't know what to do after making out with the guy that got her Possibly worst written and poorest acted drama of the new millenium. The school band plays and marches around the pregnant girl between classes. The actress that plays the younger sister makes Michael Phelp's look like Tom Hanks. When guys are alone they have in depth discussions about relationships. The girl doesn't know what to do after making out with the guy that got her friend pregnant turns to her dad for advice. Totally unrealistic writing and overall unfunny ineffectve excuse for a dram. Expand
  30. LauraM
    Dec 26, 2009
    1
    although i somehow find it somewhat interesting to watch about how they unrealistically deal with it, this show is a huge load of sh*t that im ashamed america got so low that they had to make a show about a teenager getting pregnant, and of course it's not her boyfriend's baby. and as said previously, i am insulted since i am a teenager, because we dont always talk about sex! although i somehow find it somewhat interesting to watch about how they unrealistically deal with it, this show is a huge load of sh*t that im ashamed america got so low that they had to make a show about a teenager getting pregnant, and of course it's not her boyfriend's baby. and as said previously, i am insulted since i am a teenager, because we dont always talk about sex! and her best friend Maddison seems very unsupportive and pessimistic, and not in her own right. Lauren isn't so bad, but could improve on the acting skills, for that matter, they can ALL improve on the acting skills! shocking. other characters seem to have such boring, dragged out, self absorbed storylines that it makes you wonder if they were just put in to pass the time. just an all-time shocking show that is extremely unrealistic and boring. Expand
  31. EmilyK
    Feb 16, 2009
    3
    Extremely unrealistic. Teens do get pregnant and do have sex, but this show makes it seem as if that's everything that makes up high school. It makes a mockery out of teenagers. The writers are obviously assuming they know what goes on in high schools, but have no experience.
  32. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    This show is probably the worst show I've ever seen. The acting is absolutely awful especially from the actor who plays Ricky. The show is supposed to be focusing on Amy and yet it is filled with worthless storylines that make no sense. The whole cheerleader Christian thing makes no sense to me and the sex craved Adrian is such an unrealistic character (yes there are girls like that but IThis show is probably the worst show I've ever seen. The acting is absolutely awful especially from the actor who plays Ricky. The show is supposed to be focusing on Amy and yet it is filled with worthless storylines that make no sense. The whole cheerleader Christian thing makes no sense to me and the sex craved Adrian is such an unrealistic character (yes there are girls like that but I never once experienced a girl that slutty in high school) Ben is just so annoying it's sickening he fell in love with Amy after one day and the whole saying I love you thing was so corny. I think the writers tried to make him be similar to JT Yorke from Degrassi but they failed miserably. Yes teen pregnancy does happen but this show is way to dramatic between the father having an affair with the mother of Adrian and then Ricky being sexually abused and blah blah blah. Sometimes less is more and this is way too much. All of these actors need to take more acting classes and new writers need to be hired for this show to have any hope. Expand
  33. Jun 11, 2012
    0
    horrible acting, poor dialogue, unrealistic scenarios. This pretty much DEFINES bad TV. Odd that my review for this must be at least 100 characters long, but whatever, I really only need to say that it's a horrible show that nobody should be subjected to due to the aforementioned reasons. How this is still on after 4 years I will never know. I only rated it a zero because I couldn't gohorrible acting, poor dialogue, unrealistic scenarios. This pretty much DEFINES bad TV. Odd that my review for this must be at least 100 characters long, but whatever, I really only need to say that it's a horrible show that nobody should be subjected to due to the aforementioned reasons. How this is still on after 4 years I will never know. I only rated it a zero because I couldn't go negative. Expand
  34. Feb 18, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awful. Simply... awful. The actors are stiff, the plot is unbelievable and inaccurate, and the writers obviously know next to nothing about teenage life. Yes, teenagers have sex and talk about sex, but it's not nearly as prominent in teenage life as they make it out to be There is also the fact that the main character is supposed to be Sweet, Innocent, and Adorable, but she dresses like a slut, acts like a slut, and is completely unlikeable. Her boyfriend offers to marry her because she's pregnant even though it isn't his, but this DOESN'T HAPPEN in real life, especially to two freshman. There is so many more inaccuracies I could rant about, but I don't want to ruin more of this perfectly terrible show for whoever wants to watch it. Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. 75
    The show, like the old "90210" and "The O.C.," looks to be--from its premiere, at any rate--a top-flight series about a group of high school students, most of whom I liked immediately.
  2. 80
    Secret Life feels a lot more authentic than many teen dramas.
  3. It's far more realistic in scope and situations than "Gossip Girl," but there's such an earnestness and one-dimensionality to the characters that they seem a lot less believable.