• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 1, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
The Secret Life of the American Teenager Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Molly Ringwald stars as a mom to a pregnant teenager in the ABC Family series by the creator of "7th Heaven" and "Blossom."
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. 80
    Secret Life feels a lot more authentic than many teen dramas.
  2. 75
    The show, like the old "90210" and "The O.C.," looks to be--from its premiere, at any rate--a top-flight series about a group of high school students, most of whom I liked immediately.
  3. 70
    As entertainment, the pilot is a most impressive work of economic and focused storytelling.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    From the tramp to the Christians, everyone but Amy feels more like a type than a genuine character. Although a degree of shorthand is to be forgiven, these characters are caricatures at best as the series careens all over the place.
  5. It feels thin, mechanical and confused.
  6. ABC Family means well but could not have done worse. Secret Life doesn’t take the fun out of teenage pregnancy, it takes the fun out of television.
  7. 20
    Nothing about it feels original or even especially timely, and it certainly doesn't reveal any great secrets about society.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 73
  2. Negative: 34 out of 73
  1. May 6, 2012
    10
    Love this show from the start. It is very very funny. Love the adult actors and the surprise guest stars. Cool to see upcoming new young actors getting there start on this show. Lots of twist and turns. Lots of talent. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    At first I really liked the show, just because it was from ABC and all of my friends liked it. But now, I have realized what a stupid show it really is. In just one conversation, all they really talk about is sex. My friends still like it, and they are always asking me what season I'm on, and I just say that it's a dumb show and does not have anything to do with a real high school life. They brag to each other about where they are in the seasons, it is so annoying! Kids should not be watching shows like this. Collapse
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    i've watched it since the start and at first it was really good but it gets cheesier and cheesier. the actors are so HORRIBLE except for about four people like shailene and molly of course and a lot of the story line is just.... awkward so maybe they cast would be better in a dif project but still. even with all of this... i'm strangely addicted and they def know how to keep you hooked. but i'm seriously am only watching it to watch amy and ricky's love story... i fast forward through all the rest of the classmates' dramas because it's seriously tacky and fake and just horrible acting. it's not completely awful but it's not a work of art Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    I try not to watch this show because I turned it on and counted over 50 times that they said "sex" "abstinence" or made some other blatant sexual reference in one episode "Ashley, are you going to have sex?" "I'm not going to have sex. And if i was going to have sex i wouldn't tell you about sex" "Sex is something you should talk about. sex...." blah blah blah. Oh please, realistic this show isn't Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awful. Simply... awful. The actors are stiff, the plot is unbelievable and inaccurate, and the writers obviously know next to nothing about teenage life. Yes, teenagers have sex and talk about sex, but it's not nearly as prominent in teenage life as they make it out to be There is also the fact that the main character is supposed to be Sweet, Innocent, and Adorable, but she dresses like a slut, acts like a slut, and is completely unlikeable. Her boyfriend offers to marry her because she's pregnant even though it isn't his, but this DOESN'T HAPPEN in real life, especially to two freshman. There is so many more inaccuracies I could rant about, but I don't want to ruin more of this perfectly terrible show for whoever wants to watch it. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    This show is probably the worst show I've ever seen. The acting is absolutely awful especially from the actor who plays Ricky. The show is supposed to be focusing on Amy and yet it is filled with worthless storylines that make no sense. The whole cheerleader Christian thing makes no sense to me and the sex craved Adrian is such an unrealistic character (yes there are girls like that but I never once experienced a girl that slutty in high school) Ben is just so annoying it's sickening he fell in love with Amy after one day and the whole saying I love you thing was so corny. I think the writers tried to make him be similar to JT Yorke from Degrassi but they failed miserably. Yes teen pregnancy does happen but this show is way to dramatic between the father having an affair with the mother of Adrian and then Ricky being sexually abused and blah blah blah. Sometimes less is more and this is way too much. All of these actors need to take more acting classes and new writers need to be hired for this show to have any hope. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    0
    horrible acting, poor dialogue, unrealistic scenarios. This pretty much DEFINES bad TV. Odd that my review for this must be at least 100 characters long, but whatever, I really only need to say that it's a horrible show that nobody should be subjected to due to the aforementioned reasons. How this is still on after 4 years I will never know. I only rated it a zero because I couldn't go negative. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews