The Shield : Season 1

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2002
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Mar 19, 2013
    60
    So while the scripts and characters rival those of any network series (and beat most), and directors such as Clark Johnson (who played Lewis on "Homicide: Life on the Street") do them justice, the players surrounding Chiklis and Pounder are a notch or two less intense and effective. [12 Mar 2002, p.83]
  2. Boston Herald
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    The Shield gives viewers so much Chiklis, it should be called "The Commish 2." The pilot opens with the unlikely scenario of the portly Chiklis chasing down a teenage drug dealer. It only gets worse...There may be rogue cops out there, but do they really announce to their precinct captains that they can't be controlled? It's hard to watch a show that stars such an unlikable character. [12 Mar 2002, p.41]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing show...it was my favorite show until breaking bad came out.....for all of the people who love this show, i highly recommendthis is an amazing show...it was my favorite show until breaking bad came out.....for all of the people who love this show, i highly recommend breaking bad. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    The Shield is kinda like 'The Wire' but drunk and carrying a knife or something. It doesn't have anywhere near the depth of theThe Shield is kinda like 'The Wire' but drunk and carrying a knife or something. It doesn't have anywhere near the depth of the aforementioned, but it fills that lacking with, well..... Vic Mackey. Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Season 1 starts off with a bang and finishes extremely strong in the season finale. The acting is great and the storylines are verySeason 1 starts off with a bang and finishes extremely strong in the season finale. The acting is great and the storylines are very interesting. Its definently becoming my favorite show to watch. Full Review »