• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2002
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
The Shield Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Reed Diamond, Reed Diamond, CCH Pounder
  • Summary: The Road To Justice Is Twisted

    The Shield breaks the conventional formula of the cop genre. It plays out in a tough, morally ambiguous world in which the line between good and bad is crossed every day. The series focuses on the tension between a group of corrupt but effective cops and a
    The Road To Justice Is Twisted

    The Shield breaks the conventional formula of the cop genre. It plays out in a tough, morally ambiguous world in which the line between good and bad is crossed every day. The series focuses on the tension between a group of corrupt but effective cops and a captain torn between bringing them down and advancing his own political ambitions. The Shield stars Michael Chiklis (The Commish) as rogue cop "Det. Vic Mackey," leader of the elite Strike Team unit, who is effective at eliminating crime but who operates under his own set of rules. Benito Martinez (Outbreak & Her Costly Affair) plays "Captain David Aceveda," the young precinct head who doesn't like Mackey's tactics and wants to bust him off the force. And the Emmy-nominated CCH Pounder (ER & Boycott), plays "Det. Claudette Wyms," a veteran detective who understands Mackey and knows how to play both sides of the fence.

    The show made history by becoming the first ad-supported cable series to win the 2003 Golden Globe Award for Best Drama Series. In its first season, Shawn Ryan (Writing) and Clark Johnson (Directing) received Emmy nominations, which were also firsts for basic cable in those categories. The Shield has received two TCA nominations for Outstanding Achievement in Drama. As of March 2005, the show has become the longest running series on the FX Network.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Shawn Ryan
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Mar 12, 2002
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    Astonishing. ... The Shield did what network cop shows have lately abandoned: it created a richly imagined world with continuing story lines, driven by L.A.'s roiling racial politics--achieving a payoff far bigger than solving the murder of the week.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    Just imagine if Tony Soprano had decided to be a cop instead of a gangster. Yes, scary. Scary and compelling. And that's what you get with Detective Vic Mackey, the brutal, anything-goes Johnny Law at the dark heart of The Shield, an explosively well-done new crime drama. [12 Mar 2002]
  3. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    The best cop show of any recent season...It's not for everyone, but it is for anyone who still misses "Homicide" and thinks "NYPD Blue" long ago devolved into soap opera. [10 Mar 2002, p.F2]
  4. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    Foul-mouthed, violent and potentially depressing with its unvarnished characters, The Shield also shocks your heart with pounding action and tickles your brain by presenting a cops-and-robbers world where almost everyone is at least morally ambiguous, at worst corrupt. [12 Mar 2002]
  5. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    However, I can't give The Shield an unqualified recommendation given its placement on a basic cable network. There are scenes that make "NYPD Blue" look tame, including nudity, sex scenes, horrific violence and everything short of the f-word in terms of language. It looks like something you'd expect from HBO or a pay-cable channel that you specifically pay for and expect to include adult content. Not a basic cable channel that's next to Nickelodeon and the Disney Channel. [12 Mar 2002, p.C08]
  6. Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    This is a darker "NYPD Blue," "The Job" without the jokes, the LAPD Rampart scandal without, so far, the indictments. Does The Shield need the R-rated language, violence and nudity that FX has allowed it? Probably not. But don't let that scare you off, either. [12 Mar 2002, p.39]
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    50
    The Shield gives viewers so much Chiklis, it should be called "The Commish 2." The pilot opens with the unlikely scenario of the portly Chiklis chasing down a teenage drug dealer. It only gets worse...There may be rogue cops out there, but do they really announce to their precinct captains that they can't be controlled? It's hard to watch a show that stars such an unlikable character. [12 Mar 2002, p.41]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply the best Cop drama available today, the show simply has no weak moments at all! It manage give you many likeable actors instead of a bunch of extras like many shows tend to do. Plus it keeps away from many moral high ground cop Drama likes to hide behind. They even put you into hard dilemma such as liking or not the main protagonist who is a cop killer, a thief and who many times abuse of his power for personal gain but still makes him look like part of the good guy in the end. Vic Mackey is simply the best anti-hero ever seen in a Tv-Show. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing show...it was my favorite show until breaking bad came out.....for all of the people who love this show, i highly recommendthis is an amazing show...it was my favorite show until breaking bad came out.....for all of the people who love this show, i highly recommend breaking bad. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Just got done watching all 7 seasons of this show, and to me it was the most compelling tv I've ever watched. My biggest problem was the lastJust got done watching all 7 seasons of this show, and to me it was the most compelling tv I've ever watched. My biggest problem was the last 10 mins (of the last show)... it literally destroyed my whole opinion of 7 seasons.
    The characterization was so crisp and expertly wound, that you almost 'felt' for the characters, rooted for the bad guys, and thought strongly about the things that you'd seen.
    What they did in the end... the choices that they made... were so upsetting to me, that I was almost 'heart broken' that I was was roped into the show for so long.
    Very upsetting...
    Expand
  4. gas
    Aug 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best tv series i saw, the plot is what really make the difference, as its uncommon to have a drama so believable without being tooOne of the best tv series i saw, the plot is what really make the difference, as its uncommon to have a drama so believable without being too much predictable.
    Beside that, ofc its the mix of great acting, shooting, direction plus this impressive plot to make this series to be really one of the best ever made.
    Its addictive, you will end really caring about what is going to happen next.
    I hope to find more series with this quality.
    Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    The best television series ever made. consisteantly brillant until the very last second of the very last show. Unbelivably good, blow allThe best television series ever made. consisteantly brillant until the very last second of the very last show. Unbelivably good, blow all other Tv dramas out of the water. how can i be the first one commenting on this? Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    This is seriously the best tv series I have watched to date. The acting is supreme, the style of shooting document-ish, there are no clues toThis is seriously the best tv series I have watched to date. The acting is supreme, the style of shooting document-ish, there are no clues to guide your emotional reactions and you can basically react how ever you feel like. That's what I love about this show: there is no right or wrong, there are no clear answers, you have to actively interpret and decide for yourself. It shows the range of human emotions and the range of reality, in all its ugliness but also in all its goodness, which unfortunately is shadowed by the harsh reality. I wish more of tv was like this. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Solid drama. I usually groan at most "COP" dramas but this one genuinely had me gripped. Nice range of characters who you grow to like/dislikeSolid drama. I usually groan at most "COP" dramas but this one genuinely had me gripped. Nice range of characters who you grow to like/dislike in a positive way. Each character has their own little sub plots, with some being stronger than others. Overall the interesting characters carry the show to make it an overall entertaining experience. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.