The Simpsons : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 17, 1989
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28
The Simpsons Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Originally created by cartoonist Matt Groening, "Our Favorite Family," has graced the small screen in one form or another for over 20 years. The Simpson family first appeared on television as the subjects of interstitial "shorts" on The Tracey Ullman Show in April of 1987. The SimpsonsOriginally created by cartoonist Matt Groening, "Our Favorite Family," has graced the small screen in one form or another for over 20 years. The Simpson family first appeared on television as the subjects of interstitial "shorts" on The Tracey Ullman Show in April of 1987. The Simpsons remained a staple on The Tracey Ullman Show for three seasons until they premiered in their own half-hour series, on December 17, 1989. With the help of Jim Brooks and Sam Simon, Matt Groening's cartoon family turned into an instant success.

    Set in Springfield, the average American town, the show focuses on the antics and everyday adventures of the Simpson family; Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa and Maggie, as well as a virtual cast of thousands. Since the beginning, the series has been a pop culture icon, attracting hundreds of celebrities to guest star. The show has also made name for itself in its fearless satirical take on politics, media and American life in general.

    Currently in its 21st season, The Simpsons has piled up over 440 episodes, over 20 Emmy Awards, a handful of music albums, countless endorsements and merchandise, and even made the jump to the silver screen in the summer of 2007 with The Simpsons Movie. And according to Matt Groening, "There is no end in sight."
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Simpsons
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Mar 4, 2013
    100
    Easily the the best, cleverest and nuttiest arrival of the 1989-90 season is The Simpsons...It's very small-scale, but perfectly conceived and executed. What we have here from creator Matt Groening is a rare confluence -- delightful writing, pictures and voices fitting like a Matisse. [12 Jan 1990, p.F1]
  2. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 4, 2013
    90
    A hilarious holiday package. [15 Dec 1989, p.3D]
  3. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Engstrom
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    "The Simpsons" is both a challenge and a delight. It's also that rarest of TV fauna, a cartoon show with levels of mirth for every brain and pair of eyes in the family. [12 Jan 1990]
  4. Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Jul 11, 2013
    80
    There is, admittedly, a fine line between being hilariously perceptive and just plain, even objectionably, silly. While habitually teetering on that line, 'The Simpsons' has shown a remarkable ability to come down on the right side most of the time.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 7, 2013
    67
    Groening has created a group of characters whose personalities and motives are more vivid and detailed than the vast majority of sitcoms featuring flesh-and-blood actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Zoglin
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    [The show] has a good deal of savvy wit.... The Simpsons, however, is strangely off-putting much of the time. The drawings are grotesque without redeeming style or charm (characters have big beady eyes, beaklike noses and spiky hair), and the animation is crude even by TV's low-grade standards.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    The best cartoon show in the history of television!! It has many things: Funny smart jokes, some stupid jokes but not going over the line,The best cartoon show in the history of television!! It has many things: Funny smart jokes, some stupid jokes but not going over the line, some racist jokes but not going to far like Family Guy. Love this show! 10/10 period! Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2016
    10
    I'm not going to review all 28 seasons as that will take forever so I'll write an overall review in season 1. This is without a doubt theI'm not going to review all 28 seasons as that will take forever so I'll write an overall review in season 1. This is without a doubt the greatest animated sitcom of all-time and in my opinion this is the best comedy the US has ever produced and despite it being criticised in recent seasons I still enjoy it as much as I did 15-20 years ago. I look forward to what the future of this show is whether it ends after season 30 or if it goes on for another 40-50 years. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Very fun, so creative, smart and hilarious. Every episodes has some good social critic.
    Was not lucky that tv show last so much time. They
    Very fun, so creative, smart and hilarious. Every episodes has some good social critic.
    Was not lucky that tv show last so much time. They got it, becouse its good.

    Homer simpson is amazing stupid, i laughed so much with he.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best cartoon that I have ever watched. The cartoon itself is suited for all audiences as the more adult jokes within theThis has to be the best cartoon that I have ever watched. The cartoon itself is suited for all audiences as the more adult jokes within the cartoon have been cleverly disguised so only older audiences will understand them. There is something for everyone in this cartoon. So I strongly recommend you buy season one which is the best season out of them all. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    The Simpsons uma animação ultra-filosófica que tece criticas sobre o cotiano social americano, usando uma família com padrões éticosThe Simpsons uma animação ultra-filosófica que tece criticas sobre o cotiano social americano, usando uma família com padrões éticos distorcidos, a serie equilibra humor e drama com originalidade justificando seu imenso sucesso. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2017
    7
    Season one started the Simpsons which is why it's so special. There are some flaws in the episodes but overall it is a very good series starter.......
  7. Dec 10, 2014
    0
    I haven't watched the Simpsons since the evolution of cartoon comedy and boy was I surprised by how dull and stupid the show is. The SimpsonsI haven't watched the Simpsons since the evolution of cartoon comedy and boy was I surprised by how dull and stupid the show is. The Simpsons is simply a cartoon based which lacks humor and entertaining content. You can only watch Homer mess up so many times before it gets unwatchable. I'm sorry but this cartoon is completely crap. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows Image
    Published: June 29, 2010
    In theaters this week, "The Last Airbender" is attempting to make a successful jump from TV cartoon to the big screen, something few animated shows have accomplished in the past. We look at five previous success stories, and a handful of the biggest failures.