• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 17, 1989
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Originally created by cartoonist Matt Groening, "Our Favorite Family," has graced the small screen in one form or another for over 20 years. The Simpson family first appeared on television as the subjects of interstitial "shorts" on The Tracey Ullman Show in April of 1987. The SimpsonsOriginally created by cartoonist Matt Groening, "Our Favorite Family," has graced the small screen in one form or another for over 20 years. The Simpson family first appeared on television as the subjects of interstitial "shorts" on The Tracey Ullman Show in April of 1987. The Simpsons remained a staple on The Tracey Ullman Show for three seasons until they premiered in their own half-hour series, on December 17, 1989. With the help of Jim Brooks and Sam Simon, Matt Groening's cartoon family turned into an instant success.

    Set in Springfield, the average American town, the show focuses on the antics and everyday adventures of the Simpson family; Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa and Maggie, as well as a virtual cast of thousands. Since the beginning, the series has been a pop culture icon, attracting hundreds of celebrities to guest star. The show has also made name for itself in its fearless satirical take on politics, media and American life in general.

    Currently in its 21st season, The Simpsons has piled up over 440 episodes, over 20 Emmy Awards, a handful of music albums, countless endorsements and merchandise, and even made the jump to the silver screen in the summer of 2007 with The Simpsons Movie. And according to Matt Groening, "There is no end in sight."
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Mar 4, 2013
    100
    Easily the the best, cleverest and nuttiest arrival of the 1989-90 season is The Simpsons...It's very small-scale, but perfectly conceived and executed. What we have here from creator Matt Groening is a rare confluence -- delightful writing, pictures and voices fitting like a Matisse. [12 Jan 1990, p.F1]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 4, 2013
    90
    A hilarious holiday package. [15 Dec 1989, p.3D]
  3. Reviewed by: John Engstrom
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    "The Simpsons" is both a challenge and a delight. It's also that rarest of TV fauna, a cartoon show with levels of mirth for every brain and pair of eyes in the family. [12 Jan 1990]
  4. Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Jul 11, 2013
    80
    There is, admittedly, a fine line between being hilariously perceptive and just plain, even objectionably, silly. While habitually teetering on that line, 'The Simpsons' has shown a remarkable ability to come down on the right side most of the time.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 7, 2013
    67
    Groening has created a group of characters whose personalities and motives are more vivid and detailed than the vast majority of sitcoms featuring flesh-and-blood actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Zoglin
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    [The show] has a good deal of savvy wit.... The Simpsons, however, is strangely off-putting much of the time. The drawings are grotesque without redeeming style or charm (characters have big beady eyes, beaklike noses and spiky hair), and the animation is crude even by TV's low-grade standards.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    The best cartoon show in the history of television!! It has many things: Funny smart jokes, some stupid jokes but not going over the line,The best cartoon show in the history of television!! It has many things: Funny smart jokes, some stupid jokes but not going over the line, some racist jokes but not going to far like Family Guy. Love this show! 10/10 period! Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    All hail Matt Groening for the best TV show EVER to step on the small screen. Homer is definitely my favourite character! So awesome that thisAll hail Matt Groening for the best TV show EVER to step on the small screen. Homer is definitely my favourite character! So awesome that this may be one of the only TV shows that never gets old. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Shows Of All Time!
    The Simpsons Is Still One Of The Funniest Show's Even At Season 24! Damn...
  4. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Completely fabulous show its my second favourite show with my first made by the same creator futurama
    but still i seem to watch this much
    Completely fabulous show its my second favourite show with my first made by the same creator futurama
    but still i seem to watch this much more due to the fact there is always one channel showing this show at one time cause its simply that popular but i still only prefer futurama by a little bit but i have to give this a 10 because it went down wich i would of gave a 8 but the newer episodes are AMAZING the 24th season
    in my opinion has shot the show back up and for that it gets a 10!
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    There is a reason that this is the longest running show on television. Crisp, original, and topical writing with timeless characters createsThere is a reason that this is the longest running show on television. Crisp, original, and topical writing with timeless characters creates a winning formula. Job done Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2015
    7
    The show is fairly funny... sometimes there are some dull moments. I, as a Canadian, am offended by many of their "Canadian jokes", which areThe show is fairly funny... sometimes there are some dull moments. I, as a Canadian, am offended by many of their "Canadian jokes", which are neither true nor funny. They portray us as stupid and naive... particularly in "Midnight Rx". First thing wrong: Marijuana is currently illegal (except of course for medical usage). We don't talk like Bob and Doug Mackenzie (I actually find their comedy act quite offensive). We only put "Eh" at the end of a phrase where it makes grammatical sense (I don't even use it then, personally). They must educate themselves because most of these jokes are insensitive and offensive. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2014
    0
    I haven't watched the Simpsons since the evolution of cartoon comedy and boy was I surprised by how dull and stupid the show is. The SimpsonsI haven't watched the Simpsons since the evolution of cartoon comedy and boy was I surprised by how dull and stupid the show is. The Simpsons is simply a cartoon based which lacks humor and entertaining content. You can only watch Homer mess up so many times before it gets unwatchable. I'm sorry but this cartoon is completely crap. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows Image
    Published: June 29, 2010
    In theaters this week, "The Last Airbender" is attempting to make a successful jump from TV cartoon to the big screen, something few animated shows have accomplished in the past. We look at five previous success stories, and a handful of the biggest failures.