The Sopranos : Season 3

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 1999
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    HBO made four of the 13 new episodes available for review. Taken as a whole, they stand as compelling proof that the series' creator and executive producer, David Chase, still is in complete control of the brilliantly constructed crime saga. [4 Mar 2001]
  2. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    The [first episode], along with two other episodes sent to critics, dispels any of last year's feeling that The Sopranos was losing a little steam. They demonstrate a constant ability to surprise. [4 Mar 2001]
  3. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    It's apparent that "The Sopranos" is back in top form. [2 Mar 2001]
  4. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    The show is as darkly gleeful as ever, shrewdly and even elegantly put together and, in a way that perhaps no other TV drama series has ever been, troublingly seductive and irresistible. [3 Mar 2001]
  5. Kansas City Star
    Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    It is a show driven not so much by story line as by story telling. We may never have seen a TV program so adept at painting brilliant little vignettes that have nothing to do with anything except the sheer pleasure of watching a scene unfold or hearing pitch-perfect dialogue. [3 Mar 2001]
  6. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    "The Sopranos" remains the elitist of the elite. ... Competing against its shimmery self, and the lofty expectations it creates, "The Sopranos" resurfaces once more as a superbly written and executed hybrid of popular entertainment and high art, offering up its own Golden Age of TV.
  7. Reviewed by: Caryn James
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Display[s] more wit, emotion, humanity and brutality than ever. Even measured against insanely high expectations, the series is as good as it has ever been.
  8. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    "The Sopranos," even as series creator David Chase changes pace this season from power struggles to family matters, is still as good as television gets: wonderfully written, superbly acted, always unpredictable. [2 Mar 2001]
  9. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Forget the sags and disappointments of last year. For season three, creator and producer David Chase gets it right again. [3 Mar 2001]
  10. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Barry Garron
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    The series became an instant TV landmark because of its riveting stories, wonderfully drawn characters, superb acting and intelligent direction. If anything, the new season emphasizes these traits even more, as it probes the fascinating and usually emotionally charged relationships inside and outside the Soprano family. [2 Mar 2001]
  11. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    TV's greatest show. [4 Mar 2001]
  12. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    In its first season, I thought it was the best cop drama on television. Last year, I thought it was the best drama - period. What's left, the best series in American television? It almost goes without saying. [3 Mar 2001]
  13. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Extraordinary. [2 Mar 2001]
  14. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Continues to test traditional notions of television heroism, upend conventional storytelling rhythms and deliver its thematic points and comic payoffs with a revolutionary subtlety. [4 Mar 2001]
  15. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: Eric Mink
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    [The first episodes] offer the thrilling combination of provocative drama, bawdy comedy and ingenious production that has become the show's signature feature. [2 Mar 2001]
  16. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    "The Sopranos" has renewed and refreshed its ability to surprise. [4 Mar 2001]
  17. Variety
    Reviewed by: Phil Gallo
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    "The Sopranos" retains the title of the most involving series on television and James Gandolfini continues to be a powerhouse of a performer. [2 Mar 2001]
  18. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    100
    The Sopranos is better than ever.
  19. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    The new Sopranos is as good as it's ever been -- ruthlessly emotional, cuttingly funny and frightening.
  20. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 19, 2013
    90
    "The Sopranos" returns in better form this year than it did at the start of its second season. New territory is explored and Chase seems more willing to push the Soprano story forward. [2 Mar 2001]
  21. Dallas Morning News
    Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Some of the edge is off and the buzz isn't quite what it was. [4 Mar 2001]
  22. Denver Post
    Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 19, 2013
    90
    The series remains smarter and funnier than most anything on television. ... But be forewarned: the 'Sopranos' season starts slowly and a bit unevenly. [4 Mar 2001]
  23. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Jul 19, 2013
    88
    It is nearly impossible for [The Sopranos] to match expectations, which may be why it doesn't. ... The series has grown coarser, more base. [28 Feb 2001]
  24. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    The show steadfastly avoids romanticizing characters who are repellent, violent and selfish, and it offers a dark, unsparing vision of family life. [4 Mar 2001]
  25. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 19, 2013
    75
    While Sopranos remains one of TV's high-water marks, the first hour hits that mark so slowly you may find yourself wishing Chase were operating under just a tiny bit of network time pressure. [2 Mar 2001]
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 184 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 16, 2017
    10
    OMG!! Es lo que dije al terminar el capitulo de la doctora Melfi, sí, ese capitulo por mencionar los muchisimos MOMENTAZOS de esta terceraOMG!! Es lo que dije al terminar el capitulo de la doctora Melfi, sí, ese capitulo por mencionar los muchisimos MOMENTAZOS de esta tercera temporada, tocando temas muy peliagudos,con un nivel de madurez en el relato y una trama de temporada super interesante. Esta tercera temporada ya presenta a Tony como un verdadero Boss de la mafia, Pine Barrens, Jackie Aprile Jr.... ¡Esta tercera temporada lo tiene todo!

    Personalmente, como temporada completa, una de las mejores temporada de series que he visto un 10 absoluto.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2016
    8
    Kelli Aprile: "Jesus Christ, look at who our father was! My brother wasn't killed by some drug dealer! He was killed by some fat f**k inKelli Aprile: "Jesus Christ, look at who our father was! My brother wasn't killed by some drug dealer! He was killed by some fat f**k in see-through socks."

    This took me awhile, but here it is. Season 3 of The Sopranos was freaking great just like how I expected it to be. While it's not on the same level of outstanding as season one & two (In my opinion), but it's still a great season with lots to like with it's characters, story and actors. There's a lot in this season that actually did better than the last two seasons, but there's some things that this season didn't do so well. So lets dive in.

    Tony Soprano is known for being one of the best anti-hero of all time. He's right up there with Walter White -'Breaking Bad', Frank Underwood – 'House of Cards', Hannibal Lecter – 'Hannibal' and Dexter Morgan – 'Dexter'. Even the most despicable things Tony has done in this season, you still can't help but to like the guy. The reason why I'm bringing this up now and not the last two seasons is because I think this is the season we finally have a full gasp of what Tony is as a character. Imagine a villain who isn't fully aware that he is a villain, but thinks he's a good person and everything that he dose is for the right reasons, and that right there is basically Tony. We also see an other side of him that we understand how Tony's emotion works or the reason why he's so cold at times. Jame Gandolfini delivered a beautiful performance this season, as he always adds new things to his character in every season and making the word 'character development' very relevant in this show. Just like what I said in my season 2 review, James was brilliant and I'm likely going to say that again for my season 4 review, but that's the thing, I'm seriously running out of things to say for this guy, as he's always terrific in everything.

    The one thing I absolutely need to praise this season is how engaging it was. All of it has to do with the writing, as it was really terrific and well written for a show like this. This is TV at it's finest and this is also David Chase at his finest of writing.

    Some of the performances was pretty good from the cast, but if I had to pick out a weak performance from any of the cast it would be Steven Van Zandt as Silvio Dante. He wasn't awful or terrible, but compared him to the other actors, he really dose stand out as the weakest out of all of them. He didn't do too bad in the past season but for some reason he stuck out like a sore thumb in this season. He just has the same boring facial expression in every scene he's in and it's very distracting after awhile. It's not until I found out that Steven Van Zandt wasn't an actor before he started the show but a musician (and it really shows). But who knows, he might improve later on in the seasons, as that has happened before and I seriously hope I'm right on that.

    I already brought up the unfortunate death of Nancy Marchand in my last review, as the episode "Funhouse" was her final TV performance. She died before season 3 could even start filming, so Writer David Chase decided there should be one final conversation with Tony before Livia gets killed off. The dialogue from previous episodes was pieced together for Livia's half of the conversation, and state- of-the-art CGI effects were used to place old footage of her face on a body double, but it's some of the worse looking CGI I've ever seen. I know it wasn't easy for them to do, since it took them two weeks to put all together and the fact that Nancy was a very major character in the show, but the visual effect's are so noticeable and quite laughable. The lighting on her face doesn't match the light of the room or the other characters in the room with her. It was pretty awful.

    Overall The Sopranos: Season 3 is a great season with many amazing episodes that makes this show as great as it is. Time for Season 4.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Esta tercera temporada baja el ritmo con respecto a su increible segunda temporada, pero aun asi es un aliciente y episodio tras episodio seEsta tercera temporada baja el ritmo con respecto a su increible segunda temporada, pero aun asi es un aliciente y episodio tras episodio se vuelve cada vez mejor. Full Review »