• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 1999
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 235

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    5
    A ok story with a great actor that doesn't seem to fill the role of a godfather, he looks like the guy that would get slapped around in middle school and have no luck with the ladies but did a fantastic job at his role.

    The story is quite a bore with nothing going on but drama, there is hardly any action and the lead character is nothing but a QQ drama queen, who cares only of himself
    which is the opposite of a family. The show doesn't have any good depth on their business model except show up to a store collect money. They have more conflict with each other than they do with anyone else it's a huge disappointment for a gangster film. Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    10
    Season 1 of many great shows (The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men) always seem to be rated too low for my liking on this website. Probably the best season of the Sopranos, along with Season 3 and Season 6 Part 1
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    (Spoiler Free(Who says is a dangerous business. Danger is one thing Tony Soprano carries in his bag of guilt but as we learn about a troubled, anger driven, animal loving crime fighting mob boss is that respect comes in all different shapes and sizes. Egos hover down New Jersey 24/7. No warnings are given when something wrong is done or failing to produce an envelope to Captains. Tony's unique balance between his occupation and being a father to a son labelled as Tony's son as opposed to Anthony Junior at school and a daughter taking a route through University is not easy however Tony aims to make it right.. David Chase and his writers produce one hell of a anti-hero. Although its controversial pick on the Italian American stereotype lifestyle its also funny at times with classic one-liners but could turn serious within a second. It deserves all the plaudits it gets and emmys. Buy the Box set of this masterpiece and get ready to see the life of a modern day godfather 10/10 Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    American television at its finest, 'The Sopranos' is an excellently written drama about modern Mafia and the colorful Mafioso's that head the organized crime. The chemistry's between Tony Soprano and his therapist, wife, and mother are dynamic and contrasting of each other, it gives James Gandolfini a much difficult time to act out this complexity, but he pulls it off. The violence, sex, and ribaldry is curved around it neatly (if I can say that) to a certain balance. I am so sorry that he had to go, he was an amazing actor. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Easily my favourite drama series of all time. I've yet to find another series that has characters that feel so alive and real. Breaking Bad is good, Sopranos is great ;)
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    The best first season ever to exist on television. The Sopranos is smart, funny, dramatic, compelling, riveting, every episode feels like a well thought out film.

    The Sopranos gets a 9.6/10
  7. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    The best TV series ever! Gritty, suspenseful, hilarious, emotional, important. Great writing and acting topped off with the best collection of characters ever put on a TV screen. Best episodes: The Sopranos, Pine Barrens and Whitecaps.
  8. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    Excellent first season, a plot exquisite, sublime interpretations, perfect script, this series meant a before and after for the television series related to the world of the Mafia
  9. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    I'm sorry that we lost the series.
    The ending was strange for many people, but I think it reflected what it's all about epic. Tony was a sympathetic mobster who is where the luck of where the intelligence thanks to all survivors and all those who turned against him.
  10. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    The closest thing to TV perfection. The late great Gandolfini shines so bright he should have won Oscars instead of Emmy's for his role as the complicated sociopath Tony Soprano. Edie Falco is exceptional as his trophy wife and the supporting cast led by Michael Imperioli can stand on their own. The Sopranos is the standard by which all 21st century TV series are compared. James Gandolfini creates layers of Tony Soprano with acting that cannot be touched, not even by Walter White or Donald Draper. If you truly love The Sopranos, you will understand the genius behind David Chase and it's star (Gandolfini) and realize it's not about the dead bodies but the psyche of it's protagonist anti-hero. The best. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Everything about this show is great, gritty, dark humor, drama, action Acting subtle and spot on,great pacing for story Nice trip down a dark alley and executing a perfect hit
  12. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Every season of the sopranos is getting a 10 from me, along with the wire? you ask me why? because i dont have an 11 button. along with the wire, one of the shows that completely revolutionised television. there are others that can be compared, even favourably, and there are forerunners and worthy successors, but these two shows pretty much dropped the bomb on tv. the sopranos is better than the wire for me, but its an apples and oranges thing. this show is endlessly fascinating, incredibly rich, and effortlessly reflective of america itself. the wire further deconstructed the episodic shackles of television, and the idiot drive to pacify an audience, but the sopranos owned the narrative perspective, and the cynical portrait of the larger world it is set in. we got to know the city of omars baltimore real well from watching the wire. but tonys america is the world we are living in. Expand
  13. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest seasons of a series that I've ever seen... the screenplay is brilliant like the actors....James Gandolfini is the boss.......absolutely
  14. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Arguably the best television drama ever filmed, with Breaking Bad now nipping at its heels. What works is that all the characters in the show are realistic and relatable, especially the show's antihero, Tony Soprano. Despite being a powerful mob boss, he is an everyman. You want to cheer for him, turning a blind eye to his nefarious secret life. The acting is great and the show's writing is sharp and brimming with dark humour and the viewer vacillates between laughter and cringing at the show's uncompromising violence. As stories unfold and characters develop The Sopranos just gets better with each episode. Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This is the best show ever made. It's not just a tv show about mafia filled with clichè, it's a story of real people making real choices, perfect acting, standing ovation screenplay, the show just gets better and better with time. There are some weak fillers episodes but generally Gandolfini is such a real and magnificent character. All his family, and friends and other bosses are just perfect. This is the highest point a tv show ever reached, "Lost" had his chance but some weak seasons and very confusional screenwriting in season 3 and 4 ruined a bit the magic it had. Expand
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Best TV show of all time. Loved this! such good twists. Every season gets better and better as it progresses. Loved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¬!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. May 17, 2012
    10
    The show deserves 11 but metacritic limit at 10. I bet James shows up on the street and people start calling him Tony Soprano. The script, the acting all top notch second to none. A must-watch for all TV zealots.
  18. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    It is rare to watch a show that is written, directed and acted so well that you can't believe it's not real. The Sopranos takes the Italian mafia, a group that have come to be portrayed as almost mythical in classic films, and presents it in a more human and more believable way. James Gandolfini's portrayal of Tony Soprano is an acting masterclass. This show is seriously difficult to fault.
  19. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Bada Bing! Still watch early episodes that kicked off this hit...Everything blends from opening to characters. It may have stereotyped some Italians which mobs were forgotten about decades ago only to remind again.
  20. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best television series of all time. It is second-to-none and does not even contain an average episode in the whole series, let alone a "bad" episode. And yes, this is coming from someone who has seen The Wire (it's No. 2, but it should never be ranked ahead of the Sopranos on any list).
  21. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    I just started watching The Sopranos a few days ago and I gotta say I am very impressed. I dont know what it is about the show but it has that effect that just sucks you in. The storylines are great, The acting is wonderful, Every part of the show is just great. I really enjoyed this season, Cant wait for season 2.
  22. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed the series very much.
  23. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished the last episode after 3 months of watching the whole 6 seasons... What can I say? How is it possible to love a character that kills/ or tries to / or orders the kill (even members from his own family), cheat his wife episode after episode, extort, sells protection, sells drugs, steals and sells the loot and the list goes on? Yet again, I loved him... and the end? Even with the spoiler tag will not go into further details.

    Gorgeous from the start to end... Way to go Tony...
    Expand
  24. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    What else to say except that this is likely the best, most compelling show in the history of television? The acting and the writing are superb. Like a brilliant 60-hour movie.
  25. May 29, 2011
    10
    Truly outstanding, the entire cast were spot on, and with such a cutting edge story it is hard to come by. I feel upset for the people who have yet to watch the godsend which is The Sopranos
  26. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best debut season of any show ever created. The way it slowly shows us the world of Tony Soprano and how it's not really all about being a mobster, but about trying to keep a family together.
  27. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Without any exaggeration the best American Tv show I've ever watched. I'm not a cinema expert but I guess every elements of this show are work of quality. I enjoyed every season of this tv show which tells a story of a world and it's people that I didn't have so much idea.
    What does make a tv show is one of the best? Well, The Sopranos are full of them.
  28. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Only one word can describe this series. Fantastic. A very gripping story that grips you from the begining and doesn't let go. A simply brilliant performance from the cast and fantastic script writing make this one of the best TV shows ever made.
  29. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    One of the finest American television programmes over the past decade, The Sopranos delivers a believable contemporary Mafia setting filled with engaging, realistic characters. James Gandolfini plays the complex Tony Soprano, the anti-hero and primary protagonist of the series. He attempts to balance his mobster career with his family life, to do this he has therapy with the beautiful Dr. Jennifer Melfi, played by Lorraine Bracco. The result is the most iconic and critically acclaimed Mafia television programmes. Expand
  30. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    It's Goodfellas on steroids. James Gandolfini's performance was truly genius. I can't imagine anyone could have done a better job as Tony Soprano.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jul 1, 2013
    80
    While refraining from slapping the comedy on too thick, creator David Chase has made Soprano's inward search surprisingly affecting.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    91
    It has intelligence and feeling and brutality. The Sopranos hits all the notes.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 12, 2013
    100
    The series is full of surprises ... And as Tony, Gandolfini gives a magnificently shrewd, wary performance. If, like me, you thought you never wanted to watch another Mob story, be sure to check this out.