• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 5, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Elisabeth Vincentelli
    Dec 6, 2013
    75
    The "American Idol" winner doesn’t have any theater experience, and she went on to do a lot better in the singing department than in the acting one.... If someone should be banned from singing ever again, it should be Moyer.... Cannily the producers surrounded our rookies with fairly charming kids and a formidable array of Broadway pros.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 6, 2013
    70
    Underwood, in the role of Maria, didn't entirely succeed--acting is part of the bargain, after all. But NBC's live version of Richard Rodgers' and Oscar Hammerstein's beloved musical, staged at Grumman Studios in Bethpage, largely did.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Dec 9, 2013
    50
    Carrie Underwood isn’t an actor and Stephen Moyer isn’t a singer and together they lacked chemistry as Maria and Captain Von Trapp..... The highpoint of the evening was Audra McDonald’s rendition of “Climb Ev’ry Mountain,” and Laura Benanti as the Baroness lit up the screen.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    It wasn’t a singalong or a sacrilege or a slavish, shameless remake. It was a live performance of a legendary musical that felt muted and a little sad.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    An ambitious--yet disappointingly stiff--staging of the original musical.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Bernardin
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    The supporting cast was strong: Laura Benanti was appropriately sultry as Elsa Von Hottie, while Christian Borle was appropriately hammy as Max Detweiler and someone should find a way to have McDonald sing audiences into every commercial break.... And yet, without Underwood and Moyer selling us on this legendary love story, The Sound of Music Live plays like very expensive karaoke.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    [Underwood's] limitations as an actor were particularly obvious when she was sharing scenes with the show's two best assets: Tony winners Audra McDonald as the Mother Abbess and Laura Benanti as the Baroness.
  8. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    When the music stopped, the sound of Underwood was underwhelming: drab, devoid of energy or passion, creating a vapid hole at the center of a charming and diverting production. Her chemistry with a similarly stiff Stephen Moyer, as an awkwardly gaunt Capt. Von Trapp, felt like wilted edelweiss.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 6, 2013
    50
    For the most part [Directors Beth McCarthy-Miller and Rob Ashford] couldn’t make the story sing between the musical numbers, and the tingle one can get from a live theatrical experience didn’t materialize as filtered through the remove of TV.
  10. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 6, 2013
    42
    Neither [Underwood nor Moyer were] helped by the fact that the production stuck to the original Broadway show, which premiered more than half a century ago. It was full of business that might be delightful or even exciting on a stage--nuns gliding about while singing their alleluias, characters racing up and down grand, sweeping staircases--but on a wide-screen television it tended to look like just that, lots and lots of stage business.
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Dec 6, 2013
    40
    As a stage actress, there was no way to regard [Underwood] as anything but an amateur--good enough, certainly, to convey the meaning of her lines, and sometimes better than that, but lacking weight and substance and the shadings she can bring to a song.... Stephen Moyer had the anger and the stiffness the role certainly requires, but not the humor it needs.... It was helpful, if you wanted to help, to regard this as really terrific community theater, rather than something professional and less than successful.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    My close friend showed me the original and I wasn't so enthusiastic but at the end I changed my perspective and thought it was great. Plus I couldn't get the tunes out of my head. This I thought was going to be a train wreck because it was payed by a TV station. But I was wrong. Aside from some funky looking sets and some aspects forgotten from the original, it was definitely a great remake. I loved the songs and thought they did a pretty good job. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    The production was flawless. Carrie Underwood and the cast did an amazing job. She singed with passion, her voice is simply incredible, and she acted good. Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Carrie Underwood gave a strong and passionate vocal performance (10), but the speaking parts and overall acting was lacking (6). I'll settle on an 8 for the overall. The supporting cast was perfect. Full Review »