The Sunset Limited : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 12, 2011
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 10, 2011
    100
    Well, subject matter doesn't get more profound than life and death, but, thanks to McCarthy's writing and the two veteran actors, we're completely drawn into the discussion, so much so that we're taken by surprise as McCarthy careful injects another possible interpretation of the play's set-up.
  2. Reviewed by: Christian Blauvelt
    Feb 10, 2011
    91
    Tommy Lee Jones masterfully directs Cormac McCarthy's ferocious two-man play.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 10, 2011
    91
    Grim, but a chance to see two magnificent actors at the peak of their powers.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 10, 2011
    88
    There are times when the sheer force of Jones' personality undercuts his ability to be convincing as the voice of existential despair. But at the end, when he throws that force behind his final assault, his performance all makes sense. And it makes the final scenes, as Jackson's ebulliently portrayed confidence begins to crack, all the more shattering.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 14, 2011
    80
    HBO's The Sunset Limited--faithfully adapted from Cormac McCarthy's 2006 play and directed by its co-star, Tommy Lee Jones--more than overcomes the challenge of getting a satisfying piece of theater to work on a TV screen.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 10, 2011
    80
    Sunset Limited requires considerable engagement, an assignment made easier by the superb performances of Jackson and Jones. Their verbal sparring may not be a reason to live, but it's sure a good reason to watch this production.
  7. Viewers turned off by the bitterly boisterous, superficial and often one-sided confrontations on the cable news channels might find The Sunset Limited to be refreshing in some ways.
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 14, 2011
    70
    "Thought-provoking" is an overused term in criticism, and one that can camouflage many sins. But here, for better and worse, is the real deal.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 10, 2011
    70
    The exercise isn't entirely successful, but still proves eminently watchable, indeed almost hypnotic--something only HBO, frankly, would likely bring to the screen in such cerebral, uncompromising form.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how this film is always engaging and that is thanks to the strong performances by both Tommy Lee Jones and Samuel L. Jackson.It's amazing how this film is always engaging and that is thanks to the strong performances by both Tommy Lee Jones and Samuel L. Jackson. Regardless of what you believe in this film is a real treat for people on either side of this argument. Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I like this film a lot. It takes place in one apartment the whole movie, but the acting is great, and I got sucked into the movie. I like theI like this film a lot. It takes place in one apartment the whole movie, but the acting is great, and I got sucked into the movie. I like the quotes and arguments thrown around from both parties in the film. I would recommend this film to anyone who can watch a serious film without action. Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    This is definitely and unarguably brilliant act.
    I love both actors, that's exactly why I grabbed it, despite the indifference expressed by
    This is definitely and unarguably brilliant act.
    I love both actors, that's exactly why I grabbed it, despite the indifference expressed by sales assistant when I asked for his opinion. And I was not wrong when just began watching, throughout the whole act I couldn't care less if they ever get of this apartment, it really didn't appear to be of any significance, surprisingly. I listened to every ward, at times rewinding, looking for answers. This is the kind of conversation you get everyday, only this time I thought it would be something new, but alas, the white is unconquerable. The reason I left one star is because of the ending, I really was hoping for an answer, for a miracle, but it turned out no different to any other argument regarding this issue.
    All in all it is interesting to watch, great acting, amazing performance, but in essence nothing new, and a pretty heavy ending.
    Full Review »