• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 10, 2006
  • Season #: 1
The Ten Commandments Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Linus Roache, Mia Maestro, Naveen Andrews
  • Summary: This is a new, made-for-TV, four-hour retelling of the Biblical epic. Don't worry; ABC still plans to show the Charlton Heston original.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. [It] is perilously close to Hollywood hokum, but manages to rise above it by featuring the ever-interesting Dougray Scott in the lead role of Moses.
  2. Holds its own against the 1956 classic.
  3. Despite such bloody activity, it's a long trudge through the desert to the Promised Land.
  4. 50
    The Old Testament just shouldn't be this dull.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    10
    An oddly tedious affair.
  6. 0
    You might think that, considering the technical progress made in the past five decades, at least the special effects in the new version would be good. Oh you would be so wrong.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 17 out of 23
  1. KSmith
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    Hollywood likes glamour. That is what you get in the original "Ten Commandments." There was nothing glamourous about the Exodus. God was Hollywood likes glamour. That is what you get in the original "Ten Commandments." There was nothing glamourous about the Exodus. God was pretty clear and direct with his commands to the Israelites. When they did not obey him there were severe consequences. This prortrayal was much closer to what I saw in my mind as I read my bible. If people were to pull out their bibles and read them, they would find this rendtion much closer to the truth. God is not some warm fuzzy character that some people like to protray, He is an all powerful God and he sees justice done as in the case of the Egyptians. Collapse
  2. HeathM
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Far more interesting than the 1956 version, where Moses ceases to be human after the burning bush incident and turns into a swept back hair Far more interesting than the 1956 version, where Moses ceases to be human after the burning bush incident and turns into a swept back hair cartoonish preacher. This version actually shows the bizarre and brutal nature of the Old Testament. We have women and children murdering wounded enemies on the battlefield and the mass killings after the golden calf as Moses purged those who disagreed with him. Unlike the 1956 version, where the murder of the firstborn of all Egypt is shown as the King of Egypt's own doing, this version lays it all on the feet of the Hebrews god as does the text. Moses fictional Egyptian adopted brother gets to make the statement after his firstborn is murdered by Moses god, that "your god is cruel." Indeed. And this version deserves great kudos for being willing to show the cruelty of the text and oddness of the people, and not turn it into some sort of macabe mixture of 1950's jingoistic American patriotic zealotry married to modern Christian fundamentalism as the 1956 version does. Certainly the acting was not always the best and wooden here and there, but geesh have you seen Heston's Moses? What's curious is how this version continues to follow some of the odd extrabiblical material in De Mille's version, such as the murder of the Hebrew children being done because of some odd Egyptian prophecy, and one wonders what the makers where thinking by including this. However, many questions come up from this version which are critical to our era to answer, such as were Moses conversations with his god nothing more than internal projections, and what is the place of people who claim to have heard the voice of their god in the modern world? Sept 11 was wrought by those who claimed to have contact and knowledge of their gods will, and this movie, in the final mass murder where even children are killed, showed where that viewpoint leads us. Overall this is thoughtful TV. Expand
  3. sandra
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    i thought it was great
  4. AliP
    Apr 11, 2006
    1
    I turned it off after the first 1/2 hour. Not only was it inaccurate (moses never met his parents and was not called "mosses" until his trek I turned it off after the first 1/2 hour. Not only was it inaccurate (moses never met his parents and was not called "mosses" until his trek to the desert), but the acting was horrid. Expand
  5. DarylD
    Apr 11, 2006
    0
    Although it does a wonderful historical rendering of ancient Egypt, the biblical accuracy is terrible. One point: Moses kills the Egyptian Although it does a wonderful historical rendering of ancient Egypt, the biblical accuracy is terrible. One point: Moses kills the Egyptian slavemaster in front of the Hebrew husband and wife and than his Egyptian brother warns him later that the body has been discovered and is urged to flee. The bible clearly states, that he looked to make sure that "no man was around before he murdered the slave master". He later finds out that his crime has been discovered when the two quarreling Hebrew slaves accuse him of his crime. Expand
  6. howardg
    Apr 12, 2006
    0
    horrible--why does 50 year old film look so much better--was Mosses really a wimp??
  7. LWin
    Apr 17, 2006
    0
    Brown brown brown, and depressing! Why no color? These nations had some of the most beautiful creations. It reminded me of how Russia used to Brown brown brown, and depressing! Why no color? These nations had some of the most beautiful creations. It reminded me of how Russia used to be portrayed growing up-dull and grey- and as a kid I thought that was how it was. Forget Moses-that attitude does not seem to be the 'meekest man' in the bible. Oh he was irritating. I stopped watching midway through because I couldn't take him anymore. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews