• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    The Tomorrow People, which is a remake of a 1970s British show, is completely bogged down with rushed exposition, stale acting, and pointless action scenes that leave not much to look forward to.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    The CW’s newest wallow in adolescent angst.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    This subculture specializes in the "three T's": teleportation, telepathy, telekinesis. They forgot "tired," "tepid" and "too too derivative," which much better describes the experience of meeting these lost kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    Very disappointed. I was so excited to see a new Sci Fi series. It was painful to watch. The acting was sub par. The story had potential but the characters were just boring. Complete waste of time. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The beginning part may seem predictable as well as "familiar" in any Teen Drama, but the transition from that genre begins the moment we move from the familiar "Daddy problem" plot to the next part where the show achieves a change in the main character. While the maturity from "punk" to "benevolent person" may seem to be unbelievable, but after being given enough evidence to support either or sides, I can believe the main character's choice after some big reveals and ending sequence. I am glad it doesn't have Teen angst, but I would like to see more development. People don't like having new things shoved down their throat in the span of ten minutes after revealing one thing. Robbie Amell does have the family talent, in my eyes, and I can hope that the character he is portraying will continue to shine under his care. Also, I would like to know a little more about the Tomorrow People before I can care to make the connection between the title to these guys who are apparently "the good guys" in the story. But, it is possible that under their desire to be free of persecution by the people who hunt them could be less than friendly towards the other species and that would probably be a huge conflict within the show. There is plenty of evidence to support that idea. Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    All of the negative reviews read like they were written by children, I enjoy the characters and support Mark Pellegrino as a prominent television actor and unlike those that simply read the title or perhaps watch the pilot and then claim insight into the quality of the series I respect any shows development phase and understand that one cannot justly review a series until it has at least two seasons under it's belt and has been renewed for a third because up until then it isn't a series, it's still forming it's characters and story. The first season is shaping up quite nicely if you had actually checked it out. Full Review »