The Tomorrow People : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
The Tomorrow People Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in aA remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in a battle between good and evil forces. Robbie Amell, Peyton List, and Mark Pellegrino are among the stars, while Greg Berlanti (Arrow) and Phil Klemmer (Chuck) produce. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Silly as the set-up may seem, it works because of competent writing and convincing performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    It’s an episode of television that exists at the intersection of Marvel’s superpowers-as-puberty metaphors and the half-baked cultural upheaval of True Blood—with a Whedon-esque anti-authoritarian streak thrown in for good measure. The show could devolve into a grab bag of familiar themes and tropes down the line, but its pilot does a remarkable job of synthesizing a cohesive introduction out of those disparate parts.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Although predictable in predictable ways, there are enough twists and turns and, relatively speaking, complexities of character to keep things interesting, and a pivot at the end that I did not see coming. Which bodes well.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 11 out of 47
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    As a child, I watched the original show and loved it. I know now that it was campy, but the ideas and the characters always stuck with me.As a child, I watched the original show and loved it. I know now that it was campy, but the ideas and the characters always stuck with me. This evolution of the Tomorrow People has kept the best of the original British series and brought it into the 21st century.

    I'm excited to see how this Jedikiah story is resolved. Will he be the ongoing villain or will he be resolved in 8 episodes like the original alien Jedikiah? I like the idea of a 'double agent' for the good guys, and the suggestion that Stephen may not have chosen his side just yet is intriguing. I hope his dad's not dead, but I doubt we'll see him any time this season, since that would change the dynamic of the group.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    the show may seem boring and pretty predictable. but its not. it is really interesting. the cast delivers just the right amount of acting forthe show may seem boring and pretty predictable. but its not. it is really interesting. the cast delivers just the right amount of acting for their roles. not boring and certainly unpredictable. truly awesome. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    I am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that isI am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that is aired, and i always look forward to the next week, just to watch the next episode. This series is by far the best series i have come across, as it has drama and sci-fi, consisting of twists and turns. The story as well the characters is amazing, and the actors who play the roles are great at acting their part. I hope that the series is continued with the same characters. I Love This Show and Look forward for it to be continued! Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    We actually think we know what will happen to the show. We think we know who will do things. But as a The CW series, I believe that TheWe actually think we know what will happen to the show. We think we know who will do things. But as a The CW series, I believe that The Tomorrow People, though I agree that the title is absurd, is a series to watch out for. I am convinced after the pilot episode that I should keep an eye to it for next episodes. One word: BELIEVABLE. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2014
    6
    One moral of deciding to remake a television series is undeniably: Never....ever...insult the intelligences of your audience. If there is oneOne moral of deciding to remake a television series is undeniably: Never....ever...insult the intelligences of your audience. If there is one theme that can be extracted from The Tomorrow People (version 2.0), it is the incessant need for the scriptwriters to assume you have been licking lead toys for no less than a decade.

    The overall plot of the season 1 story has its appeal. And it has a generally good cast to execute each role. Still, the script itself - not too mention the far too obvious advertising shots for Microsoft - beats the viewer down with repetitive yet watery jargon that unendingly differentiates the magically gifted Homo superior (The Tomorrow People) from Homo sapiens (wherever you might live). And this language is overly abundant in every single episode.

    The over and inconsistent use of "our species", "paranormal", and even the series' namesake "The Tomorrow People" in the script might lead one to believe that the writers truly don't believe the viewer can understand that these gifted young acolytes of the Nintendo are somehow different from their non-gifted counterparts.

    Add to this any number of scenes in which actors are glued to the exact same computer screen with the non-informative whirling DNA model, whether they are in the subway laboratory or in the Ultra stronghold and you get the feeling that the characters are merely play acting.

    There are points in the season where the show displays its strengths in developing the characters constitutionally, emotionally, and hey - they even develop some cool superman punches. Moreover, a couple of the characters show solid traits of ambiguity, of their own ambivalence to their goals and means to achieve them. Mark Pellegrino is the perfect example of a character convincing enough to be believable and connect-worthy by the viewer. Of all of the cast, his execution is the most complex. And perhaps Aaron Yoo's portrayal of Russell may be viewed as the most human.

    Other times the characters lose credibility due to the writers' need to have a main character shirtless - alot - even at awkward points (i.e. Boy fights to reach mysterious death machine. Boy gets in mysterious death machine to save world. Oh wait, for the machine to work the boy has to - yep you guessed it - take his shirt off. We aren't quite sure how important this is for the machine to work, or the plot for that matter. But the flesh score quota has at least been met for the episode. )

    Convincing an audience that the characters are real and the plot and setting are legitimate, however fantastic, is no easy feat. But treating the audience like sex-appeal crazed Neanderthals (whatever that means) who are assumed to have no way of understanding a concept unless you wield a bludgeon and spell it out, is a good recipe for an unsustainable series.

    This series had promise and was a good idea, but its execution became completely lost in the hype of pop-culture and commercial sponsorship. Perhaps a South Park parody on the series (and of the CW 'esque spin on storylines) might find better success.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is a bad version of mutant X or some marvel comics.The idea is great and some of the actors are ok.The story is intruiging after the first boring EPs.The problem is this teenstuff.Of course Stephen is a teen, got to admit.But they tried to show no blood, no hard action.Its all....soft.They cant kill, bad decision.The final EP is a good example for that.When the writers do EVERYTHING that no one dies.Even the shot that killed Cara is rewinded with Stephend power.WTF?This was so lame and random.The mainproblem for me with this is that the writers NEVER EVER know what aproach they want to try.Stpehens character is a great example.There is no developement for him.For example he accepts it after one EP that he "is not human".Why?No explanation.And thats the case for many many many things in the show.This show needed a much darker aproach with less stupid fighting, more morale decicions, less lovestory, more death and some character developement.Sorry guys, show got canceld for many very good reasons. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2014
    0
    I am a big sci-fi fan and i love anything remotely related to super powers, but even i cannot stand this horribly written show whose aim seemsI am a big sci-fi fan and i love anything remotely related to super powers, but even i cannot stand this horribly written show whose aim seems to be only to hire super models and show off their flesh! What would you do if you had the power to teleport anywhere, move anything with your mind, telepathy and the power to stop time? - The answer is to fight with your fists!!! As weird as it may seem, that is the logic the writers use in this very badly written show! Even in many situations were they can use their powers, they are stupid enough to not to use them. Even if they do, they use it in the most unimaginative way possible to teleport sideways and use their fists again! If their aim is to just run for their lives, wouldn't it be a better option to just teleport far off from where the fight is going on? That is something for think about when you watch this most illogically written show for dumb people. I feel bad for wasting hours watching this show, it is no wonder they cancelled it! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews