• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Tomorrow People Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in a battle between good and evil forces. Robbie Amell, Peyton List, and Mark Pellegrino are among the stars, while Greg Berlanti (Arrow) and Phil Klemmer (Chuck) produce. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Silly as the set-up may seem, it works because of competent writing and convincing performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    It’s an episode of television that exists at the intersection of Marvel’s superpowers-as-puberty metaphors and the half-baked cultural upheaval of True Blood—with a Whedon-esque anti-authoritarian streak thrown in for good measure. The show could devolve into a grab bag of familiar themes and tropes down the line, but its pilot does a remarkable job of synthesizing a cohesive introduction out of those disparate parts.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Although predictable in predictable ways, there are enough twists and turns and, relatively speaking, complexities of character to keep things interesting, and a pivot at the end that I did not see coming. Which bodes well.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    I really like this reboot, as I've been waiting many years to see this show come back since I was a kid. There's enough twists and turns to keep me interested, although a few logic errors and inconsistencies that throw me out of the story at times. However, for entertainment value, I enjoy it.

    The storyline and character development have gotten better over the span of the episodes, so I do hope that the writers continue their creativity and depth with the characters. Emotional tensions keep the momentum going. I want more ambiguity of character from Jedekiah, and even Steven's mom, who has been slow in coming. But I think it's on the right track as long as they remember that they are playing to an intelligent audience.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This show is great i cant wait to get home and watch it each and every Wednesday. This is one of my families favorite shows. The charters in the Tomorrow people are all excellent actors. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    the show may seem boring and pretty predictable. but its not. it is really interesting. the cast delivers just the right amount of acting for their roles. not boring and certainly unpredictable. truly awesome. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    All of the negative reviews read like they were written by children, I enjoy the characters and support Mark Pellegrino as a prominent television actor and unlike those that simply read the title or perhaps watch the pilot and then claim insight into the quality of the series I respect any shows development phase and understand that one cannot justly review a series until it has at least two seasons under it's belt and has been renewed for a third because up until then it isn't a series, it's still forming it's characters and story. The first season is shaping up quite nicely if you had actually checked it out. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    This show is not as horrible as viewers are making it out to be. From what I've seen it is pretty cool. The majority of episodes are action packed and keeps me on the edge of my seat. There have been a few episode where I think what were the writers thinking, I find Steven the main character annoying, but besides that I hope the show continues and the tomorrow people step up and stop hiding underground and use their powers for good! Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is a bad version of mutant X or some marvel comics.The idea is great and some of the actors are ok.The story is intruiging after the first boring EPs.The problem is this teenstuff.Of course Stephen is a teen, got to admit.But they tried to show no blood, no hard action.Its all....soft.They cant kill, bad decision.The final EP is a good example for that.When the writers do EVERYTHING that no one dies.Even the shot that killed Cara is rewinded with Stephend power.WTF?This was so lame and random.The mainproblem for me with this is that the writers NEVER EVER know what aproach they want to try.Stpehens character is a great example.There is no developement for him.For example he accepts it after one EP that he "is not human".Why?No explanation.And thats the case for many many many things in the show.This show needed a much darker aproach with less stupid fighting, more morale decicions, less lovestory, more death and some character developement.Sorry guys, show got canceld for many very good reasons. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This show is so bad, it is like a bad version of Alphas and Jumper. Too cliche, bad writing, bad acting. Makes me sad because I liked the original Tomorrow People it had substance this doesn't Collapse

See all 42 User Reviews