• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Tomorrow People Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in a battle between good and evil forces. Robbie Amell, Peyton List, and Mark Pellegrino are among the stars, while Greg Berlanti (Arrow) and Phil Klemmer (Chuck) produce. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Silly as the set-up may seem, it works because of competent writing and convincing performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    It’s an episode of television that exists at the intersection of Marvel’s superpowers-as-puberty metaphors and the half-baked cultural upheaval of True Blood—with a Whedon-esque anti-authoritarian streak thrown in for good measure. The show could devolve into a grab bag of familiar themes and tropes down the line, but its pilot does a remarkable job of synthesizing a cohesive introduction out of those disparate parts.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Although predictable in predictable ways, there are enough twists and turns and, relatively speaking, complexities of character to keep things interesting, and a pivot at the end that I did not see coming. Which bodes well.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    I love this show. The actors have great performances almost every night. And while the storyline can sometimes be somewhat predictable, the show is very enticing for people to watch. I am not really a fan of sci-fi shows, but I am very pleased with the show. I have been with the show since the beginning and when I have been disappointed, I always rturned the next week to see if the show got better. So far, it has! Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Love this show. Characters and scripts are witty and sharp. Remake or not our family love the twists & turns of the story and the realism - eg people getting genuinely pissed off with each other, not rom-com annoyed - as far as you can be real with superpowers.. I've read the reviews of people who don't like the show and believe they are missing not only the point but also a good time. This is a fun show to watch. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    I am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that is aired, and i always look forward to the next week, just to watch the next episode. This series is by far the best series i have come across, as it has drama and sci-fi, consisting of twists and turns. The story as well the characters is amazing, and the actors who play the roles are great at acting their part. I hope that the series is continued with the same characters. I Love This Show and Look forward for it to be continued! Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Absolutely brilliant performances from the main four characters. A good show with a good mix of adventure, suspense, romance and mystery.
    Something not seen in insanely and surprisingly popular shows like PLL
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    I don't understand the reviews for this show, it just proves that critics are usually the worst reviewers available. First they consider their opinions to be the only ones that matter so they give creative material absolutely NO wiggle room for interpretation.

    This show is CW, so everyone is attractive and usually the acting is not the focus of the show. In fact, neither is the storyline on CW shows. That said, the acting isn't terrible, and the storyline looks like it may have legs. Great acting by the uncle/villian, decent acting by the main cast of heroes. Ignore all the people complaining about remakes and originality. That actually doesn't matter a whole lot in the end game, what matters is how the show is pulled off and should be measured and rated by it's own merits.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this, and hope for a fun and rewarding season to come.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    You call this a remake? How come those idiots at The CW making a reboot of one of my favorite British TV shows of the 1970s? I remember when The Tomorrow People aired on Nickelodeon in the early '90s (although it's not a remake of the TV version). But in 2013, I think this reboot of a whole needs to be canceled for good. Just like Knight Rider, Bionic Woman, and Charlie's Angels, no one wants to see classic TV shows turned into reboots. I think I'll see Arrow and Nikita instead. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This show is so bad, it is like a bad version of Alphas and Jumper. Too cliche, bad writing, bad acting. Makes me sad because I liked the original Tomorrow People it had substance this doesn't Collapse

See all 43 User Reviews