The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 1, 2009
The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 80
    It was vintage Conan stuff, proof that his absurdist sense of humor won't change much on the West Coast. And yet last night also contained some grand nods to O'Brien's fancy new home.
  2. 75
    Though he seemed a little nervous and the humor seemed a bit broader, generally speaking, than it was on "Late Night," Conan on The Tonight Show worked just fine.
  3. 75
    Admit it. Seeing O'Brien under direct sunlight in various bits was a jolt. But he looked giddily at home on the Tonight Show stage.
  4. O'Brien's debut was pretty much what one would expect from these kind of pre-hyped events. It was both funny and forced and the expectations of - what, exactly?--never seemed to materialize, even though Will Ferrell as the sole guest tried to drum something up and Pearl Jam, as the musical guest, at least kick-started an aural ruckus.
  5. After one show, let's say he's a work in progress.
  6. Conan was simultaneously reassuring his fans that he wasn't going to change too much in the new gig, and telling the traditional Tonight audience what they might expect from the new landlord. This was the smart, and really only, play Conan could make on night one of such a high-profile job. I just wish the execution had been a little better.
  7. 50
    Conan O'Brien's first Tonight Show was a good one--if you like canned video clips rather than topical humor. Otherwise, there wasn't much to get excited about.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. TimB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    So much more funny than Leno ever was.
  2. AlexanderV
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Conan moves over the edge and does not take itself so seriously as Leno did. I really love this change.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Conan O'Brien is such a funny guy and I love his show, especially his "Clueless Gamer" segments. He has great conversations with guests on theConan O'Brien is such a funny guy and I love his show, especially his "Clueless Gamer" segments. He has great conversations with guests on the show, one of my favorite being the guys from "Duck Dynasty". I also love his travel segments where he will travel to different locales (E3, Guiness beer factory etc.) and reports on the spot. I will continue to watch this show for a long time Expand
  4. Darnell
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    Conan is King. Sorry Dave. Still love you, but unless CoCo's in reruns, I'll be watching him. The show started off a little too Conan is King. Sorry Dave. Still love you, but unless CoCo's in reruns, I'll be watching him. The show started off a little too grand, but I'm sure it will settle into a comfort zone pretty quickly. Unless LA simply turns vibrant creativity flat, as some people contend. Being on the Universal lot, they will have plenty of Hollywood magic at their disposal. Expand
  5. TinyTim
    Jul 6, 2009
    6
    Honesty, he's not terrible as some people on here would have you believe. When Leno started the same people who praise him now were Honesty, he's not terrible as some people on here would have you believe. When Leno started the same people who praise him now were almost certainly saying, "Not as good as Carson." Give him a chance and some time, and most importantly watch with an open mind. Expand
  6. GwennethS
    Jun 6, 2009
    4
    O'Brien may have moved to La-La Land but he's still a preferred taste...like pickled pig's feet, or poached tripe...and I have O'Brien may have moved to La-La Land but he's still a preferred taste...like pickled pig's feet, or poached tripe...and I have no appetitie for either !! I did give him a chance...but he blew it. Still an un-funny dork, who tries too hard. Sure has big shoes to fill...and it isn't going to happen. Sorry Old Boy, but you are out of your league. Maybe he should take lessons from David Letterman...Funny, comfortable in his skin, with inimitable class... All three always missing in Conan O'Brien from the start of his hosting career. But I will give him an E for effort. Expand
  7. Gary
    Jun 2, 2009
    0
    If you thought that the debut of the Tonight Show was even remotely funny, you had better cash your sense of humor in for another one.

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Live Show Review: Conan O'Brien's "Legally Prohibited..." Tour

    Live Show Review: Conan O'Brien's
    Published: April 14, 2010
    The former "Tonight Show" host kicked off his 32-date live tour earlier this week in Oregon. What are critics saying about the show?
  2. Lenogate: A Conan and Jay Timeline

    Lenogate: A Conan and Jay Timeline Image
    Published: January 15, 2010
    Having trouble keeping track of the latest Jay Leno-Conan O'Brien developments? Check out our handy timeline of key events, including a few from the future.