The Tudors : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Tudors Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This Showtime original series is set in England during the reign of perhaps its most infamous ruler, King Henry VIII (played here by Jonathan Rhys Meyers).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. 100
    Showtime's glorious, gorgeous "The Tudors" is the best series since "The Sopranos." Period.
  2. The series, a feast for the eyes, boasts stellar performances and a historically authentic aura but only occasional flashes of the kind of action and suspense you might expect from such a period piece.
  3. 75
    Despite some passing references to Henry's fondness for "humanism" and new, middle-class men, no one is likely to mistake The Tudors for a treatise on the socioeconomic pressures that reshaped England during Henry's reign. Still, the show does a fine job of showing the interplay of passions and politics that shaped so many of his decisions.
  4. Even though "The Tudors" adds another jewel to the crown Showtime has been forging of late, this particular jewel isn't all that dazzling.
  5. Enjoyable but not exhilarating, engaging but not hypnotic.
  6. 50
    Still, for all its ferocious ambition to be more than just another heavily corseted, respectful historical drama, "The Tudors" falls flat in more than one arena.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    One hesitates to say that [Rhys Meyers] phones his performance in. It's more like he dictates it to an assistant who then submits it via fax. You too might lack an appropriate sense of conviction if delivered this script.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 49
  2. Negative: 5 out of 49
  1. BILLYEP.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    I love this show...the King needs a spicy wife as the queen is too dull and boring!
  2. bobbiepl
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I have read every book I could get my hands on abt The Tudors - This series is basically accurate to what respectible historians have written I have read every book I could get my hands on abt The Tudors - This series is basically accurate to what respectible historians have written - I am in my 70's and totally in love w/JRM-so bad he's good! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    It is like ... or actually my conviction is: Michael Hirst is trying to celebrate every cultures' 'greatness' ...
    And now he is expression my
    It is like ... or actually my conviction is: Michael Hirst is trying to celebrate every cultures' 'greatness' ...
    And now he is expression my cultures' greatness, legends, mythes and much, much more!

    For me! Michael Hirst, and the actors, and the Co. behind ... proving top class "new morden" art!

    Deepest respect, if my conviction is true!

    (review's source: "Vikings", then "The Borgias")
    Expand
  4. GraziaB
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Absolutely riveting and full of surprises--funny and sad. Why not put life in Henry? I just cant' wait for the next one. Gorgeous Absolutely riveting and full of surprises--funny and sad. Why not put life in Henry? I just cant' wait for the next one. Gorgeous costumes and people! The stuff of dreams! Expand
  5. GabrielaL
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Great costumes, and setting; fantastic cast; but one can not ignore the enormous historical inaccuracy and Rhys-Meyers limited interpretation skills.
  6. HélèneF
    Dec 16, 2007
    6
    The rating is mostly for the magnificent costumes and th e sets The show is slow & more like a soap opera with thin beauties pushing up their The rating is mostly for the magnificent costumes and th e sets The show is slow & more like a soap opera with thin beauties pushing up their boobs. Obviously made to appeal to the masses leaving out all the best history has to offer us. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible. Barely covers anything historical, and even that is dumbed down so much that it becomes completely boring. Just an excuse to watch JRM having sex. Oh, spoiler alert, I doubt Henry VIII bothered with positions or doing anything for the girl. just sayin. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.