• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Tudors Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Callum Blue, James Frain, Sam Neill
  • Summary: This Showtime original series is set in England during the reign of perhaps its most infamous ruler, King Henry VIII (played here by Jonathan Rhys Meyers).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
  • Creator: Michael Hirst
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 1, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. 100
    Showtime's glorious, gorgeous "The Tudors" is the best series since "The Sopranos." Period.
  2. The series, a feast for the eyes, boasts stellar performances and a historically authentic aura but only occasional flashes of the kind of action and suspense you might expect from such a period piece.
  3. 75
    The show is a lusty soap opera that aspires to the pulsating, cutting-edge glamour of Cate Blanchett's Elizabeth. It's a little ham-fisted for that. [2 Apr 2007, p.37]
  4. Even though "The Tudors" adds another jewel to the crown Showtime has been forging of late, this particular jewel isn't all that dazzling.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    "The Tudors" is not the great series that it might have been, but it's certainly a watchable and diverting one.
  6. 50
    Still, for all its ferocious ambition to be more than just another heavily corseted, respectful historical drama, "The Tudors" falls flat in more than one arena.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    One hesitates to say that [Rhys Meyers] phones his performance in. It's more like he dictates it to an assistant who then submits it via fax. You too might lack an appropriate sense of conviction if delivered this script.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48
  1. BILLYEP.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    I love this show...the King needs a spicy wife as the queen is too dull and boring!
  2. bobbiepl
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I have read every book I could get my hands on abt The Tudors - This series is basically accurate to what respectible historians have written - I am in my 70's and totally in love w/JRM-so bad he's good! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    It is like ... or actually my conviction is: Michael Hirst is trying to celebrate every cultures' 'greatness' ...
    And now he is expression my
    cultures' greatness, legends, mythes and much, much more!

    For me! Michael Hirst, and the actors, and the Co. behind ... proving top class "new morden" art!

    Deepest respect, if my conviction is true!

    (review's source: "Vikings", then "The Borgias")
    Expand
  4. GraziaB
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Absolutely riveting and full of surprises--funny and sad. Why not put life in Henry? I just cant' wait for the next one. Gorgeous costumes and people! The stuff of dreams! Expand
  5. WIlliamD
    Jan 23, 2008
    7
    The first season seemed so protracted. In the end, Hanry still did not get his final answer nor his reaction to it. It was more of a study of Wolsey and maybe Catherine than Henry. The actor who played Henry was terribly miscast in an otherwise brilliant emsemble of actors making their roles believable. Wonderful re-creation for the eyes, however, of that time period wiht a little poetic license. Expand
  6. Natalieo
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    Nothing saves the fact that they get so much wrong historically
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible. Barely covers anything historical, and even that is dumbed down so much that it becomes completely boring. Just an excuse to watch JRM having sex. Oh, spoiler alert, I doubt Henry VIII bothered with positions or doing anything for the girl. just sayin. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.