• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Tudors Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Callum Blue, James Frain, Sam Neill
  • Summary: This Showtime original series is set in England during the reign of perhaps its most infamous ruler, King Henry VIII (played here by Jonathan Rhys Meyers).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
  • Creator: Michael Hirst
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 1, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. 100
    Showtime's glorious, gorgeous "The Tudors" is the best series since "The Sopranos." Period.
  2. The series, a feast for the eyes, boasts stellar performances and a historically authentic aura but only occasional flashes of the kind of action and suspense you might expect from such a period piece.
  3. 75
    The show is a lusty soap opera that aspires to the pulsating, cutting-edge glamour of Cate Blanchett's Elizabeth. It's a little ham-fisted for that. [2 Apr 2007, p.37]
  4. Even though "The Tudors" adds another jewel to the crown Showtime has been forging of late, this particular jewel isn't all that dazzling.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    "The Tudors" is not the great series that it might have been, but it's certainly a watchable and diverting one.
  6. 50
    Still, for all its ferocious ambition to be more than just another heavily corseted, respectful historical drama, "The Tudors" falls flat in more than one arena.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    One hesitates to say that [Rhys Meyers] phones his performance in. It's more like he dictates it to an assistant who then submits it via fax. You too might lack an appropriate sense of conviction if delivered this script.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 5 out of 47
  1. AlexandraB.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Jonathan Rhys Meyers is totally hot. But beside that, the show is beautifully acted, staged, art directed and costumed. Cannot get enough of this type of show. Expand
  2. donnab
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    I love this show!!! I hope the 4th season isn't the last. Surely Henry VIII (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) must eventually die, but, keep the series going...move onto the rest of the family. Don't know if they would be as captivating as Jonathan Rhys Meyers or Hnery Cavill, but I'm willing to give it a shot! Love this show! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    It is like ... or actually my conviction is: Michael Hirst is trying to celebrate every cultures' 'greatness' ...
    And now he is expression my
    cultures' greatness, legends, mythes and much, much more!

    For me! Michael Hirst, and the actors, and the Co. behind ... proving top class "new morden" art!

    Deepest respect, if my conviction is true!

    (review's source: "Vikings", then "The Borgias")
    Expand
  4. AlyA.
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    I loved this show. The only problem was I don't have the network its on and therefore have not seen all of the episode, but I am trying to continue to see the rest of the season. Expand
  5. GabrielaL
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Great costumes, and setting; fantastic cast; but one can not ignore the enormous historical inaccuracy and Rhys-Meyers limited interpretation skills.
  6. JanB.
    May 22, 2007
    7
    Henry was miscasted. The man who played Buckingham (executed) should have played Henry. Guess he was not famous enough - but would have been a better Henry. Brandon is devine. The rest of the cast is wonderful. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible. Barely covers anything historical, and even that is dumbed down so much that it becomes completely boring. Just an excuse to watch JRM having sex. Oh, spoiler alert, I doubt Henry VIII bothered with positions or doing anything for the girl. just sayin. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.