• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 7, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Unit Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Robert Patrick, Scott Foley, Dennis Haysbert
  • Summary: Playwright David Mamet's first real stab at network television follows an elite Special Forces unit (led by 24's Dennis Haysbert) on covert missions around the globe, while also focusing on the wives left behind.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: David Mamet
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Mar 7, 2006
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. This could all get old really fast, but Taylor's steely performance keeps the home front interesting, while the globe-trotting soldiers bring home the reality of how many troubled spots this small planet still has.
  2. "The Unit" is filled with thrilling action and heart-pounding adventure.
  3. 75
    "The Unit"... is predictably Mametian only in that it's interesting, tightly written and finely shot.
  4. 70
    Mamet offers a kind of thinking person's war movie for a nation that is, indeed, at war.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    60
    Some of Mamet's dialogue is certifiably awful and some certifiably brilliant, and the dichotomy is breathtaking.
  6. "The Unit" becomes distinctive only when the action shifts back to the wives left behind on the base.
  7. 20
    What you get is a show constricted by radical artistic compromises that it refuses to acknowledge having made. The result is an expulsion of Mamet's distinctive vision into the margins of the series, in which it wanders around like a director who's been fired from a movie yet will not leave the set.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    The Unit maybe one of the best tv shows I have ever seen. I loved the look, the style and everything. It was perfect. Such a shame that it was discontinued just to produce one more useless NCIS spin-off.
    Kick all NCIS stuff out of your program except ne original one that was really good and go back producing The Unit. Dennis Haysbert was awesome btw.
    Expand
  2. JoF
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    A fantastic show...always original and always interesting. Military drama at its finest, and a great twist with the homefront. The second season is even better than the first. Bravo. Expand
  3. ChristopherF.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Better with each episode...a good education for the all too common and naive citizen who chooses to believe this world doesn't or needn't exist. As the father of one of these soldiers, some of the over-dramatization is evident. However, it is 80% on the money and overdue as a genre. What Hollywood is afraid to produce, TV has provided--yet another indication that TV is the hot medium right now that has attracted the more daring artists and writers. Expand
  4. TonyR
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    well done. I don't need a Private Ryan level of intensity for a weekly show but I like the step up from the often too pristine environment present in a JAG episode. the key for me will be if they can stay on track with the challenges of the job they and their families bear in the course of what they have chosen to do. An episode or two that tries to get politcal will lose me fast. this should remain a story about poeple who have decided to be the point of the spear and less about who is weilding the spear. Expand
  5. JennG
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    My husband and I love the show. It is a throw back to the good old days. Think The A-Team meets McGuyver. Good job all around.
  6. JustinW
    Apr 8, 2006
    7
    A good show with a good concept. The plot is sometimes either predictable or boring some of the actors on Haysburt's team aren't very good. Nonetheless, "The Unit" is one of the my favorite shows. Expand
  7. MikeP
    Mar 7, 2006
    0
    Absolutely pathetic. The plot is terrible, the acting is beyond cheesy, the characters lack originality...Admittedly, I couldn't stop watching because this was so bad!! Expand

See all 60 User Reviews