The Unit : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 7, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Unit Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Playwright David Mamet's first real stab at network television follows an elite Special Forces unit (led by 24's Dennis Haysbert) on covert missions around the globe, while also focusing on the wives left behind.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. This could all get old really fast, but Taylor's steely performance keeps the home front interesting, while the globe-trotting soldiers bring home the reality of how many troubled spots this small planet still has.
  2. "The Unit" is filled with thrilling action and heart-pounding adventure.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    75
    This being Mamet, there's lots of folksy jargon. [10 Mar 2006, p.56]
  4. 70
    Mamet offers a kind of thinking person's war movie for a nation that is, indeed, at war.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    60
    Some of Mamet's dialogue is certifiably awful and some certifiably brilliant, and the dichotomy is breathtaking.
  6. A not-awful but not-great drama.
  7. 20
    What you get is a show constricted by radical artistic compromises that it refuses to acknowledge having made. The result is an expulsion of Mamet's distinctive vision into the margins of the series, in which it wanders around like a director who's been fired from a movie yet will not leave the set.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 62
  2. Negative: 11 out of 62
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    The Unit maybe one of the best tv shows I have ever seen. I loved the look, the style and everything. It was perfect. Such a shame that it wasThe Unit maybe one of the best tv shows I have ever seen. I loved the look, the style and everything. It was perfect. Such a shame that it was discontinued just to produce one more useless NCIS spin-off.
    Kick all NCIS stuff out of your program except ne original one that was really good and go back producing The Unit. Dennis Haysbert was awesome btw.
    Expand
  2. JoF
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    A fantastic show...always original and always interesting. Military drama at its finest, and a great twist with the homefront. The second A fantastic show...always original and always interesting. Military drama at its finest, and a great twist with the homefront. The second season is even better than the first. Bravo. Expand
  3. ChristopherF.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Better with each episode...a good education for the all too common and naive citizen who chooses to believe this world doesn't or Better with each episode...a good education for the all too common and naive citizen who chooses to believe this world doesn't or needn't exist. As the father of one of these soldiers, some of the over-dramatization is evident. However, it is 80% on the money and overdue as a genre. What Hollywood is afraid to produce, TV has provided--yet another indication that TV is the hot medium right now that has attracted the more daring artists and writers. Expand
  4. DiannaE
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Tremendous impact with the pilot. Like the actors and the characters. Love the way the men are "good" men who are utterly dangerous. Some Tremendous impact with the pilot. Like the actors and the characters. Love the way the men are "good" men who are utterly dangerous. Some missteps here and there but I'lm looking forward to the way the show grows. Expand
  5. ClintN
    Aug 3, 2006
    9
    I give it a 9 only because of some "cheesyness" in both the Unit members in the field and the wives at home. Hope the show stays on for a I give it a 9 only because of some "cheesyness" in both the Unit members in the field and the wives at home. Hope the show stays on for a long time to come. I read Erik Haney's book and loved it! Again this show is great! "Have a good 'un". Expand
  6. DrewF
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    Solid debut ep. The wives-bit was a little overdone, but i liked the military portion and the action. I'll tune in for the next couple Solid debut ep. The wives-bit was a little overdone, but i liked the military portion and the action. I'll tune in for the next couple episodes to see how things go. Expand
  7. MikeP
    Mar 7, 2006
    0
    Absolutely pathetic. The plot is terrible, the acting is beyond cheesy, the characters lack originality...Admittedly, I couldn't stop Absolutely pathetic. The plot is terrible, the acting is beyond cheesy, the characters lack originality...Admittedly, I couldn't stop watching because this was so bad!! Expand

See all 62 User Reviews