The Vampire Diaries : Season 4

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
The Vampire Diaries Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The aftermath of the season three finale changes Elena as well as her relationships with Stefan and Damon.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 10, 2012
    83
    Fans will be happy--maybe.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 11, 2012
    80
    The first two episodes feel like the rebirth of a recharged series, with Dobrev taking the reins with gusto as she emotes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Full of suspense and action. One of the most exciting and well-written plots on television in 2012. Each season is consistent in its plot,Full of suspense and action. One of the most exciting and well-written plots on television in 2012. Each season is consistent in its plot, acting and overall arc. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The season is perfect. A clear development from the earliest episodes ... Mysteries and blood surrounding each episode. The season has not even started right and I can not wait to see next. Vampire Diaries has become increasingly outperforming. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Season 4 wasn't as epic as Season 3 but it was still superb. The suspense, the danger, the deaths. Although I didn't like the way Jeremy diedSeason 4 wasn't as epic as Season 3 but it was still superb. The suspense, the danger, the deaths. Although I didn't like the way Jeremy died and came back at the end for like he gazillionth time I'm happy that it ended in tragedy again with Bonnie dying and Silas freed Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    I can only say that the season premiere was pretty good, even better than I expected at some points. All the cast members keep on deliveringI can only say that the season premiere was pretty good, even better than I expected at some points. All the cast members keep on delivering great performances and the direction is on the par as well. Keeping my fingers crossed for the upcoming episodes. Collapse
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    The Vampire Diaries Season 4 starts with a bang as Elena has been turned into a vampire, but it turns out that she has been sired to DamonThe Vampire Diaries Season 4 starts with a bang as Elena has been turned into a vampire, but it turns out that she has been sired to Damon because he turned her into a vampire.After Jeremy dies Elena feels guilty and alone so Damon sires her into turning off her humanity switch. Elena tries to kill Bonnie and Caraline. Damon and Stephen help Elena turn her humanity switch back on. Katherine and Elijah return for season four. They find a cure to the vampire curse, Sylus is released. Rebbeka and Matt leave town to explore the world together. After Elenas sire has been broken, she tells Damon that she is in love with him not Stephen. This was a great followup to season three, and an amazing fourth season. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    A delightful treat for a fan like me. Season 4 started with a good shot. And I hope that it continues shooting at the right aim. The storyA delightful treat for a fan like me. Season 4 started with a good shot. And I hope that it continues shooting at the right aim. The story develops and so are the characters. The performances are climbing into a another new height. What will happen next? Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2017
    1
    Elena turned into a vampire. Big shocker there. I can´t believe how embarrassing season 4 is. Elena is always crying and whining and wants toElena turned into a vampire. Big shocker there. I can´t believe how embarrassing season 4 is. Elena is always crying and whining and wants to be human again. I know, I know, Elena Gilbert is the main character, but it´s all about her lately.

    Bonnie is an interesting character, until she decides to help Elena to find the cure. She shouldn´t help them anymore. She´s a powerful but get abused by her friends? I mean, come on. How pathetic is that. She deserves better.

    Elena´s in love with two vampires and now that she´s actually like them, she wants to be human again? Damon should have killed her and not helping her to find the cure. She obviously doesn´t want to be with Stefan or Damon. Why doesn´t Elena let them go? Or why don´t Damon and Stefan leave Mystic Falls for good? It doesn´t make sense.

    The only sane person is Kol Mikaelson and he´s supposed to be a psychopath, the bad guy who kills people for nothing. He knows about Silas and wants to stop Elena and her friends.

    Jeremy is a jerk. He turns into an arrogant ass now that he´s a hunter and kills Kol. Sure, Kol wants to hurt him, but only because he wouldn´t listen to him. I mean, how stupid is that? Killing thousands of vampires just because Elena doesn´t want to be a vampire? And let´s not talk about Stefan or Caroline. They are just embarrassing. Caroline can´t choose between Tyler and Klaus, even after Klaus killed Tyler´s mother. What a good friend she is. And let´s not forget the time when she killed 12 witches and says it doesn´t matter because Bonnie ´s alive.

    Stefan is heartbroken because Elena slept with Damon? Why doesn´t he leave town and never look back?

    Matt Donovan is just useless. Always says nobody has to die, but then he helps Damon and Stefan to kill people. He should leave town and live with his mother.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.