The Vampire Diaries : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 502

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 23, 2015
    1
    Might be ok for early teen girls, for everyone else its a pukefest of whiny, moping and unintelligible characters. I sat through the 1st season because my wife wanted to give it a shot after watching the Originals and by episode 8, even she couldn't take it seriously and started playing games on her laptop during episodes. I hate every character in the show especially the worthless ElenaMight be ok for early teen girls, for everyone else its a pukefest of whiny, moping and unintelligible characters. I sat through the 1st season because my wife wanted to give it a shot after watching the Originals and by episode 8, even she couldn't take it seriously and started playing games on her laptop during episodes. I hate every character in the show especially the worthless Elena and the retarded vampire brothers. You would think after living 150 years they would have gotten a little smarter but apparently their intelligence is fixed to high school level. I think for a grand finale, they should hire Wesley Snipes and have Blade eviscerate and stomp all over every character in the show until they turn into pudding.

    How does anybody watch this and keep a straight a face? And here I thought Teen Wolf was a joke.
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    3
    never hated a show like I do this one. The only reason why it doesn't get a zero is because the storyline is good. The show is annoying because the acting is so bad but with a good storyline such that I keep on watching it just to see where the story goes. However, the more I watch the more annoyed I get, but I can't stop myself. This show is stupid, to put in simpler words.
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    1
    A vampire show for "girls" who want to have a fantasy threesome with the two model guys playing the "vampires". Vampires have never been this crappy before. I can not write much about the qualities of this soap-opera, because it has no qualities worth talking about. Badly written, badly acted, yet season 4 is being made. Good shows die every year, but this thing gets renewed. Well peopleA vampire show for "girls" who want to have a fantasy threesome with the two model guys playing the "vampires". Vampires have never been this crappy before. I can not write much about the qualities of this soap-opera, because it has no qualities worth talking about. Badly written, badly acted, yet season 4 is being made. Good shows die every year, but this thing gets renewed. Well people nowadays have incredibly low standards! This show somehow managed to make vampires look like a joke! Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Why does everyone's face have a shadow? so annoying. turn on some spot lights in the studios! The main character has no talent...once her "looks" go...gd luck in another career! cancel this garbage already!
  5. Oct 22, 2015
    0
    I realize that I am late hearing about this show, but it's STILL too soon. This is by far the worst atrocity that I have ever seen on television, and I've seen that "two broke girls" show, so THIS one is really bad. The worst acting I've ever seen, the music makes zero sense per situation, the story line is ridiculous, and it's just all around the worst thing I've ever seen. The femaleI realize that I am late hearing about this show, but it's STILL too soon. This is by far the worst atrocity that I have ever seen on television, and I've seen that "two broke girls" show, so THIS one is really bad. The worst acting I've ever seen, the music makes zero sense per situation, the story line is ridiculous, and it's just all around the worst thing I've ever seen. The female lead, needs to take up a career in grocery bagging. However, when someone would hand her the groceries, she would probably just continually gasp and blink out of sync. dreadful. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    3
    This show is fun to watch, you just have to make sure that you turn the volume down. Things like plot, acting, writing, etc. seem to just get in the way.
  7. IainC
    Feb 2, 2010
    0
    Yet more, vampires are cool, sexy, mysterious & misunderstood, angst ridden garbage. Gets everything wrong that buffy got right. 2 episodes and not a single blood sucker's been staked yet.
  8. musi-musi
    Nov 10, 2009
    1
    i love vampires and i absolutely dislike this show...been trying to give it a chance over and over but can't sit through it =( totally disappointed but atleast stephen's hot
  9. JeffR
    Oct 4, 2009
    3
    A bunch of 30 somethings acting like high school kids. I hate when writers and producers muck things up with TV Shows.
  10. EmL
    Sep 11, 2009
    0
    Wow this series was such a disappointment It was so stupid. The actors we horrible and the plot UGHHHH Such a waste of my time. Will definitely NOT watch it again. Agree with Roman D it is entertainment for the simple minded.
  11. RomanD
    Sep 10, 2009
    2
    Your average Vampire/beauty to save from evil brother show. predictable plot with overused cliches and scenes. will entertain the simple minded looking for some vampire and attractive girl action but shallow plot and acting will doom this thing early.
  12. TVloverM.
    Sep 10, 2009
    0
    I couldn't take it. I gave it a shot; I saw about 20 minutes of it, then dived for the remote that fell on the floor and changed the channel. Just so uninspired, so cliche'. It's obviously trying to cash in on the Twilight phenomenon (which I also can't stand and find HIGHLY overrated), so it feels so tacky and gave me a strong sense of Deja Vu. I just wish this I couldn't take it. I gave it a shot; I saw about 20 minutes of it, then dived for the remote that fell on the floor and changed the channel. Just so uninspired, so cliche'. It's obviously trying to cash in on the Twilight phenomenon (which I also can't stand and find HIGHLY overrated), so it feels so tacky and gave me a strong sense of Deja Vu. I just wish this vampire phenomenon will go away already. Expand
  13. P.I.Staker
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    Terrible. Just terrible. Its True Blood's wanker cousin come to try and be just like its more famous, much more superior family member. Thank you for ruining the Vampire genre just as it was starting to rise from its ashes, Diaries. Failure.
  14. Nicole
    Nov 6, 2009
    3
    I have read the ORIGINAL Vampire Diaries Books by L.J. Smith and I am less than pleased with the series. For one, Elena is supposed to be a blonde, not a brunette. She never had a brother ever, her best friend Bonnie was a short irish red head and whatever happened to Meredith? The silent but true friend? Gone. Caroline was NEVER this close to any of the characters and in fact, Caroline I have read the ORIGINAL Vampire Diaries Books by L.J. Smith and I am less than pleased with the series. For one, Elena is supposed to be a blonde, not a brunette. She never had a brother ever, her best friend Bonnie was a short irish red head and whatever happened to Meredith? The silent but true friend? Gone. Caroline was NEVER this close to any of the characters and in fact, Caroline despises Elena. Damon never went out with Caroline, he never bit her. None of it. Vicky was never turned into a vampire. She was bitten but she was never turned. She never died in the books either. She just went crazy because of it. I don't know what the guy was thinking when he created this show but if you are going to do something that has to deal with a book, just do it from the book. Don't add stupid twists that don't exist. I don't care if you don't think it's interesting but at the very least stick to the character descriptions! Expand
  15. MariaU.
    Sep 29, 2009
    1
    The acting was OK. Nothing new for me, prettty boring actually. I was not impressed at all. The pilot might have got 4 million viewers,but I do not see the show lasting long. Just my opinion.
  16. Mel
    Sep 17, 2009
    2
    Lacks acting. I felt like I was watching Buffy without the Slayer...or Dawson's Creek. Can we get some creativity please?
  17. JoeH
    Sep 22, 2009
    3
    So much potential. So boring.
  18. bcrab
    Sep 12, 2009
    3
    It's a shame, more new teen heart throb with vampires. Go watch Buffy or Angel, this is something to be missed.
  19. Stig
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Teenage angst with fangs. Absolute garbage.
  20. JhonnC
    Oct 9, 2009
    2
    So boring, i saw 2 episodes and was enought to sleep all nigth. The characters, one good guy, another bad guy, a girl... please... Twilight tv show version? even the performance it's too close to Twilight main character. not recommended.
  21. GioMT
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    I seriously thought that this wuld be a good show at first when it came out. But after seeing one of it's first episodes, it demosntrated clearly the hunger of plagiarizing another vampire hit, the Twilight Series. Doesnt it seem a little odd how after this series came out (Twilight), every other TV show had something relevant? Sue, the Diaries have some good touches to it, but most I seriously thought that this wuld be a good show at first when it came out. But after seeing one of it's first episodes, it demosntrated clearly the hunger of plagiarizing another vampire hit, the Twilight Series. Doesnt it seem a little odd how after this series came out (Twilight), every other TV show had something relevant? Sue, the Diaries have some good touches to it, but most touches are either copied or just not so well made. Expand
  22. BrendanD
    Sep 14, 2009
    0
    Yeesh. This is just... awful. The vampire thing has been pretty played out. I really don't understand why Kevin Williamson decided to make a show like this -- especially when it's so vastly inferior to the other vamp-soap on TV, "True Blood." I mean, this is going to be an epic teen soap opera, right? Fine, but the reason why a certain segment went for something like Yeesh. This is just... awful. The vampire thing has been pretty played out. I really don't understand why Kevin Williamson decided to make a show like this -- especially when it's so vastly inferior to the other vamp-soap on TV, "True Blood." I mean, this is going to be an epic teen soap opera, right? Fine, but the reason why a certain segment went for something like "Dawson's Creek" was because there was humor and relatively (and I stress RELATIVELY) good acting. This has neither. What it DOES have is Ian Somerhalder in a completely wasted role. This essentially seems like what would happen if "Twilight" and "High School Musical" had a (non-musical) kid. Appallingly bad. Expand
  23. Maeve
    Sep 17, 2009
    2
    Unoriginal...Cliches all around. Very surprised at Kevin Williamson. Not his best work. The acting was lame. Can't wait until Flashforward comes on next week...I think 2 episodes of this was enough for me. I will wait til True Blood comes back to get my love of vampires fix!
  24. SteveR.
    Sep 12, 2009
    1
    There are shows that can portray teenagers without making them annoying (Buffy was great at this); but this show used every formula in the "books," every stereotype, and every one-note character design, as if the writers themselves were slackers trying to earn that last credit in remedial English, so that they could graduate before turning 21. Hiring models instead of actors was also a There are shows that can portray teenagers without making them annoying (Buffy was great at this); but this show used every formula in the "books," every stereotype, and every one-note character design, as if the writers themselves were slackers trying to earn that last credit in remedial English, so that they could graduate before turning 21. Hiring models instead of actors was also a ghastly (though predictable) decision. Expand
  25. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    My girlfriend watches it. And her friends watch it too. She also has the books. They discuss it. My girlfriend doesn't like to watch horror movies like The Ring, The Exorcist, 300 Days of Night etc because they are too scary. But she likes Sex in the City, Lipstick Jungle, Gossip Girl etc. 'Nuff said.
  26. Joe
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    A hint: if you want a good vampire show, watch True Blood. If you want a BRILLIANT vampire show, watch "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or "Angel." It's crap like The Vampire Diaries that give supernatural shows a bad name. CW, you are a worthless station.
  27. Jan 15, 2016
    0
    Vampire Diaries is a piece of frickin **** that should not be able to ruin the frickin lives of everyoe on the planet because it isso worthless and retarded and uselesss that its so bad and can not anyewhere close to being good and good. pece falconlovaxxXXxx join my sniper clan today if u love falcons thatcan three six zero degree no scopeeeeeee pece pece and pls forget to subcribe thisVampire Diaries is a piece of frickin **** that should not be able to ruin the frickin lives of everyoe on the planet because it isso worthless and retarded and uselesss that its so bad and can not anyewhere close to being good and good. pece falconlovaxxXXxx join my sniper clan today if u love falcons thatcan three six zero degree no scopeeeeeee pece pece and pls forget to subcribe this is falcon lord pecexxxXXxx spoilers alert!!! it sucks and itt is 0 out of 10 Expand
  28. Jun 2, 2016
    0
    bleh... more like vampire diarrhea... boring plot, terrible acting, cliché moments... this is just a bad bad low grade show. Sorry dont like it it should be canceled...
  29. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    I really liked the show, but now i am starting to get bored by it. It's so annoying to see characters almost die and then come back again for the 1000th time. And i don't really get why they don't respect the plot from the book, which is much more interesting than this dying and coming back thing.
  30. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    I think that L.J Smith's books are so much better than the TV Show. The characters from the books like Stefan or Damon are much more intringing, mysterious and charismatic than the TV Show ones. I will never like the TV Show as much as the books. I love Damon from the books, he has much more sex appeal and mystery than Ian Somerhalder's overacted Damon, and he doesn't kill so much people!
  31. Mar 13, 2016
    0
    This show is fun to watch, you just have to make sure that you turn the volume down. Things like plot, acting, writing, etc. seem to just get in the way. I saw this and it was the best post i have ever seen on a review
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Diaries promises us a season of sharp-tongued amusement.
  2. You will want all the extras who played vamps on "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (which was great, by the way, and not to be blamed for this lackluster cousin) to return en masse to eat the cast of "Vampire Diaries," plus any remaining scripts.
  3. 20
    Pretty, sensible teenage vampires who talk like depressed extras on "Hannah Montana"? Why, Diary? Why?