• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
The Vampire Diaries Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Zach Roerig, Paul Wesley, Kayla Ewell
  • Summary: In this adaptation of the L.J. Smith book series, vampire brothers battle for the heart of a mortal teenaged girl named Elena Gilbert.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
  • Creator: Kevin Williamson, Julie Plec, L.J. Smith
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 10, 2009
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. 100
    These killers are more fun than a cemetery full of psycho zombie killers on Halloween.
  2. There’s an engrossing moodiness to Mr. Williamson’s latest venture, but one he conveys without annulling the pact he long ago made with himself never to let his cheekiness go undetected.
  3. In between bouts of underage drinking, texting, girl-bonding, and the inevitable minor-key whine of a soundtrack, that is. "True Blood Lite" or "Transylvania 90210." And you know what? It is. Almost exactly. But this is not a bad thing, not a bad thing at all. Because Vampire Diaries knows precisely what it is--a Gothic romance--and doesn't try to be anything else.
  4. 50
    No, it's not Twilight--but it's not bad, either. The Vampire Diaries, The CW's new fang-gang drama, successfully hitches the sanguinary sexuality of the vampire ethos to the in-group/out-group dynamic of the teen soap.
  5. I’ve got nothing against Vampire Diaries. Since it lacks broad appeal and hasn’t a clever bone in its body, it will probably be a hit, unlike CW shows I’ve stuck up for (like “Reaper” and “Aliens in America”).
  6. Williamson also wrote the "Scream" trilogy, but there's neither humor nor horror here, unless you count some of the acting and casting.
  7. You will want all the extras who played vamps on "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (which was great, by the way, and not to be blamed for this lackluster cousin) to return en masse to eat the cast of "Vampire Diaries," plus any remaining scripts.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 111
  2. Negative: 27 out of 111
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This Show is simply amazing. It may not reach the high standard that 'BUFFY'' had. . As the plots may be simple the show it's self and theThis Show is simply amazing. It may not reach the high standard that 'BUFFY'' had. . As the plots may be simple the show it's self and the effects are done in such dept. Also the actors may not be oscar award winning but they do their characters justice, and you can see their chemistry together is projected to the screen. I will always adore this show. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    The first season starts off slow and predictable but then it morphs into a fantastic piece of entertainment. This is not just a teen show byThe first season starts off slow and predictable but then it morphs into a fantastic piece of entertainment. This is not just a teen show by any means! I am 26 and I love this show! The intricate story lines and cliffhanger moments leave you wanting more. You develop such a bond with these characters and feel as though you know them on such a deep level. Some of the story lines need work and certain aspects are redundant but this is a quality show. Give it a shot and watch more than the first 4-5 episodes and you will be hooked!! Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    THIS IS DEFINITELY MY FAVORITE SHOW. (can you tell by my display name? ;) much better than twilight. Damon is my favorite character. If youTHIS IS DEFINITELY MY FAVORITE SHOW. (can you tell by my display name? ;) much better than twilight. Damon is my favorite character. If you have any taste in shows AT ALL, you will like the vampire diaries. (: Alot of action, drama, and good story line. If you havent seen it before, go check it out! I promise you, you will like it. I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THE SECOND SEASON AND FOR ______ TO COME ON THE SHOW. (you know who i mean :) Expand
  4. KyleJ.
    Sep 12, 2009
    8
    I actually liked it. There was a nice mix of humor and action, and as a whole it was much more enjoyable than the insufferable Twilight (it I actually liked it. There was a nice mix of humor and action, and as a whole it was much more enjoyable than the insufferable Twilight (it even has better-looking vampires, to boot). A guilty pleasure, sure, but a pleasure nonetheless. I look forward to next week's episode. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2014
    7
    This show is pretty good and keeps you interested, though sometimes it can be a bit slow but it's not often. It has a lot of action in it,This show is pretty good and keeps you interested, though sometimes it can be a bit slow but it's not often. It has a lot of action in it, more so earlier in the seasons as this season has started off a bit slow. Perhaps slow is the wrong term to use though, because it's more that it doesn't have as much action as what it has had in the past. It's still a good show to watch and you won't be disappointed from keeping up with it. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    It's a little to 'goodies' and 'badies' and the whole vampire goes for high school girl seems a little tragic, if not downright creepy.It's a little to 'goodies' and 'badies' and the whole vampire goes for high school girl seems a little tragic, if not downright creepy. There's little subtle nuance but it's watchable. Expand
  7. Joe
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    A hint: if you want a good vampire show, watch True Blood. If you want a BRILLIANT vampire show, watch "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or "Angel." A hint: if you want a good vampire show, watch True Blood. If you want a BRILLIANT vampire show, watch "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" or "Angel." It's crap like The Vampire Diaries that give supernatural shows a bad name. CW, you are a worthless station. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.