• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Vineyard Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reality show set in Martha's Vineyard follows the lives of 11 young locals and summer visitors.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    Jul 23, 2013
    83
    If it seems slow and staged at first, be patient.... [it has] oh-so-much potential for a delightful guilty pleasure. [26 Jul 2013, p.62]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 23, 2013
    42
    In this eight-episode, hourlong show, instead of Lauren Conrad, we get Katie, who is about as interesting as a McDonald’s salad.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 23, 2013
    40
    The Vineyard feels less like a Martha’s Vineyard experience than a generic young-folks reality-show experience.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 5, 2013
    38
    It's Jersey Shore toned up as an Abercrombie & Fitch campaign. [12 Aug 2013]
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 23, 2013
    30
    ABC Family has assembled 11 mannequins for “The Vineyard” who are so plastic, so Barbie and Ken, so perfectly put together, that they might as well have come marching off a factory line.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    The vineyard was something I recorded once on the DVR and was hooked. Had to DVR the whole season and now the season is over. I Want More and cant leave it hanging like that. The best part real people in a reality setting. I think it was a great show and so much better than most lame reality shows. I will b mad if there isn't a second season! Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    THIS SHOW IS SO BAD IT'S GOOD. Everything is overdramatic and terribly acted, and it's one of the funniest things I have ever watched on television. Definitely a guilty pleasure. Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    This review would have been different if I had not watched all the episodes. Definitely improved each week and I looked forward to each episode. Been going to The Vinyard for 33 years and I think it is pretty accurate based on my experiences. Hope it is on again next summer! Collapse
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    2
    Do you like like high school drama but you are ashamed of watching movies full of teens Then I have the perfect thing for you: a show with protagonists in their 20s, full of eye candy, constant gossip and all the post-pubescent you can think of. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    2
    This show is full bad and unexperienced actors. It's way to dramatic and its missing something but for some reason I can't stop watching maybe because I think something big is gonna happen Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    This is the worst show I have every watched. I only turned it on because I love Martha's Vineyard. Everything that comes out of their mouth is so stupid and sounds fake. I agree with newspaper critics that they all look like Barbie and Ken and they all look like mannequins. Their acting sucks overall!!! Hopefully this will be the first and last season!!! Sorry Vineyard. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    Please just give me the cyanide already. I mean, my god, ABC Family, I knew you weren't good but... not THIS bad. Alright, enough of the over-reaction train, this series is nothing but awkward moments, terrible "acting" and "writing", and having nothing more to do than a giant product placement for The Black Dog.
    0/10 never again.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews