• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2011
    9
    If you're a fan at all of talent/reality television you will probably enjoy The Voice. The talent on this show is better than on American Idol, the coaches are insightful and it's really a breath of fresh air for this genre. The production value needs to be increased though. Also one round of blind auditions might not be enough. Though I guess this show will make money by people calling in to vote. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This show has it all over "American Idol." The coaches/judges are not only individually charming and charismatic, their chemistry is palpable and they genuinely seem to enjoy each other's company. Add to that a fascinating group of contestants and a premise that beats "Idol" all holllow and you have a show that I hope delivers the final coup de grace to "Idol," which lost me for once and for all with the elimination of Pia Toscano. Long live "The Voice"! Down with "idol"! Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    10
    A refreshing take on and tired old formula. American Idol has become a dull bore, in steps "The Voice" to take its place. Featuring "coaches" who actually know what they are talking about and have actual personalities, what more can you ask for? If you are sick of American Idol and you want something that feels more fresh and almost gameshow-like, check out "The Voice". You wont be disappointed.
  4. May 13, 2011
    9
    It's irresistible to compare this to American Idol. It seems that because this show has more flexible eligibility requirements (age, experience), they are able to get better singers than AI. Also, the coaches seem to have more insightful things to say than the judges on AI. The clever format is also an advantage. Looks like this show is a keeper.
  5. May 4, 2011
    10
    I think this show is better than American idol because it does not judge you by the way you may look they judge you by the way you sing and also it is a competition between the finalists but also between the judges which is different than other shows and much better which is great. In this show they help you find the voice within and bring out the best you inside to out . another good thing is that you get to determine your future you get to pick which coach , that has pushed the button , you think would be the better career field 4 you ; that fits into your vision of what type of singer you what to be and that you think will open you up and take you far in this business:) Collapse
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    I hate reality shows & i hate pop music, but ive seen every episode
    Of this show and after seeing the performances with the
    Judges, it is hands down one
    Of the best shows on TV. i literally get excited to
    The point where my gf and me are on our feet dancing. (i tried rating
    10 But one touch and it went To 9 and wouldn't
    Let me go back)
  7. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    The format of the Voice is, in my opinion, without flaws. The 'blind auditions' are where the show shines; the judges each not being able to see the contestants, only hear their voices, and choose whether or not they are through to the next round based on that rather than image or how good-looking a contestant is. The battle rounds, where two contestants have a sing-off inside a boxing ring also highlight the positive aspects of the show. For the first rounds, when filming it is a full-length performance but obviously has to be cut down to 'about 40 seconds' to fit everything in.

    A few people are (obviously) hating on this show because it is related to Christina Aguilera, but it is what every reality-TV show should aim to be. All the coaches [as oppose to judges that feature on most of the inferior singing competitions] have chemistry with each other, which makes the show a lot more entertaining.
    Expand
  8. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Imagine a show with Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, Usher, and Shakira judging your singing and possibly helping you get a contract! This show is more than amazing! The singers, are phenomenal. There is no reason not to love it. All the judges have a lot of experience, making it even better.

    I feel sometimes they don't turn around for good people, possibly even being a little stingy.
    However, their opinion is final.
    Their stinginess sometimes angers myself, and others. But, it doesn't matter for the show is still phenomenal.
    Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great show. It's more real, more down to earth and the talent isn't based on image or age! Christina, Adam, Blake and Cee Lo make a great panel of judges and they are a lot of fun. If the rest of the people can relate to this, it's a sure hit! Expand
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    What a brilliant idea, and execution of this new American Idol-killing show! They've found great talent so far, the judges are all very interesting and have great chemistry. Half the talent we saw last night could walk off the show and get record contracts on their own now. My wife said, "And I would listen to the radio a lot more because of it." Its just a brilliant show concept and it has a TON of promise. If you ever, even secretly enjoyed an episode or two of A Idol, you should absolutely give this show a shot. Well done! Expand
  11. May 12, 2011
    10
    I really want to like this show. I really do, but I just don't think it'll make it past season 2, if that. Maybe if they fine tune some things. First, a "blind" audition should be that, a "blind" audition. Not filter through thousands of people and pick the best 50 with unique looks, styles, histories, and voices to be on the show, then be "blindly" chosen. Second, where is the singing? Literally like 90 to 120 seconds per song? So it's just chorus chorus chorus done. No. Third, after 1 round of "blind" auditions, then you go off their looks and style to choose who they think will get the most votes? Really? 1 round? How about 3 rounds of blind auditions, then the coaching? Or how about coach your best 10, let them sing against other coaches team, and have the audience choose the winner? Fourth, why have people who already has had singing careers or record labels already? Gee, Frenchie Davis? Javier Colon? Vicci Martinez? All of them have had a shot in the industry or are in the industry already. And guess who the front runners are? The one's the show is banking on with all their commercials? Of course. And 5th, damn, you got to have more singing in a 1 hour show. I don't mean length of song, i mean performances. The first couple of episodes, great, a good amount. But this weeks show, really? Four 2 minute "battle" performances? 8 minutes of actual performance. Thank god I have DVR where I just fast forwarded and watched the whole damn thing in less than 15 minutes. Sixth, where is the coaching? They take their team of 8, pair them up, then coaches them one song and then has a 60 second interview? Now I'm sure off camera they worked with them, but if this is a coaching show, there has to be more than that. And I don't know how the music industry coaching works, but does it really matter which coach you get? I mean, literally they say the exact same things. Nothing I haven't heard on American idol, America's got Talent, or even Acappella singing competition does. How does the uniqueness of each coach stand out? Will Cee Lo produce some sick remixes when the coaches go against each other? Will Christina work in some choreography? Will Adam work in a live band on stage? Will Blake teach you to perform with a guitar? Besides the fact that they sing different genres, I would like to know how they will differentiate in their coaching styles. That needs to be shown in a better way for the audience to be hooked. Right now I'm only interested in 2 things, what will Cee Lo say each week to hit up on the hot girl contestants, and how much more weight will Christina gain by sitting there on that couch eating cheetoos. Expand
  12. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Can not get enough of this show!!! It gets better every week. The talent is much stronger and the coaches are actually coaches!!! They are right there with their team, singing with them, offering advice and such. This show stays true to "The Voice". It's not like American Idol how they always shoot down their contestants telling them they just don't have what it takes because of how they look. Watch!!! You won't be disappointed... Expand
  13. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Uhh-Mazing!!!! Love love love this show! It has me at the edge of my couch every tuesday night. It's very entertaining, and the talent is so much better then Idol. It's just a much fresher concept all around. A must watch!!!
  14. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    I love the voice's format.
    It is a refreshing thing in the television right now and since I really hated this shows rival on Fox, I find it very nice that NBC has something greater to offer
    Looking forward to the LIVE SHOOOOOOOOOOOWS!
  15. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This show is extremely entertaining. It has a few kinks to work out next year, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's very cool to see the judges working with the contestants and the quality of singing is excellent.
  16. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Beautiful show, innovative concept, have been following since day 1. Now started on the UK version of the show as well; although identical formula the panel doesnt have the same energy and chemistry. Can't fault the US version apart from failing to promote last seasons winner to international fame. Incredible show that has also produced one of the catchiest tunes of 2011 Moves Like Jagger!
  17. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    The Voice produces the best talent and takes you on a real adventure without the glitter and mechanics of other shows like American Idol, TheX Factor or even America's Got Talent. Where instead The Voice focusses on the artistry and allows these singers to expand and grow with proper coaching in a very amusing set-up. The dynamic between the coaches gets better every year, but what really elevated this show to another level to eventually winning an Emmy was season 4. Usher's contribution to the show is terrific and the different forms in which he coaches every individual is emulating. The Voice is not flashy and lamely generic that overhypes all of it's contestants, there is real talent here because I know Adam Lambert can win this show as opposed to coming 2nd to somebody who nobody even remembers. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    May 4, 2011
    75
    The Voice is not that bad.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2011
    63
    Visually, it makes for odd television. Odder still is that the coaches compete too....The good news? The caliber of voices is high--better than American Idol. [16 May 2011, p.43]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 2, 2011
    75
    While you're left to wonder why these four stars need a reality show, or why the contestants never truly made it in the first place, "The Voice" should remain a solid performer for NBC--which it so very badly needs.