• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
The Voice  Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singing competition has Christina Aguilera, Cee Lo Green, Adam Levine, and Blake Shelton as vocal coaches who will mentor the singers chosen through blind auditions.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    May 4, 2011
    75
    The Voice is not that bad.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 2, 2011
    75
    While you're left to wonder why these four stars need a reality show, or why the contestants never truly made it in the first place, "The Voice" should remain a solid performer for NBC--which it so very badly needs.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Apr 29, 2011
    70
    The Voice delivered an entertaining two hours, far more tightly packed than any "Idol" audition episode for years, though that's an unfair comparison.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Apr 29, 2011
    60
    The Voice (NBC) is a horrifically entertaining vocal competition produced by Mark Burnett.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 29, 2011
    42
    From its amusement-park-ride chairs to its cluttered concept, The Voice was a garish bore over two hours on Tuesday night--it was less about the strenuous voices of the singers than the yammering voices of its celebrity "coaches."
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 29, 2011
    40
    As The Voice made loud and clear, there's not enough talent to go around.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 29, 2011
    40
    By the time it was over, all I could think was: See no more of "The Voice." Hear no more of "The Voice." And after Tuesday, no reason to speak any longer about "The Voice."

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. May 27, 2011
    10
    A refreshing take on and tired old formula. American Idol has become a dull bore, in steps "The Voice" to take its place. Featuring "coaches" who actually know what they are talking about and have actual personalities, what more can you ask for? If you are sick of American Idol and you want something that feels more fresh and almost gameshow-like, check out "The Voice". You wont be disappointed. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    I love the voice's format.
    It is a refreshing thing in the television right now and since I really hated this shows rival on Fox, I find it
    very nice that NBC has something greater to offer
    Looking forward to the LIVE SHOOOOOOOOOOOWS!
    Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    The Voice produces the best talent and takes you on a real adventure without the glitter and mechanics of other shows like American Idol, TheX Factor or even America's Got Talent. Where instead The Voice focusses on the artistry and allows these singers to expand and grow with proper coaching in a very amusing set-up. The dynamic between the coaches gets better every year, but what really elevated this show to another level to eventually winning an Emmy was season 4. Usher's contribution to the show is terrific and the different forms in which he coaches every individual is emulating. The Voice is not flashy and lamely generic that overhypes all of it's contestants, there is real talent here because I know Adam Lambert can win this show as opposed to coming 2nd to somebody who nobody even remembers. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Imagine a show with Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, Usher, and Shakira judging your singing and possibly helping you get a contract! This show is more than amazing! The singers, are phenomenal. There is no reason not to love it. All the judges have a lot of experience, making it even better.

    I feel sometimes they don't turn around for good people, possibly even being a little stingy. However, their opinion is final.
    Their stinginess sometimes angers myself, and others. But, it doesn't matter for the show is still phenomenal.
    Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    I hate reality shows & i hate pop music, but ive seen every episode
    Of this show and after seeing the performances with the
    Judges, it is
    hands down one
    Of the best shows on TV. i literally get excited to
    The point where my gf and me are on our feet dancing. (i tried rating
    10 But one touch and it went To 9 and wouldn't
    Let me go back)
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    7
    While I'm not a big fan of reality competitions, this show's concept was enough to peak my interest. The premise of choosing someone based solely on voice (and I guess, the reaction of the crowd) is a nice idea. Lets be realistic, though. Looks will come into play now that the opening round is over, both for the coaches making eliminations and the fan voting later on. I suspect that when that happens, this will fall much more in line with other singing competitions and my rating of the show will subsequently go down.

    My current rating of 7 is for the first two episodes (blind auditions) which I thought were pretty entertaining. I'll go deeper into the negative and positive things I found about the show. In watching the first two episodes, the biggest thing I was disappointed with was that they didn't make it 3 episodes long. They weren't able to show the audience that many good, but failed auditions to really emphasize the quality of talent that made it. By including the few failed auditions, though, they ended up, through time restrictions, depriving the audience of seeing 3 of the competitors that actually made it through, which seems rather unfair when you consider that fan voting will play a part in the show (you would hope that the artists would get similar exposure). If they wanted to keep the blind auditions at 2 episodes, they should have only included successful auditions. Ideally, though, they should have had 3 episodes and included a few more failed auditions.

    While it probably has nothing to do with the way the show was produced, I was disappointed to see the unevenness of talent between the episodes. There's no shortness of talent on the show (the worst people on the Voice seem pretty gifted), but it seemed that the truly elite (the early favourites) were all grouped on the same episode.

    Back to good things about the show: I think Carson Daly is decent as the host. He hasn't really been getting in the way too much. He seems genuinely happy for the families of the competitors. The drama of those chairs spinning around is great. You watch this and you're just willing the judge's hand to come down on that button.

    The judges seemed much more engaged than in other similar competitions. The fact that they're often selling themselves while praising the competitors is an interesting dynamic. The judges interactions amongst themselves and with competitors are pretty entertaining too. I found them all to have decent senses of humor.

    There was surprisingly less over-the-top emotion from competitors than in other similar competitions. The post-performance interviews saw families and friends hugging (sometimes with tears in their eyes) but you rarely saw the all out crying and talking at the same time stuff that's so annoying (saw it once in each episode. One from a competitor and the other from a competitor's parent).

    The talent is there. These are all up and comers or even semi-established musicians. The fact that they did not put any restrictions in terms of age (or even duos) makes the talent pool as deep as it can be. In the end, that's the most important thing. The quality of the show depends on how much of a competition it is. The only way to ensure you have a great competition is to have as many capable competitors as possible.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    1
    I love this show!!!! I have been watching it for ever really like Blake and Christina and Adam celo is ok. It has been a great season so far everyone was amazing. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews