The Walking Dead : Season 2

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1454 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 15, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 2 of 'The Walking Dead' starts with Sophia getting lost when the group were surprised by a large herd of zombies and because of that the group starts to split up to find her and that's not a good idea. I think in the whole season the characters too often act very unreasonable, some more than others and that makes the season much worse than it could, 'cause characters like carl and lori are getting very annoying. In season 2 you will get to know Family Greene and how they experienced the zombie-apocalypse. The group camps on their farm, but it doesn't take long 'til mr. greene wants them to leave and further the group breaks more and more, because no one knows anymore what's right to do. The more the season comes to an end the more the season gets better, 'cause the pace increases and the characters more and more act only on their own 'til Dale who may be the only one acting humane dies 'cause of an argument he had with the group. From then the group started to be a group again and Shane's the only one acting on his own 'til it comes to the showdown that the series hinted at all the time and a huge group of walkers attacked the farm and Rick and his friends are trying to escape. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2017
    4
    Perhaps the worst season of the series. Character motives and decisions are mindless and aimless (with exceptionally bad realms of stupid with Lori, Carl and Shane). The performances all suffer from awkward delivery and talk, with Andrew Lincoln struggling to establish the Southern accent with Rick Grimes. The way they try to enforce certain behaviors was more about shock value than how aPerhaps the worst season of the series. Character motives and decisions are mindless and aimless (with exceptionally bad realms of stupid with Lori, Carl and Shane). The performances all suffer from awkward delivery and talk, with Andrew Lincoln struggling to establish the Southern accent with Rick Grimes. The way they try to enforce certain behaviors was more about shock value than how a person could really cope with the world being infested with walkers and even worse human beings that want to kill you. The main saving grace of the season that doesn't turn into an even bigger dumpster fire is some shots and scenes were decent and good. My favorite is the scene when Rick kills Sophia as it brings back the very first episode with like a whip crack and makes the death have more weight. I am a big fan of The Walking Dead, but I am also a new starting critic that looks games, music and films no different and won't let my fandom ignore the glaring problems the series has. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TWD Season 2 begins as we see our group struggle to find shelter or anything of value to them anyway the group is now organized into a convoy that stop at this road due to lack of fuel they change their objects to find fuel and some stay to defend supplies. The main mover of this season is how Sophia goes missing so the group is bogged down and try to find her with clues, manhunts and any sign they can. Tensions also begin to develop between Shane and Rick over Lorrie and the right to lead the group while Shane thinks Rick isn't good enough. Carl is also shot while marveling at a dear to introduce a new setting Carl is taken to this Southern farm where it's folk are highly religious and think killing zombies as wrong. Meanwhile trying to get medicine to Carl Shane and Otis go out to find supplies Shane betrays him due to low-ammo and shoots Otis to sacrifice him only so he can get eaten-alive by zombies many are saddened about the incident and Shane refuses to tell the truth leading to suspicion among the group but mostly Dale. After Shane kills Otis we see his transformation to being somewhat of a "villain" as he shaves off his hair. Carl gets better and Lorrie sends Glenn and Maggie a new country-girl character to get supplies for her a relationship develops between Glenn and Maggie. Daryl goes on his own search for Sophia but cannot find her assuming the worst he brings a Cherokee Rose back to Carol who is Sophia's mother. The farmers welcome the group into and provide for them but are unsure about keeping them around despite Ricks demands. The group later find out the barn is full of walkers and that the farmers were actually trying to raise the zombies because they were people they once knew. Dale attempts to expose Shane but he's words are disregarded. Hershel Maggie's father and the owner of the farm orders Rick to help him get Walkers into the barn meanwhile Shane after hearing about the walkers tries to find a bag of guns others try to hide from him he than gets the weapons and heads to the barn to kill the walkers because he says they are not human anymore and they have led to the deaths of his group. After a dramatic speech and tensions the group open fire on the walkers and kill all of them while as Hershel is infuriated the last walker to emerge turns out to be Sophia and the whole group looks in horror while they are forced to kill her. They go to a bar and encounter two men who were working for a rival group and planning to mug them Rick kills both but his actions bring him in contact with Tony and Dannie's group. Tony's man arrive at the location in order to find there the group takes to camp and they have a debate on weather to spare or kill the prisoner. Dale favors sparing him but most of the group want to interrogate than kill him Dale than goes on a nervous walk but is killed by a walker who is than put down by Shane in mercy. The group than take Dales decision and plan to spare Randall. They leave him at an abandoned area but Shane attempts to kill him leading to Rick Grimes stopping him and the first physical conflict between Rick and Shane who than decide to go home and ignore the incident. Shane however lures Randy away giving him false hope of freedom than kills him to force Rick to go search for him. Shane than prepares to kill Rick in order to be in charge of the group. Rick tricks Shane into lowering his weapon than stabs him knowing he was to dangerous to keep around. Carl later is seemingly mad at Rick but actually shoots zombie-Shane to protect his father. Finally a major zombie attack happens on the farm and the group are forced to run once again and flee. Hershel refuses to leave but than joins the group meanwhile Andrea gets forgotten and rescued by a mysterious swordsman. Rick than delivers a speech enforcing his rule and commenting about the killing of Shane. It was a great season that set up other seasons and plots. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2017
    7
    After a great first season, The Walking Dead's second season is not as good as the previous one, and that is kind of disappointing. The plot is still interesting and the main characters' development is notorious, but the main problem with this season is that there are so much filler episodes with boring chit chat scenes and no zombies at all. 13 episodes was too much... I think that theyAfter a great first season, The Walking Dead's second season is not as good as the previous one, and that is kind of disappointing. The plot is still interesting and the main characters' development is notorious, but the main problem with this season is that there are so much filler episodes with boring chit chat scenes and no zombies at all. 13 episodes was too much... I think that they could have done this season with 8 or 9 episodes and I am sure it could have been better. It is like they were obligated to do the entire season on the same place, having to extend it with boring scenes. On the other hand, some episodes are very good and there are also great scenes that every fan of the show will remember. It has its moments, of course, but in general terms this season is okay. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2016
    10
    good The midseason 2 finale was one of the greatest moments in TV history. I was skeptical about this series at first, but the storyline and character development are gripping. A must see.
  6. Nov 1, 2016
    8
    I really enjoyed season one of this show. It was short, but to the point. It didn't feel short, which was a good thing. Although I liked season two, I didn't love it like season one. There's less action and at times seems kind of boring and slow. The finale is great, and there are two specific scenes which are still probably my favorite. No spoilers here. Fans probably know what I'mI really enjoyed season one of this show. It was short, but to the point. It didn't feel short, which was a good thing. Although I liked season two, I didn't love it like season one. There's less action and at times seems kind of boring and slow. The finale is great, and there are two specific scenes which are still probably my favorite. No spoilers here. Fans probably know what I'm talking about. Still, it's good and worth watching Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2016
    10
    Season 2 continued to increase the awesomeness of this show! We got to see some new characters be brought into the series and as we get further into the apocalyptic world we see the introduction of bad people that are actually still people and not yet zombies.
  8. May 21, 2016
    10
    The Walking Dead season 2 was a gripping, frightening to death, unsettling masterpiece. From the first season to the second, there is a tremendous amount of character development including the character of Shane. Not only him, but the rest of the cast as well. The developers really succeeded it's dramatic portion while maintaining to keep us on the edge of a cliff; panicking for our livesThe Walking Dead season 2 was a gripping, frightening to death, unsettling masterpiece. From the first season to the second, there is a tremendous amount of character development including the character of Shane. Not only him, but the rest of the cast as well. The developers really succeeded it's dramatic portion while maintaining to keep us on the edge of a cliff; panicking for our lives through every single episode.

    I adored this season! If you've haven't watched it, you're totally missing out on a lot of fun!

    Rating: 10/10

    A+ = 10
    A = 9
    A- = 8
    B+ = 7
    B = 6
    B- = 5
    C+ = 4
    C = 3
    C- = 2.5
    D+ = 2
    D = 1.5
    D- = 1
    F = 0
    Expand
  9. Apr 6, 2016
    7
    While a great series with awesome zombie effects, season two of TWD is a mixed bag. The main reason it falls short is it ignores its own rules, and spends far too long at certain unnecessary scenes. The zombies act FAR too smart to be zombies, and selectively can run depending on the scene. Showing intellect and fine motor control necessary for the writing to continue in the direction theWhile a great series with awesome zombie effects, season two of TWD is a mixed bag. The main reason it falls short is it ignores its own rules, and spends far too long at certain unnecessary scenes. The zombies act FAR too smart to be zombies, and selectively can run depending on the scene. Showing intellect and fine motor control necessary for the writing to continue in the direction the writer wanted, when alternatives are readily available. For example instead of having a zombie fall beside a car to scare away the little girl, the zombie... showing both intelligence and fine motor control: GETS DOWN TO LOOK. With a CLEAR care to not harm itself.

    Its just a bizarre mixed bag that will leave the critical viewer a little frustrated at easily available mistakes. All in all its a good effort... but it needs to establish clear guidelines of what a zombie is and can do. And stick to them. Continuity and maintaining suspension of disbelief is the first rule in a fantastical setting like this.
    Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    The Walking Dead's second season certainly seems to benefit from being watched all in one go rather than week to week on TV as many people would have. The search for Sophia for example, which took up too much time during the first half of the season (even if the conclusion to that storyline was well written) is far less frustrating when you see it all in a few days rather than have it dragThe Walking Dead's second season certainly seems to benefit from being watched all in one go rather than week to week on TV as many people would have. The search for Sophia for example, which took up too much time during the first half of the season (even if the conclusion to that storyline was well written) is far less frustrating when you see it all in a few days rather than have it drag on for a couple of months’ worth of viewing.

    That doesn't mean the show isn't completely without its issues (some of the characters do some pretty stupid things considering there are monsters everywhere that want to eat them) but overall the show makes for an entertaining watch if you don't mind plenty of blood and gore, and there are plenty of surprises for people like me that have already read the graphic novels.
    Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Of all the seasons I enjoyed this one the most. At this point the acting is literally Oscar-worthy (if there was an Oscar for tv-show acting). There's also some really great tension and cliffhangers that keeps you on the edge of your seat and keeps you interested in the show. But sadly for the people who watch this season weekly there are some episodes that are very slow-phased and whereOf all the seasons I enjoyed this one the most. At this point the acting is literally Oscar-worthy (if there was an Oscar for tv-show acting). There's also some really great tension and cliffhangers that keeps you on the edge of your seat and keeps you interested in the show. But sadly for the people who watch this season weekly there are some episodes that are very slow-phased and where not very exciting stuff happens. But if you watch it on blu-ray/dvd or streaming services over the course of a couple of days you don't get bothered by it. Over all: a pretty good second season of this amazing series. Expand
  12. Sep 7, 2015
    6
    IMO this is the worst season of the show...............................................................................................................................
  13. Aug 6, 2015
    7
    The first half of the season was quite disappointing. It spends way too much time caught up on one character. This emphasizes what I have said in a previous review about the show having weaker characters compared to other shows. The over concentration on one character means that some characters (obviously not Beth) are neglected in terms of character development. This goes some way toThe first half of the season was quite disappointing. It spends way too much time caught up on one character. This emphasizes what I have said in a previous review about the show having weaker characters compared to other shows. The over concentration on one character means that some characters (obviously not Beth) are neglected in terms of character development. This goes some way to losing some of the balance that season 1 had previously given the show. All of this being said, the latter half of the season was quite impressive, it has quite a few climactic moments as well as plenty of tension throughout. This makes for an average yet inconsistent season. Expand
  14. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Season two survives the walking dead thanks to a fascinating dissection of its characters. It may not be a step up from season one, but it's visually stunning and packs some heavy punches.
  15. May 28, 2015
    9
    Esta temporada es lo mejor de The Walking Dead. Un poco flojo tal vez, muchas charlas innecesarias pero valen la pena con sus Ășltimos 2 episodios. 9/10 Actuaciones geniales y historia buena, los zombies no pasan desapercibido
  16. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Season two survives the living dead thanks to a fascinating dissection of its characters. It may not be a step up from season one, but it's visually stunning and packs some heavy punches.
  17. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    Season 2 is so much better than season 1. Season 1 was good but the show stepped it up even more in the writing all the characters and everything that happened in season 2 was so good I love it!
  18. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    A lot of folks say that season 2 sucked or was too slow and I simply disagree. While of course season 2 was slow, in retrospect season 2 was really well written and has some great scenes and character development. I guess people don't really like to see character development in their shows. If you notice when a tv show has a slow burning episode with lots of development in it's charactersA lot of folks say that season 2 sucked or was too slow and I simply disagree. While of course season 2 was slow, in retrospect season 2 was really well written and has some great scenes and character development. I guess people don't really like to see character development in their shows. If you notice when a tv show has a slow burning episode with lots of development in it's characters people say it's boring and sucked and when there's an explosion they say they love it, it tells you something about people's tastes. They claim to like good writing but that's relative, to them good writing is simply explosions. Expand
  19. Sep 26, 2014
    1
    This season sucked. The first time I watched it I gave up on the show halfway through. When I started watching again later, I had to backtrack and wade through this muck to get to the good part.
  20. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    #KillCarl

    There is an uptick in the adventure from the initial character lay and as with every season an attempt to increase [needless] gore.

    Never have I longed to have a character killed off in a series: #KillCarl
  21. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Season two survives the living dead thanks to a fascinating dissection of its characters. It may not be a step up from season one, but it's visually stunning and packs some heavy punches.
  22. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 2 of Walking Dead Takes what was great in the previous and expands of everything making this the best show around. The walking dead legit, zombies is as common as zombies these days. But the story told is so well done! and the bigger budget really gives this series a whole know level of ideas and effects. Great acting! awesome zombies, and coll script. Will continuously leave you wanting more. Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    The best season of The Walking Dead to date. Yes the first half does have a lot of filler but the payoff is so great that I didn't even care. The second half of the season is just non-stop fantastic television.
  24. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Really boring and slow in the beginning, but the show gets way better in the second half. This season alos has the best finale to date as it was crazy.
  25. Jun 9, 2014
    5
    The zombie killing scene is as cruel as Season 1, but The Walking Dead Season 2 is boring. The plot is very retarded. I mean... what is the point of rescuing a guy and then lock him in a hut and then torture him and then kill him. These plot is pointless and it takes 3 or 4 episode in the whole season. The character of the protagonist make me feel that they are an annoying villain. It isThe zombie killing scene is as cruel as Season 1, but The Walking Dead Season 2 is boring. The plot is very retarded. I mean... what is the point of rescuing a guy and then lock him in a hut and then torture him and then kill him. These plot is pointless and it takes 3 or 4 episode in the whole season. The character of the protagonist make me feel that they are an annoying villain. It is just not as good as Season 1 and it is rather disappointing. Expand
  26. May 18, 2014
    7
    Not as good as the first season for sure. Some episodes were really boring and barley had anything happen in them that were important. Still some cool fight scenes and acting is still good. This season had some good character development but just some bland stories.The last couple episodes of the season were really good though.
  27. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    The greatest thing about Season 2 is the fact that the Drama, even thought it may be a bit jarring and characters make some rather annoying decisions, is very spot on followed by some very satisfying kills and you can tell that time and effect went into the creation of this season, I mean who can say that the ending of Season 2 was terrible. only real complains about season 2 is pasting isThe greatest thing about Season 2 is the fact that the Drama, even thought it may be a bit jarring and characters make some rather annoying decisions, is very spot on followed by some very satisfying kills and you can tell that time and effect went into the creation of this season, I mean who can say that the ending of Season 2 was terrible. only real complains about season 2 is pasting is very slow and at times did almost boar me to tears, yet zombie killing and moments with Shane are just TENSE

    8/10
    Expand
  28. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    Significantly less well written than the first season. The Sophia fiasco that is the main plot-line of the first half of the season drags on and on and is just plainly boring. The only truly great part of the first half was the mid-season finale. The second half, however, is much better. The writing focuses on a very person vs person conflict that is interesting to watch and allows forSignificantly less well written than the first season. The Sophia fiasco that is the main plot-line of the first half of the season drags on and on and is just plainly boring. The only truly great part of the first half was the mid-season finale. The second half, however, is much better. The writing focuses on a very person vs person conflict that is interesting to watch and allows for great character development. The second half really makes up for the flaws in the first half and makes the season overall good. Expand
  29. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    If the first season was perfection, in my opinion this is the perfect example of the "Sophomore Slump". It is still a great show, but it strayed far from the source material and spent (again, in my opinion) too much time at the farm. Overall though, the season ended on a high note and really picked up in the second half of the season. Still a great show and the perfect example of whyIf the first season was perfection, in my opinion this is the perfect example of the "Sophomore Slump". It is still a great show, but it strayed far from the source material and spent (again, in my opinion) too much time at the farm. Overall though, the season ended on a high note and really picked up in the second half of the season. Still a great show and the perfect example of why network TV is dead. Expand
  30. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    This is undoubtedly the most riveting season of The Walking Dead yet. One part of the plot done impeccably well is Shane's oncoming mania. It proves that an apocalyptic wasteland can truly change the morals of those involved. Another interesting example of moral changes is Carl Grimes' transformation from the innocent son that missed his father to a doubtful, atheistic foul-mouth. ExtremeThis is undoubtedly the most riveting season of The Walking Dead yet. One part of the plot done impeccably well is Shane's oncoming mania. It proves that an apocalyptic wasteland can truly change the morals of those involved. Another interesting example of moral changes is Carl Grimes' transformation from the innocent son that missed his father to a doubtful, atheistic foul-mouth. Extreme character development on this season's part. It is more fast-moving than the first season and refrains from Rick's family reunion and thusly makes room for other characters. It is interesting to see how the consciences of the characters have dissipated and that makes it remarkable. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Oct 21, 2011
    60
    As we head into Season 2, it's becoming increasingly clear that they [the actors] can't make these characters interesting, because they're too thinly conceived.
  2. Reviewed by: Michelle Welch
    Oct 20, 2011
    80
    In many ways, it was where the series ought to have begun.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 17, 2011
    80
    The show creates tension--through atmosphere and characters the audience cares about--and offers so many make-you-jump scares that by the end of an episode, you're left breathless.