• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1410 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 6, 2018
    9
    The show moves into showing us that humans are just as if not more dangerous than the dead. While it doesn’t handle that aspect perfectly, the show continues to excel

    Rating - 89%
  2. Feb 11, 2018
    9
    Another excellent season of the walking dead, the characters, story-telling and special effects are all masterful again, if not perfect. Not only that, but it quite possibly has one of the best villians ever to appear on television, and the new characters introduced are pretty decent as well. The only dissapointing thing about this season for me is I felt the finale was a littleAnother excellent season of the walking dead, the characters, story-telling and special effects are all masterful again, if not perfect. Not only that, but it quite possibly has one of the best villians ever to appear on television, and the new characters introduced are pretty decent as well. The only dissapointing thing about this season for me is I felt the finale was a little under-whelming compared to the rest of the season, I just felt nothing game-changing really happened. However that doesn't take away my overall positive opinion on this season, massive improvement over season 2. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2017
    10
    Una temporada asombrosa, está al nivel de la primera, tensión, acción y emocion todas expresadas al maximo hicieron de esta temporada una de las mejores.
  4. Nov 5, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here's where the walking dead really starts to pick up it's pace. At this point a villain comes into play and we start to feel like it's less the walkers but people we need to worry about. Beginning to fall in love with these characters and when they finally settle in the prison feels like an achievement. The governor will always be a great villain. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2017
    10
    In season 3 'The Walking Dead' focuses on two main plots that were more dramatic than TWD ever was:
    First plot is Andrea who gets to Woodbury, a town built up by 'The Governor', the first real antagonist of 'The Walking Dead'. He's introduced perfectly and his actor is in my opinion the best of season 3.
    Second plot is the group around Rick who finds a prison and wants to civilize there,
    In season 3 'The Walking Dead' focuses on two main plots that were more dramatic than TWD ever was:
    First plot is Andrea who gets to Woodbury, a town built up by 'The Governor', the first real antagonist of 'The Walking Dead'. He's introduced perfectly and his actor is in my opinion the best of season 3.
    Second plot is the group around Rick who finds a prison and wants to civilize there, but of course they are not the only ones who wants a safe place and so they have to defend it from walkers and people.
    And these plots get linked when some well-known-character takes Glenn and Maggie as prisoner of Woodbury to find out where he can find his brother. And so Rick's group starts a war against Woodbury to free them and so it's get a dramatic and tense, but not less bloody story about fighting for friendship and to survive in a world where usually only the fittest survive.
    For me TWD is in season 3 better than anytime before, so you have high-level acting, new characters that are fitting perfectly old characters that some may viewers may have missed, more drama, more tension, more onerous decisions and especially more blood and guts
    Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2017
    8
    To see the third season rise from the wreckage of the first two seasons with a switch of producers and ownerships is a miracle, because not only does the series stay on course but also rise far above its predecessors. Season 3, I would argue, is one of the best seasons for The Walking Dead. The introduction of the prison, the Governor and other new characters hammers down on the trueTo see the third season rise from the wreckage of the first two seasons with a switch of producers and ownerships is a miracle, because not only does the series stay on course but also rise far above its predecessors. Season 3, I would argue, is one of the best seasons for The Walking Dead. The introduction of the prison, the Governor and other new characters hammers down on the true killers of the new world; humans. To see the quality set much higher here due to the lack of it in the past goes a long ways. There is still problems with this season of course, but it made far smarter choices for the characters along with better performances. Seeing Carl kill his mom, Andrea die, and the deception of the Governor really was a risk that AMC took with showing it to the audience. I understand Andrea dying is consider a grave sin because of her long life in the comics, but how she dies breaks the convention of the cliche the action set pieces have and subverts our expectations that she some badass that can deal with anything and not really be threatened that continues to be a major problem in the series. Regardless, season 3 is able to hold its own than both season 1 and 2 could do combined and youd be forgiven if you never watched those two and simply thought season 3 was 1. Such a stark contrast with quality, acting and writing goes a long ways. Bumpy, but worth riding through. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 3 introduces lots of notable characters such as Michonne, Milton, The Governor and we see what has become of Merle we also see the main locations of the show The Prison and Woodburry the group settle at the prison and a maniacal psychopath who steals supplies from the military as well as other groups known as the Governor runs Woodburry. We also see Rick's conflict with The Governor a well done antagonist. The prison is attacked leading several times the first time it is a zombie invasion and leas to the death of Lorrie who has a baby. They discover they are not alone and find prisoners some turn out to be beneficial however others try to betray Rick and his group so Rick kills them or they die off. Rick's group ends up attacking Woodbury to save Andrea and a firefight occurs where many die and The Governor declares hostility with Rick so he attempts to unsuccessfully attack the Prison several battles ensure and an a failed negotiation for Michonne brings tensions further as She kills the Governor's daughter and stabs his eye. Merle in an attempt to end it tries to kill the Gov but fails and is instead killed. The Governor orders an attack but Ricks group prepares and vacates the prison temporary while Glenn and Maggie lock it down with heavy fire power. After his people refuse to fight the Gov kills his own people out of rage leaving few alive such as Martinez and Shrumper also Axel a good prisoner is assassinated by the Gov after an attack on the prison earlier. Rick's group takes in the Gov's people and the Governor looses everything so he burns down Woodbury and becomes a deserter. This season had a nice blend of action and horror and developing the governor meanwhile other characters experience small changes like Carl's maturity and Hershel's new look Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2017
    7
    After a regular second season, the series had to keep us interested in the plot, and they succeeded. The prison is a great place and the conflict with The Governor was very good (also a great new character too). It solves the second season's main problem and its plot is so much interesting now. Great new characters, the return of one of the best characters in the series, and a complex warAfter a regular second season, the series had to keep us interested in the plot, and they succeeded. The prison is a great place and the conflict with The Governor was very good (also a great new character too). It solves the second season's main problem and its plot is so much interesting now. Great new characters, the return of one of the best characters in the series, and a complex war between two communities will keep us wanting more. There are a few filler episodes but there are also great ones. The acting is getting better, also the special effects, and the main character's development (both old and new) is okay. The finale was kind of a shame because it was not what I expected and I believe it was just a trick in order to needlessly extend the plot. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2016
    10
    good Easily the best show on television, and the prison adds new drama. Less soap operaish and much more actions, blood, guts, and Rick committing crimes against zombies.
  10. Oct 15, 2016
    10
    As The Walking Dead enters season 3 we start seeing some more human villains instead of it being just zombies which is what season 1 and most of season 2 were. The introduction of The Governor was just awesome he is such an amazing character to add into the series.
  11. Apr 6, 2016
    10
    The show is reinvented, the prison is absolutely perfect and a paradox in itself as its a enclosing institution that actually frees them. be ready for a great season fans!
  12. Feb 28, 2016
    9
    The Walking Dead still has the occasional issues with awkward dialogue or pacing (although there are thankfully no plots like season 2's 'search for Sophia' that take up more time than they should) but virtually every episode makes for intense, entertaining drama and I often find myself sitting and watching 3 or 4 episodes in a day.

    Season 4 here we come!
  13. Nov 17, 2015
    10
    The Walking Dead it's really good, the best tv series, the season 3 is the best season of this serie. The Walking Dead it's something different of all
  14. Aug 6, 2015
    7
    This is a good season. The prison setting shows that the show can be innovative in it's approach to the story. The irony surrounding the prison being used as a safe haven is fresh as well. The inbalance in terms of character concentration has not been carried over from season 2, which is relieving to say the least. The story doesn't compromise itself nor do it's characters. Truthfully,This is a good season. The prison setting shows that the show can be innovative in it's approach to the story. The irony surrounding the prison being used as a safe haven is fresh as well. The inbalance in terms of character concentration has not been carried over from season 2, which is relieving to say the least. The story doesn't compromise itself nor do it's characters. Truthfully, they compliment each other, but I cannot turn a blind eye to the way that the 'fillers' are still easily recognizable. In terms of the plot, 'The Governor' became a personal favorite of mine as did the cute little town of Woodbury. Season 3 is entertaining and shows signs of consistency, and for those reasons it deserves some recognition. Expand
  15. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Introducing a ruthless antagonist and including more guts and gore than its predecessor, season three gets the job done in spectacular fashion. The finale may disappoint some, but it's nothing too unbearable.
  16. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Introducing a ruthless antagonist and including more guts and gore than its predecessor, season three gets the job done in spectacular fashion. The finale may disappoint some, but it's nothing too unbearable.
  17. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    Wow that's all I can say for this season it was amazing so much happened here. All the characters that dealt with the problems with being on the road and everything it was amazing god this show keeps getting better and better.
  18. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    Season 3 is very unique in the series in that it was a well known season for starting out with a bang, the episodes just kept on coming, I believe it was when everyone was watching the walking dead, probably even the breaking bad audience. Anyways some people consider season 3 as the best season, and I agree in that it was pretty great but not because it was fast paced but it had a lot ofSeason 3 is very unique in the series in that it was a well known season for starting out with a bang, the episodes just kept on coming, I believe it was when everyone was watching the walking dead, probably even the breaking bad audience. Anyways some people consider season 3 as the best season, and I agree in that it was pretty great but not because it was fast paced but it had a lot of interesting things for one the prison and Woodbury, both locations are characters in of themselves, they both have a "feel" to them, we spend so much time between those two locations that we sort build a map in our minds makes us feel like were there. Season 3 was great for it's conflicts, how much the characters have changed, and the arcs season 3 has. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    The walking dead is a tv series full of amazing plot twists and exciting events. The characters are colourful, and most watchers have an emotional resonance while watching, due to the fact the characters are colourful. The watchers connection to a character is strong, but is normally broken. The plot itself is interesting and will keep the watcher watching. A lot of the time you will findThe walking dead is a tv series full of amazing plot twists and exciting events. The characters are colourful, and most watchers have an emotional resonance while watching, due to the fact the characters are colourful. The watchers connection to a character is strong, but is normally broken. The plot itself is interesting and will keep the watcher watching. A lot of the time you will find it hard not to be watching the walking dead as most episodes are exciting and cliffhanger esque. Overall It is a well mad e tv series, which I would recommend Expand
  20. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Introducing a ruthless antagonist and including more guts and gore than its predecessor, season three gets the job done in spectacular fashion. The finale may disappoint some, but it's nothing too unbearable.
  21. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    My favorite series of all time! This season and half of season 4 were both focused on the prison and the governor. It was a hectic season with alot of scary and intense moment's with alot of sad moment's that really kept me wanting more. But after a few hour's of watching the governor i was getting kind of sick of him, he was a good character but i just felt like they spent to much time onMy favorite series of all time! This season and half of season 4 were both focused on the prison and the governor. It was a hectic season with alot of scary and intense moment's with alot of sad moment's that really kept me wanting more. But after a few hour's of watching the governor i was getting kind of sick of him, he was a good character but i just felt like they spent to much time on focusing on humans vs humans than focusing on the main part of the series, zombie's. 4 episodes of the governor and i was sick of all the humans vs humans, but i still watched because it was still a good series. Now that there focusing on zombie's again i feel the show is going to be alot more epic! Season three is a good season, not the best of the walking dead. Too much of the prison made me feel kinda bored of seeing it. But i still did enjoy the season because it took you to a new enemy that was more of a threat than the zombie's. Expand
  22. Jun 25, 2014
    7
    The third season of The Walking Dead is an uneven one. However there are great moments especially in the first half of the season. The second half plods along and nothing really happens. However the first half was so good that I didn't mind.
  23. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best season for sure as we are in a new location, more deaths and twists, an awesome and deadly villain, better supporting cast and a more interesting story to along with it.
  24. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    Esta temporada fue mejor que la segunda pero no tan brillante como la primera, razones, pues la 1era mitad de temporada fue buena, pero es en la segunda parte donde pecan en lo que es alargar la trama, episodios de relleno sin un fin de avanzar la trama, y un final de temporada algo decepcionante.
  25. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    Probably the best season out of the first 3 seasons! I was losing hope in season 2. but the show turned around! When you cant wait till you see the next episode, that means it a good show! and this is it!
  26. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My hopes were very high going into season 3 after a fantastic pay off for the overall very successful season 2 and I was rewarded by an action packed opening couple of episodes that just built the momentum more and more. Andrew Lincoln has always made this a show well worth watching however for me he shares the glory with David Morrissey's take on the Governor who is one of the most intimidating villains I've seen on tv. The pace is slowed slightly as the writers try to emphasise the stark differences between life at the prison and life at Woodbury but also in the way both groups are led. The theme of leadership is key throughout this season. The menace and threat is worked even higher as Rick and the Governor's paths finally cross but disappointingly this is also where the season loses momentum slightly. New characters are introduced but are given so little development that it's impossible to be invested with them at this point and things are slowed still by Rick's inner turmoil by events previous. Thematically for me the season works perfectly, it's execution at times is questionable especially with the writers treatment of Andrea whose incomprehensible decision making at times really tests the viewers patience and sympathy. Despite a promising build-up it doesn't quite deliver in the finale which remains the most disappointing of the three full seasons so far however there is enough drama, action and threat throughout to make this still a compelling season. Expand
  27. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Although the season as a whole is much more solid it still has its downfalls. The Woodbury plot lasted just a bit longer than it should have and so did the Rick-Lori plot. That said it was a very interesting and entertaining season and it did correct a lot of the flaws of the second season but it didn't quite correct them enough.
  28. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    This show is still in my top 2 all time (right behind GoT), but it took a slight step back this season for me. Maybe it's because I love the comics and the stories they told, and that is probably true. The comics are some of the best story telling in any form since The Watchmen graphic novel. I thought they couldn't miss it when the said they were bringing in the Governor one of the bestThis show is still in my top 2 all time (right behind GoT), but it took a slight step back this season for me. Maybe it's because I love the comics and the stories they told, and that is probably true. The comics are some of the best story telling in any form since The Watchmen graphic novel. I thought they couldn't miss it when the said they were bringing in the Governor one of the best villain characters in the past 20 years in any form. But they really dropped the ball with him and are going to stretch out his story too long. Still, the show is very strong at giving us zombie action and great stories just please don't drag out a character like Andrea ever again on the show. Expand
  29. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    Não consegue ser melhor que a primeira e a segunda temporada mesmo assim a adição de novos personagens faz a gente se envolver em uma trama mau manuseada e fraca que ao mesmo tempo boa mais não tanto.
  30. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    This 3rd season was good. The 2nd season is still better. The 4th season is bad. I have seen the first 7 episodes of the fourth season and the writers must be different. I recommend the other ones if you are starting to get into the series.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 70
    There's still a sense that The Walking Dead is shambling along too lackadaisically. Great pulp is propulsive, ruthless. But the show's embrace of "B"-movie values is a heartening sign.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 12, 2012
    70
    The Walking Dead is extremely realistic about the decayed, vast, destroyed world, and dopily idealistic about its main character.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    If early episodes are any indication, Season 3 will provide a glorious payoff for those EST-ian weeks down on the farm.