• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    This is a good season. The prison setting shows that the show can be innovative in it's approach to the story. The irony surrounding the prison being used as a safe haven is fresh as well. The inbalance in terms of character concentration has not been carried over from season 2, which is relieving to say the least. The story doesn't compromise itself nor do it's characters. Truthfully,This is a good season. The prison setting shows that the show can be innovative in it's approach to the story. The irony surrounding the prison being used as a safe haven is fresh as well. The inbalance in terms of character concentration has not been carried over from season 2, which is relieving to say the least. The story doesn't compromise itself nor do it's characters. Truthfully, they compliment each other, but I cannot turn a blind eye to the way that the 'fillers' are still easily recognizable. In terms of the plot, 'The Governor' became a personal favorite of mine as did the cute little town of Woodbury. Season 3 is entertaining and shows signs of consistency, and for those reasons it deserves some recognition. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So this season a lot of stuff happens, Like a lot, more than season 2, however a show about characters... with no character development after about the 10th episode of this season.. is pretty **** ashame until the finale... which is 6 episodes later.. so the first half was excellent, and so was the finale, the govenors not dead though... God.. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    Based on the first episode, it seems to have got off to a good start. Of course, there are few things that immediately grab my attention/piss me off: Carl, a young boy with very little to no experience in using guns, can suddenly pull off headshots from on top of a tower using nothing but a handgun, and the way the exchange of fluid theory seems to have gone out of the window. Aside fromBased on the first episode, it seems to have got off to a good start. Of course, there are few things that immediately grab my attention/piss me off: Carl, a young boy with very little to no experience in using guns, can suddenly pull off headshots from on top of a tower using nothing but a handgun, and the way the exchange of fluid theory seems to have gone out of the window. Aside from those, it was good; it kept up the tension throughout, and I quite like how Rick has become a much stronger leader. My only hope for this season, is that A) it doesn't stay confined to that prison - I don't want another repeat of season 2, and B) they somehow kill off Andrea, because frankly I can't stand her. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    This show plays hide and seek with plausibility and verisimilitude, neither of those being particularly abetted by the acting, writing or even the directing. The acting is often just annoying. (Hey, Andrew Lincoln, gritting your teeth is not really acting, it's just gritting your teeth). I like the prison setting for this season and I like the fact that Lori admits she is a bad motherThis show plays hide and seek with plausibility and verisimilitude, neither of those being particularly abetted by the acting, writing or even the directing. The acting is often just annoying. (Hey, Andrew Lincoln, gritting your teeth is not really acting, it's just gritting your teeth). I like the prison setting for this season and I like the fact that Lori admits she is a bad mother (wayyyy overdue, mind you). This show has occasionally pulled off some doozy twists I've enjoyed immensely but there is so much B-movie flat acting and clunky dialogue you have to endure to find those fleeting instances of excellence. I think they are missing Frank Darabont... or they are certainly losing something as this continues. I might give up if things don't pick up soon. (This is written after two episodes, folks.) Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    This show has slowly been drifting away from the formula that made it such a good series to begin with. The first season was awesome. It had a perfect blend of character development, gore, suspense and a really good feeling, one that you'd associate with a zombie apocalypse, Very grim with a hint of "I don't know what the F%#K happened" suspense you shared with Rick which kept meThis show has slowly been drifting away from the formula that made it such a good series to begin with. The first season was awesome. It had a perfect blend of character development, gore, suspense and a really good feeling, one that you'd associate with a zombie apocalypse, Very grim with a hint of "I don't know what the F%#K happened" suspense you shared with Rick which kept me interested. Now, i hardly feel like i'm watching the same show. It really feels more and more like a soap opera. They took the spot light off the damn zombies! why?! Besides the occasional zombie encounter, it's filled with practically no tension. On top, they've made these zombies out to be more like obstacles rather than actual threats (walking the speed that a child crawls, goofy attacks with rare success). Give us some "28 days later" zombies please! And more of them!! Collapse
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    As a huge fan of the series, it pains me to say how much it falters. Season 3 barely just has me coming back to watch it, and I only watch it in hope to see an amazing episode. There are many dry moments throughout the season, and the action doesn't feel as good as it was in the first season. The Walking Dead needs to solve their problems because it's been going downhill since Season 2.As a huge fan of the series, it pains me to say how much it falters. Season 3 barely just has me coming back to watch it, and I only watch it in hope to see an amazing episode. There are many dry moments throughout the season, and the action doesn't feel as good as it was in the first season. The Walking Dead needs to solve their problems because it's been going downhill since Season 2. This show is the most overrated show ever made as well because it focuses on zombies, which has become a huge trend in the world. If you want a perfect show to watch, watch Breaking Bad. And if you want another amazing series, watch Homeland. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    Season 3 is severly disappointing.The first half of season 3 was excellent and full of tension and I honestly believed that the show has finally hit a stride and fixed it's numerous short-comings(poor dialogue,shoddy writing,boredom). I was wrong.The second half was terrible and full of clichés and mundane,unintersting storylines that were apparently building towards a "War" withSeason 3 is severly disappointing.The first half of season 3 was excellent and full of tension and I honestly believed that the show has finally hit a stride and fixed it's numerous short-comings(poor dialogue,shoddy writing,boredom). I was wrong.The second half was terrible and full of clichés and mundane,unintersting storylines that were apparently building towards a "War" with Woodbury.This "War" never happened and it felt the season built towards absolutely nothing.The amount of filler used this season is inexcusable.I am no longer a viewer of The Walking Dead after this season.I enjoy the episode video-game and the comics,but the TV show is going nowhere. Expand
  8. Oct 3, 2013
    6
    It's still kinda entertaining, the effects are good and the atmosphere often great, but in Season 3 I have the feeling that the writing is going downhill in a hurry. For lack of any better ideas, some old fashinoned western clishee (aka the governor) is introduced as a villain, probably to cover the fact that the writers have no bloody idea how else to continue keeping suspense and aIt's still kinda entertaining, the effects are good and the atmosphere often great, but in Season 3 I have the feeling that the writing is going downhill in a hurry. For lack of any better ideas, some old fashinoned western clishee (aka the governor) is introduced as a villain, probably to cover the fact that the writers have no bloody idea how else to continue keeping suspense and a feeling of constant threat up without the characters acting bloody frackin stupid...
    For a horror show to work, the viewer needs either to like the characters or to be able to identify with them. Otherwise, seeing them in danger and being killed off will just invoke a shrug.
    In season 3, I have more and more trouble to like the characters. Identifying with them was already done in season 2...
    Come on, we're 10 MONTHS into the zombie apocalypse and folks STILL run around walkers in a bloody tank top? I mean, really, even for a lack of some kevlar, *I* have a bloody leather jacket in my closet. Every home improvement store carries some cut-resistant gloves and trousers for woodwork. Some leather suit from the biker store? Hello?
    No, 10 months after the fact, folks still get bitten for walking by a corpse without making sure it stays dead, they STILL argue about leaving behind friends that got bitten and they STILL leave people that have proven themselves a deadly danger run unchecked.
    It's starting to get boring and repetitive and annoying, and without Michonne, Carl and Michael Rooker acting everyone's a** off, the season would fall into mediocrity.
    Oh, and, Andrea is being so blonde it hurts. :-P
    Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season three is a major improvement from season two. It brings life back into the characters who are two dimensional cut-outs. Although I'm happy they add new characters, settings and events that separate it from the comics, I was expecting an absolute brilliant season considering how scary and insane the Governor is but it strays so far from the original source material that it majorly lacks the same excitement the comics had involving the Governor.

    This season also proved to me that the writers cannot write women, it is only Carol and Michonne that I can actually stand.
    Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2014
    6
    #KillCarl

    Never have I longed to have a character killed off in a series. Aside from the horrific tedium of Carl, #KillCarl, there is a mild prison stability which tires the viewer.
  11. Oct 23, 2012
    5
    Gore and zombie effects: 10; Character dialogue: 5; Intelligence: 0. C'mon guys... just kill the zombies through the fence. Easy peasy. All I want from this show is for the characters to act intelligently -- do the things real people would do -- which they rarely do. We're leaps and bounds past the idiocy of the first couple of seasons, but we could do better.
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    What started off as an excellent undead survival series quickly went downhill as it essentially became a war between humans and less of an actually survival story. While part 1 of Series 3 kinda went down the right path, it made a left turn in part 2 and became everything that The Walking Dead is not. A slow paced, dragged out series with nothing that would draw viewers attention as aWhat started off as an excellent undead survival series quickly went downhill as it essentially became a war between humans and less of an actually survival story. While part 1 of Series 3 kinda went down the right path, it made a left turn in part 2 and became everything that The Walking Dead is not. A slow paced, dragged out series with nothing that would draw viewers attention as a whole. Eight episodes separated the initial conflict with the final conflict only to be highly disappointing. The series could have cut out episodes 10 16 and nothing would be missed. Instead it was dragged out with boring fillers, unnecessary build ups and again, almost nothing to do with zombie outbreak survival. Series 1 was great, Series 2 was great, Series 3 part 1 was good but part 2 was just an outright disappointment. And what is with Rick playing happy families at the END OF THE FINALE. The closing 3 minutes contradicts everything that Rick stood for in his role over the group. Expand
  13. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Unfortunately The Walking dead Season 3 is not as good as season 1 and 2, it's only about blood, guns and shooting around. That Far west-Bad man (the Governor) VS good man (Rick Grimes) is nothing new. Especially the second half of the season is quite boring in my opinion. I also think it's useless introducing a character (the Governor) who wants to heal zombies and wants to keep hisUnfortunately The Walking dead Season 3 is not as good as season 1 and 2, it's only about blood, guns and shooting around. That Far west-Bad man (the Governor) VS good man (Rick Grimes) is nothing new. Especially the second half of the season is quite boring in my opinion. I also think it's useless introducing a character (the Governor) who wants to heal zombies and wants to keep his turned-into-zombie daughter "alive" when they already showed something like that on season 2 with farmer Hershel. I missed Shane watching season 3, a real and interesting controversial character. I hope they are going to do something better on season 4. Expand
  14. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    The first half of was kinda good. Feature some relentlessly, intense and emotional episodes. It was darker, the new addition of an antagonist proved that the show could be the next top drama. However, then came episodes where it dropped the ball. It completely lost focus, it's characters became poorly written, all these minor characters that seemed to be getting more and more screen timeThe first half of was kinda good. Feature some relentlessly, intense and emotional episodes. It was darker, the new addition of an antagonist proved that the show could be the next top drama. However, then came episodes where it dropped the ball. It completely lost focus, it's characters became poorly written, all these minor characters that seemed to be getting more and more screen time that didn't go anywhere, a subplot with Rick going mad became over done, episodes became poorly paced and of course it's finale left with a wimper.

    S1 still remains the best. Last of half of S2 was pretty good, for the most part, the first half of S3 was pretty good.
    Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. Failure. Spoilers follow. I feel like the original writers are completely gone, or they just ran out of ideas. Too much generic horror movie stuff, nonsensical zombies appearing out of nowhere, pointless relationships, and total failure to represent characters from the comic(except Michonne I guess, who still isn't accurate but I actually like her better in the show). Tyreese was absolutely epic in the comic, why even include him if you are just going to waste the reference? The governor, god... I don't even know where to start. If you want a totally different character with a couple of small references to the comic, make a new one. The show's governor is a complete waste of time, and the longer they draw that crap out the worse it makes everyone look. This guy with no police or military training can chase a bad-ass woman who can clearly handle herself, announcing himself as he goes, and she chooses to hide scared like a teenage girl in a horror movie over and over again instead of kill him. She also gets made into a complete moron for seeing how horrible this guy was and just writing it off repeatedly. Then we have Merle, who up until the end was portrayed as someone that nobody wanted to mess with, and because a few people kicked him while he was on the ground covering up(wouldn't that just anger the Merle we've known till now?), the governor totally destroys him in hand to hand combat, disarming him and killing him without suffering a scratch. Andrea and the Governor are portrayed pretty excellently in the comics, so to see these ideas reused in a much worse way makes little sense at all. Basically, if you've read the comic, don't bother with the show anymore. The comic is intelligent, character driven, and makes sense the majority of the time. The show has become a shadow of that, and I really feel like they have no good ideas of their own anymore so they keep going back and ripping off random stuff from the comic and changing the hell out of it for some reason in between bouts of ninja zombie packs. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    Episode #1 started off super stupid, but ended cool. Episode #2 was ok. Episode #3 through #8 were AWESOME, and I loved every one. Episode #9 to the end got worse & worse with each airing to the horrible final which left me totally not pumped for season 4.
  17. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season one is great. Season two and three turns the show in to a mostly boring soap opera mostly restricted to a few sets that for some reason are immune to the hordes of zombies we're told to expect in the first season. Shallowly drawn characters who act in completely contradictory ways provide the viewer no characters with which they can sympathize, as they repeatedly discuss their prior and future actions over and over again ad nauseam. The tension of being on the run that was established in season one is nowhere to be seen, as zombie attacks are easily fended off in the same way over and over again. Characters act in ways that make little to no logical sense, such as wandering around in the open after one of their number is sniped by an opposing group. Michael Rooker is one of the only saving graces of the show in terms of acting, and is reappearance is a welcome one. Unfortunately, his scenes just highlight the lack of skills of most of the other actors. To me, it's a big disappointment after season one. As a huge fan of the b-movie, grind-house zombie apocalypse genre, I think the show misses it entirely in season two and three. Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2013
    4
    The Walking Dead esta maior e com menos conteúdo racional, o roteiro insiste em fazer drama com banalidades e a narração repetitiva e cansativa, o numero de zumbis ao invés de diminuir só aumenta a cada temporada e a lógica passa cada vez mais longe da serie.
  19. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    I'm so done with this show. It is absolute crap compared to the comic. What was supposed to be an epic finale fell with a whimper. This is all too typical of this show. The overall story shuffles aimlessly with laughable character motivation and a total lack of development. Whether this is die toA MC meddling or just bad writing doesn't master. The show is a joke add only the zombies areI'm so done with this show. It is absolute crap compared to the comic. What was supposed to be an epic finale fell with a whimper. This is all too typical of this show. The overall story shuffles aimlessly with laughable character motivation and a total lack of development. Whether this is die toA MC meddling or just bad writing doesn't master. The show is a joke add only the zombies are consistent with their goals. This show is another typical example of hillto Hollywood under resourcing something which should have been great. Expand
  20. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    A soap opera with Zombies!!! Can't believe people like this drivel. It's trite and lacks any kind of original content. The acting is atrocious. The plot is dumb! Plot development has been replaced with effects and lame attempts of suspense. There are so many inconsistencies I can't believe anyone with any intelligence likes the way the writers have veered from Season 1 & 2.A soap opera with Zombies!!! Can't believe people like this drivel. It's trite and lacks any kind of original content. The acting is atrocious. The plot is dumb! Plot development has been replaced with effects and lame attempts of suspense. There are so many inconsistencies I can't believe anyone with any intelligence likes the way the writers have veered from Season 1 & 2. Woodberry is a joke...and the townspeople are laughable. It's all just melodrama...like I said, a soap opera with zombies!!! Expand
  21. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    Zombies!! Are you kidding!! At first I thought it was a comedy plot, after a while I realized that it was not, but could not see the drama, so I goggled it and found it was a Terror TV Series!!! Those zombies scare less than a golden retriever puppy!!!
  22. Mar 21, 2013
    0
    People arguing all time. No action, poor acting, poor directing, 0 apocalyptic feeling. I watched it 3 seasons in hope it get better, the first season 3 episodes were going in the right direction, but now I'm tired. This show is just terrible, I don't get how people can rate it so high, boring poor acted telenovela where zombies are rather victims of characters stupidity and not a threat.
  23. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    How many suspicious people question the Governor and then believe his delayed, fake-smiled, shifty eyed responses? How many characters KNOW what scum that guy is, had the chance to kill him, and didn't? They shoot people in the head who have died so they don't "turn"... Why does every character let this problem persist?

    It's easy to spot the difference between an antagonist's luck and
    How many suspicious people question the Governor and then believe his delayed, fake-smiled, shifty eyed responses? How many characters KNOW what scum that guy is, had the chance to kill him, and didn't? They shoot people in the head who have died so they don't "turn"... Why does every character let this problem persist?

    It's easy to spot the difference between an antagonist's luck and really bad story telling... and I was thinking that before the Governor started shooting his own people... including the guy who was already drawn on him... with an assault rifle... for five seconds... standing there like a deer statue in headlights... truly terrible.
    Expand
  24. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Rick was not a great leader, father or husband at all. The show would've been much better if Shane had lived instead! Every decision he made kept putting the team in jeopardy and the only thing or people he cared about was his whore wife Lauren. Shane said it b est when he said "Rick was not a great protector" so miss him!!!!!
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 70
    There's still a sense that The Walking Dead is shambling along too lackadaisically. Great pulp is propulsive, ruthless. But the show's embrace of "B"-movie values is a heartening sign.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 12, 2012
    70
    The Walking Dead is extremely realistic about the decayed, vast, destroyed world, and dopily idealistic about its main character.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    If early episodes are any indication, Season 3 will provide a glorious payoff for those EST-ian weeks down on the farm.