• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 825 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A man who leads a small survivors settlement in Woodbury by the name of The Governor (David Morrissey) causes trouble for Rick and company as they seek safety from zombies.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    The Walking Dead, the flat-out scariest, best, most unusual show to ever hit the small screen, is back, and I'm loving every sickening minute of it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 12, 2012
    90
    If you can handle it, The Walking Dead is grade-A terror.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 11, 2012
    88
    While Mazzara has amped up the action, he doesn't skimp on the angst.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    That the show delivered so ably under the stewardship of Glen Mazzara makes season three less surprising but no less riveting, with the first couple of episodes offering a buffet of character, tension and the inevitable can-you-top-this, stomach-churning gore.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    If early episodes are any indication, Season 3 will provide a glorious payoff for those EST-ian weeks down on the farm.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    Just the beginning scene, which lasts almost six minutes before anyone says a word, will plunge everyone right back into a world where there may be no way out.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 12, 2012
    70
    Sunday's premiere doesn't advance the story much--shades of early season two--but there's enough zombie carnage that fans of mayhem may not care.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 118
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Finally a series with great writers! The Walking Dead has great directors, actors and writing, I haven't seen a show that understood how to make the audience hang on every word, every breath, and always come out satisfied. If your not watching this our missing something special. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    While this show may be about dead, it is very much alive. And with every new season it is only getting better. If someone can digest the gore, there won't be any regrets. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Easily the best show on television, and the prison adds new drama. Less soap operaish and much more actions, blood, guts, and Rick committing crimes against zombies. Expand
  4. May 23, 2013
    9
    The best season of the series, so far. Best performances more epic moments, excellent script, perhaps the only thing that disappointed me was the end. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Season 1 and especially the first episode was amazing. One of the best pilots I've ever seen ever, and I think the only one I've ever watched twice it was that good. Season 2 dragged on and on and was boring for a long time, outside of episode #7 in season 2. Season 3's first two episodes felt like they dumbed down the show big time into a shooting fest with no thought or character reality. No one misses ever and everyone nails head shots including a 10-year old boy. I like how he is involved in the shooting but wish people would run out of ammo and start using other weapons and miss every now and again. Then episode 3 and 4 have happened, and WOW!. All I can say is wow oh wow. I cannot wait for the rest of the season and so glad I've stayed around. Episode 3 was just off the charts and 4 followed it right up. The director Guy Ferland seems to be involved every time the show just blows me away. Not sure if him or what but I want more and more now!! If you left because of stupid episodes 1/2 please come back and watch episode #3 and you will love this show again! Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Although the season as a whole is much more solid it still has its downfalls. The Woodbury plot lasted just a bit longer than it should have and so did the Rick-Lori plot. That said it was a very interesting and entertaining season and it did correct a lot of the flaws of the second season but it didn't quite correct them enough. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Rick was not a great leader, father or husband at all. The show would've been much better if Shane had lived instead! Every decision he made kept putting the team in jeopardy and the only thing or people he cared about was his whore wife Lauren. Shane said it b est when he said "Rick was not a great protector" so miss him!!!!! Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.