The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2509 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Engrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont'sEngrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont's influence is felt in the somewhat schlocky origin story arc and his trademark weakness for one-dimensional characterizations and shock kills - most notably in the gratuitous first scene - but this will hopefully ease up or disappear completely by season's end. At its worst it's a smartly adapted and compelling series that will let the zombie grow in ways it has and can not in film, tragically brief, and well worth! Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also,
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also, the show adds to the comic rather than just playing off of the comic. The emotion behind each choice for Rick Grimes is exaggerated in his expressions, the fear and hardship endured by everyone is prevalent in their actions and the overall scene is dismal, which is indicative to a zombie story.

    The acting is good so far, zombies are really good at being zombie and humans good at being humans. As for the story, I do know what to expect but I always wonder if there will be any twists or changes. All in all, this is a great show and only adds to the amazing AMC lineup. I would highly recommend anyone who can stomach the show, to watch it. This will definitely go down as one of the best zombie stories of all time.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale.
    Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'.
    Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show. Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale.
    Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'.

    Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show.

    Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl who always wants to shoot guns is annoying, Carl is deffo bent, t-dog is a **** the old camper man was cool, glen the Chinese guy is very likeable, daryl is legend, the farm man is good and Rick is a BOSS! Very well acted for a out of nowhere tv show.

    Lets hope it stays this good and takes best tv show from Lost or the sopranos.
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    "The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is"The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is really just nitpicking when it comes down to it. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    The fact zombies are part of the content is secondary. The simple fact is Walking Dead is human nature showcased, its very touching because of this. Hopefully they remain true to the spirit of the books. WD is my favorite TV show of all time... One because I hate TV and two because I love exploring human nature. WD is awesome!

    BTW: I hate you!
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    "The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing"The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing but quality and well thought out shows and "TWD" is just that. Every week this show has kept me glued to the screen and it makes you really feel for the characters even though we have only known them for a short time. This show so far is a very faithful adaptation and if the episodes continue the way they have been (dark environments, great acting and relationships that you can feel for.) it is going to last for years to come. In two words; Just Awesome. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    I really like the series but the first season was too short so we didn't have time to see the story to develop or to be emotionally attached to the characters. But the best thing about "The Walking Dead" is its humanistic and realistic side. We testify how people must to adapt to a new way of living, how they deal with the danger, death, and above all, how they have to count on oneI really like the series but the first season was too short so we didn't have time to see the story to develop or to be emotionally attached to the characters. But the best thing about "The Walking Dead" is its humanistic and realistic side. We testify how people must to adapt to a new way of living, how they deal with the danger, death, and above all, how they have to count on one another in order to persevere. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    The season 2 premiere was edge-of-the-seat stuff, even given the fact they had to spend a little time re-establishing who's who. It was also quite possibly some of the goriest tv i've ever seen, but as always remains true to the plot, with excellent writing and fantastic special effects.
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    I originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let meI originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let me put it this way: If you watch Breaking Bad, imagine if every character in the show was Skyler White. The characters became whiny, sanctimonious and not very bright. A longer season didn't benefit the show, as every episode has filler of people whining nonstop until something happens. The show has turned into a cliched horror movie, with characters so stupid you root for the zombies to finish them off. I have read the comics, and it's not like that, so I hope the show gets better and I'm willing to improve my score if it does. Expand
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    Absolutely brilliant...!!
    An anguishing and realistic post-apocalyptic atmosphere but without the regular "stressful" tricks used in movies (e.g. scary music with camera focus on a door where a zombie is supposedly hiding)... the images are impressive too and the storyline is really captivating!
    This show is really scary, just try to go outside after watching some episodes and the streets
    Absolutely brilliant...!!
    An anguishing and realistic post-apocalyptic atmosphere but without the regular "stressful" tricks used in movies (e.g. scary music with camera focus on a door where a zombie is supposedly hiding)... the images are impressive too and the storyline is really captivating!
    This show is really scary, just try to go outside after watching some episodes and the streets will definitely look different and strange... scary I said but in a good way... zombies are everywhere, but don't expect to see zombie fights & blood 100% of the time! (that's another good point for the show!)

    For the fans of the comics, since I haven't read the comics (yet) it is difficult for me to compare... or to de disappointed in any way!
    Expand
  11. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    Season 1 of The Walking Dead is simply amazing. The Show doesn't reinvent the "zombie apocalypse" or even come close. A lot of things can be familiar to anyone who's watched a few zombie movies, but this keeps you on your feet feeling a zombie expert watching their prey barely escape death constantly. The acting is great. The effects are fantastic for television. If you watch this season,Season 1 of The Walking Dead is simply amazing. The Show doesn't reinvent the "zombie apocalypse" or even come close. A lot of things can be familiar to anyone who's watched a few zombie movies, but this keeps you on your feet feeling a zombie expert watching their prey barely escape death constantly. The acting is great. The effects are fantastic for television. If you watch this season, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  12. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Somebody pinch me. I honestly think i'm dreaming because never in a million years would I think a successful zombie-themed television show be on the air. The Walking Dead is based on a series of comic books of the same name that are written by Robert Kirkman after first being published in 2003. This show has essential features from many other great TV programs, books and films. The actingSomebody pinch me. I honestly think i'm dreaming because never in a million years would I think a successful zombie-themed television show be on the air. The Walking Dead is based on a series of comic books of the same name that are written by Robert Kirkman after first being published in 2003. This show has essential features from many other great TV programs, books and films. The acting is on par for some of the best presently on the small screen. One drawback is how short the first season is with only six episodes. Expand
  13. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    I can't stand people hating this for no reason, this is one of the best shows i have ever seen. No one, and i repeat no one have ever done this before, getting the whole zombie apocalypse plot and putting it together for a TV show with such brilliance is just amazing. I wasn't sure i'll ever watch this show but i did somehow just to see if i like it and since then i am a big fan. This showI can't stand people hating this for no reason, this is one of the best shows i have ever seen. No one, and i repeat no one have ever done this before, getting the whole zombie apocalypse plot and putting it together for a TV show with such brilliance is just amazing. I wasn't sure i'll ever watch this show but i did somehow just to see if i like it and since then i am a big fan. This show is brilliantly paced and acted with many scenes that gives you heart stopping thrills and chills. The good thing is that it is written perfectly so it doesn't comes off as a cheap show with Zombies and all. Just brilliant. Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best shows of all time. It ranks second on my list of best TV shows of all time behind only Firefly. There is so many things that I love with the show, the one that I love the most are the characters. You can actually see them grow and feel for them. This is not one of those unrealistic zombie shoot 'em show, this is a realistic survival show which is amazing.This is by far one of the best shows of all time. It ranks second on my list of best TV shows of all time behind only Firefly. There is so many things that I love with the show, the one that I love the most are the characters. You can actually see them grow and feel for them. This is not one of those unrealistic zombie shoot 'em show, this is a realistic survival show which is amazing. Every waking moment of this show I am on the edge of my seat anticipation whats going to happen next. Expand
  15. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    what a great show! I have just caught up with the 2nd season now and it is probably better than the 1st already! why I only give it a 9 though is because the first season was maybe too short and also I didn't enjoy the last episode at all..so that's a 9 for season 1 and a 10 for season 2 so far!
  16. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    After an overall solid first series yet a slow start to series 2, thw walking dead has finally reclaimed itself in my top 5 series of current times. Tension has been built up, the group is falling apart, things are getting epic again and i can't wait for the next 2 episodes.
  17. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Not slot of score but still. Story/adaption is great. It's so intense, it's just great. I think it was robbed in the Emmys. You couldn't ask for an even better beginning. Can't wait for the next season.
  18. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AMAZING! Everything I would expect but more! The suspense through the first season was awesome and the writers painted an amazing picture of the zombie apocalypse and how bad things were. Every character has it's own personality which makes you wonder as the show goes on how they will clash with other members of there camp. Every character can be related to in some aspect which makes it that more exciting to watch cause you think you know what the survivors will do next. The story always leads to new hope and also leads to great losses as well. Expand
  19. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    I didn't thought this series was that good. I watched it and I enjoyed it - that's the main part. And then I found out why it was this good. It's based on a comic book. It's pretty darn good. I love the characters, though I had some trouble with Rick's wife and Shane. This series is definitely in the current top 10.
  20. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    I don't understand how this hasn't got a higher score. The best show on TV in my opinion. More gripping and emotionally involving than anything else out there right now.
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Season 1 of The Walking Dead is truly amazing for those who like the constant tension and anxiety of survival. The wake of the apocalyptic event truly entails a scenery that is both nostalgic and frightening. The pacing of the storyline, the character backgrounds and their emotional roller coasters are well-balanced leaving you wanting more. So don't be surprised when you catch yourselfSeason 1 of The Walking Dead is truly amazing for those who like the constant tension and anxiety of survival. The wake of the apocalyptic event truly entails a scenery that is both nostalgic and frightening. The pacing of the storyline, the character backgrounds and their emotional roller coasters are well-balanced leaving you wanting more. So don't be surprised when you catch yourself watching episode after episode. Expand
  22. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    One of the most remarkable dramas on TV. Stunning, scary, disgusting, dramatic, suspenseful.........pure entertainment!!!! Don't miss it!!! Andrew Lincoln and Norman Reedus are the best in my opinion.
  23. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Conceptually, The Walking Dead had me sold from the very first episode. Zombie apocalypse, survival horror, intense drama between survivors...these are a few of my favorite things. Looking back on three seasons in the books, The Walking Dead peaked early and has hit a comfortable middle ground since. There are signs of things picking back up, as the 2nd and 3rd seasons almost feel likeConceptually, The Walking Dead had me sold from the very first episode. Zombie apocalypse, survival horror, intense drama between survivors...these are a few of my favorite things. Looking back on three seasons in the books, The Walking Dead peaked early and has hit a comfortable middle ground since. There are signs of things picking back up, as the 2nd and 3rd seasons almost feel like catalysts for what's bound to come next. Regardless, after three seasons, I feel comfortable in my opinion that this is the best non-HBO series to be found on television. Expand
  24. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This show is masterpiece. Every time I watch one episode, I want to go to the next episode. You get emotionally attached to the characters, and they kill them off, that makes you unpredictable of what is going to happen next
  25. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I am starting to fall in love with the brand new season (season 4) omg I just love the walking dead. The way they started episode 1 off was just genius. If you havnt watched it then I suggest you do! Here come the walkers!
  26. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This season of the walking dead is a good season so far and the governor is back. i do not want spoiled the next week episode of it is all about the governor again
  27. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    This show delivers until when it counts. The story lines are compelling, the situations are intense and the drama is engaging. The main shortfalls I find come with some of the actors and the reluctance to "remove" important characters from the series. It's worth watching at your leisure but not worth sitting through the preshow.
  28. Apr 4, 2016
    9
    This is by farm my favourite season, the ending was kind of weird but the rest was impeccable. Sadly I couldn't stand season 4 and after season 2 fiasco I was already on the edge and stop watching this.
  29. Jul 26, 2015
    10
    In my opinion The Walking Dead is the best TV show ever, now I know most of you will be like "No Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad is the best TV show ever" but in my opinion it's The Walking Dead. If you don't agree with me I don't care everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this is mine.
  30. Jun 16, 2016
    9
    I've been watching this TV show since September 2015 and still hyped about it. I really love the atmosphere: good characters, interesting plot, nice actors. First time I didn't understand all hype around it, but after watching the first episode of the show I realized how cool and fascinating this TV show is. I definitely recommend it if you haven't anything to watch.
  31. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    AMC Originals is damn good TV and I can see this one going very far. I saw the first episode on Halloween and I had no idea it was a pilot to a new series. What a surprise! That was so cool - always been a big fan of the zombie movies. I hope that they can go the distance with such a complicated premise for a show. So far with only a few episodes they're off to an amazing start.
  32. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Holy Sh** dude!!! This is fantastic. I could say more about this "TV SHOW" but i think that FrozenStar90 has already said it all, so if you can't make up your mind about watching this series PLEASE for pity sake do watch it because it will blow you away, have you glued to the couch and many more. Peace ;)
  33. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    I love this show. It dominates others.
  34. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Doesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story andDoesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story and development of the plot. Expand
  35. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    It's a fun show. It's got everything you want from a zombie show; sorrow, brutal violence, great characters and attachment. It's a good show. The show that everyone will talk about in 30 years besides Breaking Bad.
  36. Mar 23, 2015
    8
    In its first season, TWD shines bright in a sea of rehashed ideas. While the show doesn't get everything right - it's short set of episodes and lower starting budget can be partially blamed for this, TWD quickly becomes one of the most relevant pieces of entertainment in recent history. This is a show you must watch, assuming you can handle a heightened level of gore given the nature ofIn its first season, TWD shines bright in a sea of rehashed ideas. While the show doesn't get everything right - it's short set of episodes and lower starting budget can be partially blamed for this, TWD quickly becomes one of the most relevant pieces of entertainment in recent history. This is a show you must watch, assuming you can handle a heightened level of gore given the nature of the zombie survival setting and the fact that TWD is on AMC, allowing for more grit and realism that would be near-impossible on major networks. Expand
  37. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV series I have seen in the last 2 years
    Expand
  38. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    Having not been familiar with the source material when first aired, I was very skeptical with the idea of stretching a story about a zombie apocalypse into an ongoing series and even though I was generally won over by the end of episode one, I still had doubts about its longevity.

    Featuring Romero inspired gore and achieving a real sense of scale in spite of its television limitations,
    Having not been familiar with the source material when first aired, I was very skeptical with the idea of stretching a story about a zombie apocalypse into an ongoing series and even though I was generally won over by the end of episode one, I still had doubts about its longevity.

    Featuring Romero inspired gore and achieving a real sense of scale in spite of its television limitations, I was instantly won over by both its tone and style however it was the central story about the plight of Andrew Lincoln's Rick Grimes which carries it through the first season and indeed in all seasons since. Season one moves at a brisker pace with the introduction of a group of survivors whose lack of development is compensated by their diversity and general likability. It's testament to its excellent cast and writers that the pivotal and brutal night attack at the end of episode 4 really packs a punch whilst also serving as the real catalyst for climatic events in the second season.

    Season one in hindsight feels bare in comparison to what follows but it does its job perfectly in setting the scene and introducing the character so successfully that you care for them whilst looking forward to seeing what happens next. It may only have six episodes but it certainly doesn't waste them.
    Expand
  39. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favoriteOne of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favorite zombie movie. It asks many questions about our own sanity during difficult situations, what is the right thing to do, and how far will you go to save your loved ones. It has enough story and drama and zombie-killing action to back it up as a long-running series. Expand
  40. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    AMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. ThisAMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. This is what a zombie franchise needed. A series is better for zombie plots because you cannot cover the emotional and sub plots of people in a movie. There simply isn't enough time. AMC could certainly sell this series to a more profitable station for a ton of money but i wouldn't be surprised if they keep it on AMC and draw in more viewers. Overall: Great series, Cant wait for season 2! Expand
  41. Jan 21, 2011
    7
    Man, that pilot is one of the best things I saw on TV last year, but then, it went downhill after that. I feel a bit conflicted because there are some things I really love about this show, the atmosphere, mood, etc. but on the other hand its filled with clichéd dialogue, contrived situations, shoddy accents and acting, so overall I feel disappointed with it. I really thinkMan, that pilot is one of the best things I saw on TV last year, but then, it went downhill after that. I feel a bit conflicted because there are some things I really love about this show, the atmosphere, mood, etc. but on the other hand its filled with clichéd dialogue, contrived situations, shoddy accents and acting, so overall I feel disappointed with it. I really think that the show can only go up from here, now with a new writing staff hopefully they'll address these issue and if not, well, it did have an awesome pilot. Expand
  42. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    This show is fantastic, I became addicted to this show extremely fast and could not stop watching it. The truth of the matter is, they did so much right with the show, and few things wrong. Now, I haven't read any of the comics, but after watching this I plan too. Each of the characters in this show are unique and very much their own. Most if not all of the acting is absolutely superb,This show is fantastic, I became addicted to this show extremely fast and could not stop watching it. The truth of the matter is, they did so much right with the show, and few things wrong. Now, I haven't read any of the comics, but after watching this I plan too. Each of the characters in this show are unique and very much their own. Most if not all of the acting is absolutely superb, and the storyline is great too. There were 3 or 4 small things in the show that I don't think made sense, but they were always extremely small and usually did not effect any episode other than the one the flaw was in. Another gripe I had was that some of the Zombies really just looked like and acted like people with some dirt and makeup and fake cuts and bruises, but only some of them. Overall I think this was a fantastic season and I cant wait for more. Expand
  43. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This show already has an advantage over Zombie movies: Having the ability to flesh out characters. The fact that you care what happens to the cast is what makes this show great. Definitely a good show to watch if you like horror, drama, and humanity.
  44. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    It rocks my world !This is so entertaining and mindless. All you do is sit and relax and get the **** scared out of you. What could be better than that ?
  45. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    AMAZING show. at first I thought it started a bit slow..a lot of talking..and would have LOVED to see the collapse of the world happen (police and military trying to deal with the dead). EVERY zombie movies lacks this. BUT this is not a zombie movie, instead a GREAT show. Enjoy this very much and theyve made some very good changes. Only show i actually watch anymore. give it a 10!
  46. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    I haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring aI haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring a screen adaptation against the source material is unfair, just like Harry Potter films don't follow the books perfectly. Walking Dead is brilliant at what it does, it may be a bit deviant from the source material but that doesn't mean it cannot be appreciated for what it DOES do. Great show, I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
  47. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    amazing characters great plot and storyline daryle is a badass they should air him more. better than resident evil. will be waiting for season two to air. and whoever does the zombie makeup is a extremely talented
  48. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great new show, I've read the entire comic book series up to 79 and season one only loosely uses the comic book story. (the part where Rick and Glenn cover themselves with rotting flesh actually comes from the comic version of the srory) I read a article the other day that says that Frank Darabont fired all the writers that wrote the first season and is bringing in some new writers. I am really looking forward to season 2.
    I
    Expand
  49. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    Nothing original in the first 6 episodes, but the writing and direction surpasses most of the material it plagiarizes. Overall, The Walking Dead had a strong (albeit short) first season. Looking forward to the second season.
  50. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    This is alive and well while most of TV & movies are dead. Reality shows & overated spew like Inception & Hurtlocker. You have to grade on a curve a little rasing the score for this show. They need more zombies and action but it still is engaging and has its chilling moments, mostly it does well what Steven King does even if the story isnt the best it can grab you and have you eagerlyThis is alive and well while most of TV & movies are dead. Reality shows & overated spew like Inception & Hurtlocker. You have to grade on a curve a little rasing the score for this show. They need more zombies and action but it still is engaging and has its chilling moments, mostly it does well what Steven King does even if the story isnt the best it can grab you and have you eagerly awaiting what comes next. The rest of TV is run by the brain dead, shoot em in the head. Expand
  51. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever to grace the television, the characters are enjoyable, the story is great as is the acting, my only complaint is that the season finale while great wasn't the best episode, I absolutely can not wait for season 2.
  52. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The first episode blow me away! I'm addicted to this show. I think that the history line is really interesting and the characters and their stories will surprise us! And dispite some opinions i've heard, i think that the final episode ended really well! The door is open for more drama. The worst part, and i think that was not clever at all, its the one year between series.
  53. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    I always wished to see a 10 hours Zombie movie. I know that it's not going to happen, but walking dead was exactly what I was looking for. A very good serie about the theme I aways like to see. I like everything about zombies and this serie has the best of it, It´s serious and have a good story. I give it a 10
  54. May 4, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Something I normally do when I watch a sort of disaster show or movie is to put myself in all of the characters shoes and normally I always do something that the people in the show never think of but with this show it gives you I real task to think of what to do, weather its deciding on shooting your wife, because she is a zombie obviously not just because she throw out all of my playboy magazines but enough of my personal problems! The only problem with the show is that the characters problems are just extremely boring and you dont care if some **** is cheating on her husband who she thinks is dead. Expand
  55. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Great Show! Great Acting, Great Plots! Overall Great BUT! In A Few Ep's It Seems Kinda Boring..
    9!
  56. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Based on the pilot episode alone, im delighted with what I saw. The Walking Dead offers detail that no zombie movie could ever be able to get across. Admittedly, I am intrigued by anything in the zombie apocalypse genre, but I have a good feeling that this one shall be better than most other series or movie dealing with the undead. It's safe to say I look forward to seeing the rest of theBased on the pilot episode alone, im delighted with what I saw. The Walking Dead offers detail that no zombie movie could ever be able to get across. Admittedly, I am intrigued by anything in the zombie apocalypse genre, but I have a good feeling that this one shall be better than most other series or movie dealing with the undead. It's safe to say I look forward to seeing the rest of the series. Let's just hope it stays real and doesn't go down the same pathetic road as the resident evil series. Expand
  57. May 19, 2011
    9
    The Zombie genre is something has been worn out time and time again but thankfully AMC's The Walking Dead is nothing short of sensational! Following a zombie apocalypse a group of survivors led by Rick Grimes are travelling across a desolate Americain the search for a safety however the dead are now coming back to life and danger awaits them around every corner. An engaging, stimulatingThe Zombie genre is something has been worn out time and time again but thankfully AMC's The Walking Dead is nothing short of sensational! Following a zombie apocalypse a group of survivors led by Rick Grimes are travelling across a desolate Americain the search for a safety however the dead are now coming back to life and danger awaits them around every corner. An engaging, stimulating and intense debut season that will have you hooked right from the start. Incredibly well paced in showing the atmosphere of a bleak and deserted America and also to develope each character enabling the audience to connect with them. Acting on show is fantastic and the story has been been wonderfully written. The only criticism I have is it is a mere 6 episodes! However, its 6 hours of quality stuff. Bring on Season 2! Expand
  58. May 24, 2011
    8
    An interesting take on the zombie apocalypse story. The season keeps pace very well, and adds twists at the right moments. Due to large production values (and stellar casting) the whole thing is like a feature-length movie experience, and makes this a perfect DVD release on top of a good show. The only criticism I have, that pulled my rating down one, was the overuse of similar scenarios,An interesting take on the zombie apocalypse story. The season keeps pace very well, and adds twists at the right moments. Due to large production values (and stellar casting) the whole thing is like a feature-length movie experience, and makes this a perfect DVD release on top of a good show. The only criticism I have, that pulled my rating down one, was the overuse of similar scenarios, and the occasional blip in VFX and acting. Not to spoil, but that grenade... really? Still, a great start to a hopefully good storyline. Lookout for Season 2. Expand
  59. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    One of the best shows on TV made for zombie lovers and haters. I've seen every episode at least three times now and they're all great. Props to AMC for giving so much freedom to the writers and producers. The wait for season 2 will be long and boring, but at least we'll have a full 13 episode season.
  60. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Initially, I thought this show would just be another generic zombie show. However, it is actually quite a masterpiece of interesting characterization, dialogue, and action. Another great AMC production (on-par with Breaking Bad).
  61. May 25, 2013
    8
    Based on a series of graphic novels from Robert Kirkman The Walking Dead is certainly one of the most original (I know there have been lots of zombie movies but no TV show I can remember) and entertaining shows to debut in the last few years.

    This first season may only be six episodes long, due to the expensive nature of the show, but it fits more action and drama into those six
    Based on a series of graphic novels from Robert Kirkman The Walking Dead is certainly one of the most original (I know there have been lots of zombie movies but no TV show I can remember) and entertaining shows to debut in the last few years.

    This first season may only be six episodes long, due to the expensive nature of the show, but it fits more action and drama into those six episodes than most shows fit into twenty. There is certainly enough blood and gore to satisfy fans of horror movies but sensibly show runner Frank Darabont has taken the decision to only follow the graphic novel storylines loosely, slowing down proceedings on occasions and allowing the characters a chance to develop themselves. In fact the only slight disappointment in this first season was the visit to the super high tech disease centre, elements of which went a little too far down the sci-fi route for comfort and losing what makes this show different. Thankfully this seems to have been an exception rather than the norm in what was a promising start to what could become a cult classic.
    Expand
  62. May 6, 2011
    10
    The acting is superb. Visually, it's beautiful. The story is intriguing, mainly because one becomes interested in seeing what the human survivors will do next. The suspense is intense. The music is very good and helps draw you in. All in all, this show is excellent. A zombie fan's dream come true. Keep 'em coming!
  63. May 14, 2012
    7
    Yes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first and last two episodes of season two it was terrible. except the episodes I mentioned each episodes is just people walking around saying "what do you think about so and so" then that person goes to another person and they say "what do you think about soYes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first and last two episodes of season two it was terrible. except the episodes I mentioned each episodes is just people walking around saying "what do you think about so and so" then that person goes to another person and they say "what do you think about so and so" then they kill a single zombie and the show is over. If they continue as they ended the season this should could be really great. Expand
  64. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Great Show! I love zombies films/ tv shows. Finished the first season in a day cause it was that good! Cant wait for season 2!!! Best show on television right now.
  65. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing, and there is no other way to put it. The Walking Dead is easily the best dramatic show on TV. It gets actual human emotions from a strong ensemble and great writing. This TV show manages to be both better then all non-Romero zombie movies, and it manages to be more dramatic then most other dramas. I honestly was starting to feel bad for the walkers, doomed to there horrible fate.Amazing, and there is no other way to put it. The Walking Dead is easily the best dramatic show on TV. It gets actual human emotions from a strong ensemble and great writing. This TV show manages to be both better then all non-Romero zombie movies, and it manages to be more dramatic then most other dramas. I honestly was starting to feel bad for the walkers, doomed to there horrible fate. This show, unlike most zombie movies, has likable characters that you really feel for. One of the top 5 shows on TV. Expand
  66. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    A Zombie Horror TV Show based in the Deep South? Sounds good to me! Unlike Boardwalk Empire, Walking Dead did not take forever and a day to develop its characters. In fact, it was the people, not the zombies that made this show compelling. But you get just enough Zombie action to keep you thrilled. Great show.
  67. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the (if not the) greatest television show on right now. I just bought the DVD, and am rewatching all the episodes. What is brilliant about The Walking Dead is that it shares the same feel of the old Romero movies. It is quick, consuming, beautiful, gory, dark, and a lot of fun. And one more thing-for all of you complaining how the show was too gory, or had to muchThis is easily one of the (if not the) greatest television show on right now. I just bought the DVD, and am rewatching all the episodes. What is brilliant about The Walking Dead is that it shares the same feel of the old Romero movies. It is quick, consuming, beautiful, gory, dark, and a lot of fun. And one more thing-for all of you complaining how the show was too gory, or had to much nudity (which, mind you, there is none at all. There was underwear in ep. 2, does that count as nudity to you psychos?) I'm gonna say this-to you, directly. ITS A F#$%ING ZOMBIE SHOW! It is a show about the living dead, who can only be killed with a shot to the head. You can't make this show without making it gory. So if you're one of those p%$$!#$ that likes clean entertainment for the whole family, go watch Nick Jr. Because people have grown up, and you should too. Expand
  68. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    Being a fan of the graphic novel series, I was not too disappointed by the series premiere of THE WALKING DEAD. The television adaptation surely wasn't as faithful as it could have been, and it took some liberties that it certainly had the right to do, but it was good, if not, great.
  69. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Excellently done zombie series, better than the comics IMHO. You really get a feel for the characters and their predicament. "Egg" from "This Life" is a decent lead. Season 1 final a tad disappointing.
  70. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Even know, I'm not a fan of zombie movies. The Walking Dead is one of the best shows on cable. Season 1 was amazing, filled with thrills and chills. Season 2, needs to come faster.
  71. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    in the 80's people used to talk about Miss World being a television event. **** The Walking Dead IS the real deal that cannot be missed. Everything from the gripping story lines, the costumes, the makeup, the crazy distopian landscapes, the uncertainty of what will happen to main characters helps to create a buzz that's like nothing else of TV. It has renewed my faith in the brilliance ofin the 80's people used to talk about Miss World being a television event. **** The Walking Dead IS the real deal that cannot be missed. Everything from the gripping story lines, the costumes, the makeup, the crazy distopian landscapes, the uncertainty of what will happen to main characters helps to create a buzz that's like nothing else of TV. It has renewed my faith in the brilliance of TV. Watch it. NOW. Expand
  72. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    I decided to do my own review based on a lot of the Negative responses that I've seen like it's "disgusting' stuff like that. Now obviously its not a family show it was made more directly for zombie lovers do to the fact that for a long time no one had a good zombie show out their but vampires,their everywhere. This show is a bit stop and go as far as excitement but theirs always aI decided to do my own review based on a lot of the Negative responses that I've seen like it's "disgusting' stuff like that. Now obviously its not a family show it was made more directly for zombie lovers do to the fact that for a long time no one had a good zombie show out their but vampires,their everywhere. This show is a bit stop and go as far as excitement but theirs always a surprise twist in all of it even some stuff no one see's coming. the show was aiming for a good realistic zombie apocalypse show that could ensnare it's viewers keep us all guessing and just when we think we got it figured out something bigger happens myself personally I think some things could have been portrayed better but I'm loving this show and looking forward to the next season which is soon to come and if you haven't seen the show and you like zombies, and your not afraid to get a but grossed out then this is an excellent show heart stopping, emotional, bloody, thrill ride excellent show with few flaws Expand
  73. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Besides having some annoying characters, THE WALKING DEAD Season One is top-notch television; it is scary and suspenseful and feels very real, it is also very intense as well. I will be hard for the other seasons to top the brilliance that this introductory season offered.
  74. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    It has a movie like feel to it. I must say, it really is a great series that captures one's interest. If you like plot, this is the one to go for. Hands down best of its genre out there in the media today.
  75. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    I had always heard that the Walking Dead was very good, and it is, probably the best drama I have seen on TV. The series started off with a massive bang, and ended (literally) with one. The first episode remains my favourite, it was every bit excellent, violent and filled with drama, 10/10. The second episode was also very good, but episodes 3, 4 and 5 were not quite as good as the rest ofI had always heard that the Walking Dead was very good, and it is, probably the best drama I have seen on TV. The series started off with a massive bang, and ended (literally) with one. The first episode remains my favourite, it was every bit excellent, violent and filled with drama, 10/10. The second episode was also very good, but episodes 3, 4 and 5 were not quite as good as the rest of the series (as the sixth episode is also very good). Essentially, the first episode was incredible, awesome stuff, and the rest was not quite up to the same standards: none of it is bad, or boring however, just not quite as good. Great, 87/100. Expand
  76. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead Season 1 was an amazing start to a great new series based on a zombie apocalypse. Rarely done as a TV series the zombie genre has crawled its way back from the dead after several rehash comedic movies and have started a Renaissance which produced new seasons of this show among numerous games, movies, comics and other forms of media based on the Zombie genre. About theThe Walking Dead Season 1 was an amazing start to a great new series based on a zombie apocalypse. Rarely done as a TV series the zombie genre has crawled its way back from the dead after several rehash comedic movies and have started a Renaissance which produced new seasons of this show among numerous games, movies, comics and other forms of media based on the Zombie genre. About the show itself however the characters, the storyline and the entire setting is quite nicely done. The emotion that is shown in the entire season is well put and despite the fact that some of the actors may not be well known upon the beginning of this show they will be known afterwards for years to come especially when newer seasons appear. The only main complaint in this season however is the length as the first season was only 6 episodes long. Expand
  77. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    I absolutely love this series. The story is amazing, the characters are amazing, and the special effects are pretty good. My only problem is that the second season get a little slow at times.
  78. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I'm not sure if you can find a better example of adapting source material like the Comics for TWD in any genre. This is quintessentially perfect, and incredibly re-watchable even after 3 years it still is something I'll go back to and continually watch.
  79. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    I did not want to get into AMC's The Walking Dead, because it is what a like to call, addictive television. I try to avoid shows like this, but I was at a friend house the other week and there were a group of people watching it, so I really didn't have a choice and I got sucked into it's grip. The reason I don't like to watch shows like this is because it's based on a book, which usuallyI did not want to get into AMC's The Walking Dead, because it is what a like to call, addictive television. I try to avoid shows like this, but I was at a friend house the other week and there were a group of people watching it, so I really didn't have a choice and I got sucked into it's grip. The reason I don't like to watch shows like this is because it's based on a book, which usually means, the show is amazing and very well written until they reach the end of the book and have to come up with new stuff on their own. At that point, the quality of the story quickly diminishes and the show either gets boring or goes way over the top. As I watched the first two seasons of The Walking Dead over the course of a couple weeks, I found that the same was true for it. The first season was an absolute delight and I hated the fact that it was only six episodes. The second season started out pretty good also, but that's when the book must have ended and things changed. This powerful, exciting show became extremely predictable, with every episode featuring about forty minutes of talking and five minutes of action. So, if I was so turned off by it at that point, why am I watching the new episodes right now? Addictive television! Now that I know the characters and their stories I want answers to the same four questions as everyone else. Who is fighting with who, who is having sex with who, how will the story end, and the big one, who lives and who dies. Similar to soap operas, shows like the Walking Dead, for the most part, aren't well written, are extremely predictable, and don't really develop much after the initial impact. I didn't see a single episode in the second or third season that I enjoyed as much as I did every episode from season 1. I am nevertheless invested in the show and what happens now, and to be honest it's not that it's a bad show. I really like Sarah Wayne Callies from Prison Break and Norman Reedus's character is the one guy who really evolved into someone who fascinates me. The action scenes, as well as the effects are terrific, and they do have a pretty talented cast. It's my hope that as it continues to gain popularity, that the writers turn to other sources, perhaps the author of the book or even some fan fiction for alternative ideas on how to keep things fresh and interesting, because right now, aside from the question of who lives and who dies, there isn't much there to attract new viewers to the show. If you like dark stories, horror, and end of the world type fiction, I'd give the show a try, but if you're a newbie whose thinking about getting into the Walking Dead, I warn you, the first season is amazing and will suck you in, but after that, as of yet, it hasn't gotten any better. Expand
  80. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Even though its only seven episodes (7). season 1 was a great season. it gives us the tactics on how to survive a zombie apocalypse. Instant classic
  81. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    A pretty solid show, Will definenty watch season 2. The huge flaw of this season is lack of episodes, It allows little developement of story lines and characters so everything is really fast paced. Its still an enjoyable show though.
  82. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this series. I'm very glad that they could make such a great series about zombies which is a huge rarity. I have friends that love this show too. Even though this show may never reach the heights of the first season, it is still really entertaining. If you haven't already seen it and you're a zombie fan, watch it now if you have amc or netflix. My favourite character is Daryl.
  83. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Simplistic and brilliantly crafted. Excellent character development and the acting is top notch. The only points against it are the slow pacing and the fact that Laurie is the most annoying character ever conceived on television.
  84. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    if you say you hate the show you are lying through your teeth, even a zombie hater cant hate this serial drama, it can stand alone on its own merit, unlike most media adaptations based on interpreted source material.
  85. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    I finally gave in an watched the fist season of “The Walking Dead.” And you know what? It’s actually a really good show. The writing is strong and tackles themes of humanity, togetherness, and of survival/death. The show is incredibly involving and makes us care for each individual character. Actors do a great job and their performances are convincing. Not once do they lose sight of theI finally gave in an watched the fist season of “The Walking Dead.” And you know what? It’s actually a really good show. The writing is strong and tackles themes of humanity, togetherness, and of survival/death. The show is incredibly involving and makes us care for each individual character. Actors do a great job and their performances are convincing. Not once do they lose sight of the character. It is not only a well acted or written show, but also a really well made one with high production values not normally seen on TV. From the make up to the use of special effects, it is really well put together.

    The first two episodes are alright, but generally slowly paced a bit confusing to be honest. However, from episode 3 and onwards the show has you hooked. The emotions are there and the sense of isolation. Every time a character wonders off, you only hope they come back alive. A lot of emotional stuff happens towards the end of the season and to say that I wasn’t tearing up a bit would be a horrible lie. The season finally is really good and really tackles a lot of the main themes of the show such as survival and accepting death. The best thing about it is that it gets us excited for what’s to come.

    Overall, “The Walking Dead” is a really great show with compelling characters and strong writing. It challenges its viewers without talking down to them. It has a lot of emotional moments, but doesn’t just bask in the melodrama. There are well paced moments of action, but above all else a great sense of suspense and isolated ambiance. I give it a really strong 4/5, great writing and relateable characters with exciting action.

    I am super excited for the next season. I would have given it a higher rating, but I didn’t really care for the first two episodes. However, I am now officially a fan. Lets go season 2!
    Expand
  86. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Although they should've added more episodes than just 6, on the other hand The Walking Dead: Season 1 is breath-taking and one of the best shows for Television.
  87. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Being a fan of the comics I had to see the series. Its nothing like the comics except for characters, guys waking up in a hospital and other stuff. But it still is great on how they do it``(sometimes even better then the comic). Despite its not like the comic, this is a great tv show. The Walking Dead: Season 1 8.6/10
  88. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Simply put amazing, outstanding a must watch series for anybody my mum loves it lol also check out this awesome walking dead blog!
    http://amcthewalkingdeadblog.blogspot.co.uk/
  89. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    La primera temporada de esta serie merece la pena, buena historia contada con buen ritmo y con grandes escenas, el viajar por un país lleno de muertos vivientes ofrece muchas posibilidades de hacer una gran serie.
  90. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Full of emotion, action and zombies. Combine it and you will get "The Walking Dead". It totally takes me into the story, the feelings of characters and everything.
  91. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    The series got off to a stellar start! The pilot was absolutely perfectly done. The show also know how to strike a good blend between character development and amazing gory violence. So far so good.
  92. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    A very gripping, emotional, intense journey through the zombie-infested state of Georgia. You will grow attached to these people (well, maybe not some of them!) and care for their fate. A good watch.
  93. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead is overall a very good show (season 1,2,3) but the first ever season is by far the best and if the writers (who replaced the old ones) were able to improve on it I truly believe it could have been one of the greatest shows ever. Other than Ozymandias (Breaking Bad), the first episode of season 1 is probably the best episode of television I have ever watched.

    As for
    The Walking Dead is overall a very good show (season 1,2,3) but the first ever season is by far the best and if the writers (who replaced the old ones) were able to improve on it I truly believe it could have been one of the greatest shows ever. Other than Ozymandias (Breaking Bad), the first episode of season 1 is probably the best episode of television I have ever watched.

    As for Season 1 in general, it was absolutely fantastic. It got me shouting at the TV with the jumps, the crazy moments and the sad moments. The characters were great, the story line was believable and the direction the show was heading could have ended up being up there with Breaking Bad and Game Of Thrones.

    But with the writers being fired for Season 2 on wards, there is a noticeable difference between S1 and S2/S3. It has become so average, the story seems to be going no where which is disappointing. But dont get me wrong, The Walking Dead is one of my favorite shows, but I can't help but think it could have been an all time great if it built up from the brilliant season 1.

    The Walking Dead Season 1: 10/10
    Expand
  94. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    A great example of what most horror media should be like. Not something jumping at your face and just trying to scare you for the point of just being scary. This show has a lot of depth and characters to relate to. Often at times I completely forget I am watching a show because the acting is so well done. I must admit I'm not a huge fan of horror, but this show is still really enjoyableA great example of what most horror media should be like. Not something jumping at your face and just trying to scare you for the point of just being scary. This show has a lot of depth and characters to relate to. Often at times I completely forget I am watching a show because the acting is so well done. I must admit I'm not a huge fan of horror, but this show is still really enjoyable for me to watch. The zombies in it are exactly what zombies should be and they did them perfectly. A great show and I would recommend it to most. Expand
  95. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This series, is absolutely amazing, it challenges you intellectually, and can affect you as a person. The acting is great, and the cinematography is amazing, as an aspiring film director and actor myself, this show has been greatly useful. I'd like to use a quote from someone else's review: 'the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episodeThis series, is absolutely amazing, it challenges you intellectually, and can affect you as a person. The acting is great, and the cinematography is amazing, as an aspiring film director and actor myself, this show has been greatly useful. I'd like to use a quote from someone else's review: 'the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episode discussing their feelings.' What else would you suppose they do? Have a party in the middle of the street, then all of them die and the series is one episode long? These reviewers are ridiculous and have no idea what a good TV series is. Expand
  96. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Breaking bad and the walking dead are one of the best shows on tv now.They have one of the best suitable actors for comic characters ever.The show has a great story and great story telling.I recommend this tv show for zombie movie, lovers and other people who like action and good story.My final verdict for this show is a 10-10 whit a seal of badass approval.
  97. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Best zombie apocalypse series. All the things happening makes you think about what's going to happen next. The cast is good, the performance of the actors are simply perfect for every situation, watch the 1st episode and be ready to watch all the others seasons!
  98. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    A diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and their reactions to horrifying and post-apocalyptic events, whilst still maintaining a dose of suspense and gory head-smashing action that will leave you on the edge of your seat.
    With never-ending drama, deaths, emotions, friendships and intense adventures, The
    A diamond in the rough; one of the few shows that uses fantasy amazingly as a background to explore the complex human nature and their reactions to horrifying and post-apocalyptic events, whilst still maintaining a dose of suspense and gory head-smashing action that will leave you on the edge of your seat.
    With never-ending drama, deaths, emotions, friendships and intense adventures, The Walking Dead really is a show for everyone's taste.
    Expand
  99. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    The comic (and the episodic game, for that matter) are better. 100%. Any fan of the show should check out the comic and is missing out if they haven't. That said, I do LIKE the show (so far, after seeing Season 1). There are some really interesting new ideas, like what happens in the Season finale and how some of the stuff plays out differently. Not all the changes are for the best though.The comic (and the episodic game, for that matter) are better. 100%. Any fan of the show should check out the comic and is missing out if they haven't. That said, I do LIKE the show (so far, after seeing Season 1). There are some really interesting new ideas, like what happens in the Season finale and how some of the stuff plays out differently. Not all the changes are for the best though. The pacing is really off, especially the first episode (which is weaker than the rest of the Season, overall), Shane really isn't interesting enough to become a main character, that I definitely found regrettable. And even that which they took from the comics... well, some of the hammy acting actually makes the unfortunate awkward idiosyncracies of Kirkman's writing show, rather than highlighting how strong it can be at times. But despite these complaints, the show is enjoyable. A zombie apocalypse is rife with the kind of ongoing human drama that can sustain a series and I'm surprised that it hasn't been done before. So, despite its flaws (and it is flawed), the show ends up being really unique and worth a watch, although I would recommend the comic universe as the superior "Walking Dead" media. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive