• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1993 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2014
    0
    This isn't the worst thing on TV, but it's pretty awful. Everything is just at the bottom of its game: the writing, the acting, the special effects (apart from the make up). They don't need 16 episodes to tell a story where something happens maybe every 6 episodes and the rest is just filler. And in case you were wondering whether they're building to some great action set-piece orThis isn't the worst thing on TV, but it's pretty awful. Everything is just at the bottom of its game: the writing, the acting, the special effects (apart from the make up). They don't need 16 episodes to tell a story where something happens maybe every 6 episodes and the rest is just filler. And in case you were wondering whether they're building to some great action set-piece or brilliantly scripted finale, no they're not. They've done this to me twice. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    Terrible script writing and dialogue coupled with long touchey feely boring conversation between indistinct and frankly one sided characters makes for a dull over endorsed series and that's just season 1. A good test with any poor series is that you can skip the dialogue scenes yet still easily deduct the plot. A show made by the masses for the masses. If they put half the effort they haveTerrible script writing and dialogue coupled with long touchey feely boring conversation between indistinct and frankly one sided characters makes for a dull over endorsed series and that's just season 1. A good test with any poor series is that you can skip the dialogue scenes yet still easily deduct the plot. A show made by the masses for the masses. If they put half the effort they have put into making the sound effects for killing zombies into the development of the show then it would at least make it watchable... Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    With all of the hype that this show got, I was expecting something on-par with "Breaking Bad" or "Mad Men" in terms of writing and acting. It seems like The Walking Dead has ample budget, but the show is still strangely reminiscent of the made-for-TV movies one might find on the Sci-Fi channel or the Hallmark channel. I really wanted to like this show, I love zombie movies, and TheWith all of the hype that this show got, I was expecting something on-par with "Breaking Bad" or "Mad Men" in terms of writing and acting. It seems like The Walking Dead has ample budget, but the show is still strangely reminiscent of the made-for-TV movies one might find on the Sci-Fi channel or the Hallmark channel. I really wanted to like this show, I love zombie movies, and The Walking Dead had great gore and makeup. But the story was sluggish and not engaging, and the dialog was totally facepalm-inducing. I honestly don't understand how this show has so many positive reviews. You might enjoy this show if you really liked Stephen King's made-for-TV adaptation of "The Stand". Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    3
    The producers of this program took the dynamic, highly believable characters from the comics and transformed them into a bunch of **** whining, vanilla-flavored douche bags. It's impossible to develop any kind of emotional investment in these display-window mannequins masquerading as actors. The writing, again unlike the comics, is bland. The show's pacing is as plodding as the zombiesThe producers of this program took the dynamic, highly believable characters from the comics and transformed them into a bunch of **** whining, vanilla-flavored douche bags. It's impossible to develop any kind of emotional investment in these display-window mannequins masquerading as actors. The writing, again unlike the comics, is bland. The show's pacing is as plodding as the zombies it depicts. I would be much more willing to forgive this show for completely diverting from the comics' story line forty-five minutes into episode one and never returning if they could at least make this original story interesting and believable. No dice on both counts. Not recommended! Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Cliched, unlikable, shallow Characters (yes even the main character) that you couldn't care less about. It's a dull, done to death apocalypse drama 'Days of our Lives' style, with the same old characters doing the same old thing. Yawn. Throw in a red neck or two for some spice....and you've got yourself a whole lot of cookie cutter plot devices fit for equally cookie cutter characters.Cliched, unlikable, shallow Characters (yes even the main character) that you couldn't care less about. It's a dull, done to death apocalypse drama 'Days of our Lives' style, with the same old characters doing the same old thing. Yawn. Throw in a red neck or two for some spice....and you've got yourself a whole lot of cookie cutter plot devices fit for equally cookie cutter characters. Written by a Red Neck for Red Necks. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    4
    Just couldn't get into the show. For starters, it's not one bit scary. Gory, yes...Scary, no. I never found gore to be particularly scary. It just makes you want to barf is all. I read somewhere that the characters are somewhat hollow. I completely agree with that assessment. The only character I've cared about so far is the horse Next movie-maker that kills a horse or a dog in a movieJust couldn't get into the show. For starters, it's not one bit scary. Gory, yes...Scary, no. I never found gore to be particularly scary. It just makes you want to barf is all. I read somewhere that the characters are somewhat hollow. I completely agree with that assessment. The only character I've cared about so far is the horse Next movie-maker that kills a horse or a dog in a movie gets a personal visit from me and a man-sized beat down in front of his family. I think the cinematography is the best part of this show. Other than that, I found this show to be disappointingly dull. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    The first week we were all so excited to see the show so we sat down to watch it and at the end of the hour we were all so disappointed. the show was so slow it had felt like we had been watching for ten hours, we even gave the show a second chance so we watched the second week and by the end of the hour we had decided this was the worst show in history so by the third week we wereThe first week we were all so excited to see the show so we sat down to watch it and at the end of the hour we were all so disappointed. the show was so slow it had felt like we had been watching for ten hours, we even gave the show a second chance so we watched the second week and by the end of the hour we had decided this was the worst show in history so by the third week we were flipping through channels and couldn't find anything to watch and we decided that we would get a good laugh by watching once again. Its slow, has bad acting and everything is so predictable Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    Disappointing! I liked the show until it went WAY off track from the comics. I understand the show cannot and should not follow the comics exactly, but the comics are popular for a reason. Killing off some of the most crucial, interesting characters while keeping others that barely utter a sentence is just poor writing. The zombies are the only character that have any real motivation andDisappointing! I liked the show until it went WAY off track from the comics. I understand the show cannot and should not follow the comics exactly, but the comics are popular for a reason. Killing off some of the most crucial, interesting characters while keeping others that barely utter a sentence is just poor writing. The zombies are the only character that have any real motivation and consistently follow through with it. Talk about ruining a good thing. These writers are simply going for easy shock value making the show just as crap as the other shows soon to be canceled. Good riddance. Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    As an avid fan of zombie fiction, this 50's frontier melodrama pinned to our zombie pop culture trend was disappointing as a contemporary zombie genre show. The characters are 2 dimensional and most of the time seem to be quite obvious mouthpieces touting simplistic ideals of communal camping for dull old-fashioned men and women, rather than be put to good use and show a variety ofAs an avid fan of zombie fiction, this 50's frontier melodrama pinned to our zombie pop culture trend was disappointing as a contemporary zombie genre show. The characters are 2 dimensional and most of the time seem to be quite obvious mouthpieces touting simplistic ideals of communal camping for dull old-fashioned men and women, rather than be put to good use and show a variety of contemporary people. The result is that any differences in them are scant and it's hard to invest interest in any of them individually - they're just 'the group' that are tacked on to the two male leads. For example, there is very little contrast in the female characters especially - they predominately wash clothes in the background, and react the same way to everything. It's the one character pasted onto different faces. We wouldn't be at all impressed if it was the same zombie pasted across all zombies - that would be obvious - so why drop the ball with the human characters? The males have been drawn from contrasting cardboard cliches that are often thrown together in a basic formula, where side male characters are particularly inconsistent as they are tools to bounce off and make the two main hero/s look big and smart. One example is that in the introduction of Glenn, he is cautious and very responsible. He knows not to fire weapons which will attract zombies. In a reversal of character he drives the car with an alarm blaring directly back to camp purely for fun, which led nowhere in the story except to provide another moment where the 'big dude' is smart. It's not hard to imagine that the camp rules [and say, how to operate a CB radio] would be shared knowledge in the adult group, and adhered to. There is flimsy background in the group's formation in this regard, as common sense is withheld from these apparently normal people [particularly the females] in order to ensure a well of opportunities throughout the early episodes to show the big dude 'smarts'. This is old 70's style action flick writing. Hell, Glenn had quite a long trip back to camp to think about his flip in character too. There is so much fantastic zombie literature out there which can depict multiple characters and develop them simultaneously - why use this insult to humanity? The acting is well done despite the lack of depth, the cringe-worthy dialogue and inconsistencies. If only the mostly impressive zombie make-up and FX in this show could be put to something less offensive to people who have a love of the undead, but have a soul themselves. Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    Basically a slow version of 28 Days later without the suspense. Visually the show delivers, but after an hour and a half it's a shame they couldn't develop a character I want to tune in for next week. I'm going to keep watching for now, but my expectations are pretty low.
  11. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    The walking dead is a series that has lots of drama, zombies, and some social commentary. It also focueses on he human spirit to a degree, highlighting the trails that many of us would face in a survival situation. It also has moments of genius (i.e. how characters solve problems in unconventional ways). However, the shows loses steam with it's long, drawn out season opener, which took farThe walking dead is a series that has lots of drama, zombies, and some social commentary. It also focueses on he human spirit to a degree, highlighting the trails that many of us would face in a survival situation. It also has moments of genius (i.e. how characters solve problems in unconventional ways). However, the shows loses steam with it's long, drawn out season opener, which took far too long to establish characters and setting. It also loses steam from having too many instances of characters having long winded conversations with each other regarding nothing. It's not a good sign when you have to fast forward through the episode to get to good parts.

    Overall, this is pretty good show; albeit, it has it's drawbacks.
    Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A real tragedy... There isn't any redeeming value in this show. ALL and I mean all great character interaction in the book is missing. When i read the comic i felt to know all these characters, you DIDN'T want anything to happen to them. When someone died it was a gut wrenching experience. With the show there is NO character development and with frank d. No longer in the directors chair, it seems these writers want to make this show their own. That idea itself is wrong on so many levels. Rick is made out to be a bumbling idiot and don't forget his horribly evil wife that no one likes. WE ARE SUPPOSED TO CARE ABOUT THESE PEOPLE. I keep watching only to see who dies, obviously its what the masses are doing. Look at some of the positive reviews here. One person compared it to resident evil?!?? Come on... Expand
  13. May 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im shocked this tv show has such a score (still).
    Yesterday i watched season 1 completely with a friend.
    Today ive watched half of season 2, and now im really disappointed.
    The first 2 episodes were great, third was still very good, four started crumbling already because there was too much campsite talk, 5 was a catastrophe to me (whinywhinywhiny). 6 was interesting in terms of the plot. But some of the characters had already started to get on my nerves. And i mean laurie and shane, which are in my eyes quite important for the show.

    Well, season 2 really disappointed me. First episode was okay. And then during episode 2, it fell all apart. The characters, the story. It was stupid bull****. They are FORCING problems. This stupid little girl which CANT WAIT! NEVER! It has survived three days alone in a forest with zombies, thats simply unrealistic in the means of survival, and a survival horror shouldnt stress the logics of survival too hard. There are problems, and problems, and why? Because the characters seem to be TOO STUPID TO UNDERSTAND THE WORDS "DONT FIRE"!!!!
    How can this adult woman Andrea shoot a longrange shot on ONE ZOMBIE when HER FRIENDS ARE STANDING IN FRONT OF IT! No, this is not bearable. Really, the characters are TOO flawed, they are RETARDED!

    I had hopes to have a new good tv show. I abandoned TV for years now, because there is nothing which caught my eye. Well, this is a genre i like, so i gave it a try and the cinematography is good, still. But all these stupid actions from the characters which unnecessarily worsen their situation, this whole stupid relationship between shane and laurie and rick, thats BS!

    I hope they can convince with the second half of the season, but these 6 episodes have shown a certain degree of obvious reduction of costs for the bad of quality and the good of profit. I hate it, and i wont ever watch it on tv again, unless they improve, because im not supporting such behaviour towards the customer, who trusted them because of the first episodes, and now his hope for better quality is what they build, that the customer will watch it in hope of improvement, but nothing will ever improve, im pretty sure.
    Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    "The Walking Dead" isn't a flashy no substance thrill-ride/scare-fest. It's more of a drama than anything else, which becomes apparent in the second half of the pilot episode. The story unfolds quickly, with no rhyme or reason, yet this is part of the allure of the series. That isn't to say the storyline is difficult to understand - in fact, it's blaringly simple. Zombies, called"The Walking Dead" isn't a flashy no substance thrill-ride/scare-fest. It's more of a drama than anything else, which becomes apparent in the second half of the pilot episode. The story unfolds quickly, with no rhyme or reason, yet this is part of the allure of the series. That isn't to say the storyline is difficult to understand - in fact, it's blaringly simple. Zombies, called "Walkers," suddenly infiltrate the population. Is it a virus, an extra-terrestrially induced disease? Is it man's moral bankruptcy that causes this outbreak of zombification? Who knows? All in all, the show is enjoyable, but I wasn't convinced that the characters aren't cookie-cutter stereotypes prevalent in this genre. Foreseeable is that there will be good guys going bad in order to survive. The whole "buddy-steals-your-woman" when you're presumably dead is played out. It's cheap melodrama. Despite this show's shortcomings, it's a beautiful piece of work. The cinematography captures the bleak tension and frantic action with pinpoint accuracy. I'm confident that the character development will sort itself out as the series progresses. There's nothing like it on TV right now and I'll definitely be watching to completion. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    Although not as fast paced as most zombie films, The Walking Dead emphasizes something more than just bloodthirsty zombies, it has real live characters. The writing gives the characters such depth and makes the viewers care about them and hope that they make it through their journey through the zombie apocalypse. It does lack a background on how the zombies came to be; such asAlthough not as fast paced as most zombie films, The Walking Dead emphasizes something more than just bloodthirsty zombies, it has real live characters. The writing gives the characters such depth and makes the viewers care about them and hope that they make it through their journey through the zombie apocalypse. It does lack a background on how the zombies came to be; such as radioactivity (Night of The Living Dead) or a virus (28 Day Later). A religious background wouldn't work as well because it may make the characters more hopeless and who wants to watch a show about emotionless people, it's like watching a show about zombies (lol). The Walking Dead is so original and well done that there will most likely be followers, but none could match up to this, unless directed by George A. Romero Expand
  16. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! A great zombie movie made series!! Can't wait to watch it all!!! Great photography, great effects!!
    Well acted, very emotional!!
    WHAT ARE YOU WAITING TO WATCH IT!!!???
  17. Apr 26, 2011
    4
    The first episode was incredible. Tense, emotional, scary. From there, the series went downhill, and quick. The characters from the comic have been needlessly streamlined in the transition to television, losing much of the subtlety that made the comic so damn good. And with one half-exception, the new characters are just one-note cliches. The action is too slow-moving, withoutThe first episode was incredible. Tense, emotional, scary. From there, the series went downhill, and quick. The characters from the comic have been needlessly streamlined in the transition to television, losing much of the subtlety that made the comic so damn good. And with one half-exception, the new characters are just one-note cliches. The action is too slow-moving, without character development to pick up the dramatic slack. Still, the production values are great, with the zombies being particularly well done. I'm hoping that the second season, with a new writing staff, will remedy the problems I had with the first. In any case, I liked what they tried to do well enough that I'm willing to give season 2 a shot. Expand
  18. May 7, 2012
    2
    Another post Apocalyptic series. Nothing original or creative in this series. I still watch the series due to its story but its just another one next to the others. If you watched Resident Evil before, then this is like the TV series of it. The Walking Dead is a decent show but the hype is ridiculous.
  19. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    Where to start? Terrible writing? Terrible special effects? Terrible videography? Terrible editing? Yeah, I guess what zombies will deliver to television: Death to creativity. BTW, the notion that no-nothing 20-somethings will save you from anything requiring a knowledge of how the world actually works is a totally loopy idea!
  20. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's better than Resident Evil: Afterlife but that's not a ringing endorsement. The 2nd episode was unbelievable and inconsistent in many ways, plus you can almost predict what the next few episodes are going to "reveal" without looking at any trailers - the sheriff's sidekick and wife were bumping uglies before the apocalypse but the cop will still be clueless a while longer while wife racked with guilt. Racist bully blackmail's cop's buddy and wife into getting back at cop in exchange for keeping quiet about their affair (which bully somehow caught wind of); cop's buddy happy to play along and off cop to keep alpha male position and his woman. Noble black father and son from 1st episode show up and set things right to the gratitude of copy. Fat black guy turns out to be a jerk after all so white viewers are retrospectively more sympathetic with racist bully's beat down of him in 2nd episode while smugly dismissing any white guilt.

    1. The 2 new black characters looked too polished which my husband and I found annoying. Sista looked like she just got her hair permed, curled and edged, then make-up just ruffled it a bit before the director shouted "Action!" while brother-man just shaved his head and beard. OK, maybe his character is bald, whatever. Everyone else looked a lot more like they been in hell for several weeks, fighting for their lives. I'm here to tell you as a black woman your hair would *never* look that put together after several weeks of no chemical treatments, living out of a tent with no running water or electricity to waste on curling irons and the like. She should look more like the little boy in the first episode, for sure.
    2. The whole racial tension thing felt contrived - that whole score would have been settled long before the cop showed up, one way or another. How it was settled felt...patronizing.
    3. The shooting sequence of those scenes was also painfully obvious - first the black guy is beaten a bloody pulp on the roof and can barely walk (leaning on a wall with his cap still firmly on his head), then he's moving very quickly (san cap) in the basement with everyone else, then in the next roof scene he's back in exact same position, cap on his head, licking his wounds. I almost thought the guy in the basement was his twin or something. wtf?
    4. The white racist/bully being left on the roof with tools accidentally dropped that would help free him in the next episode or so? *groan*
    5. Finally, it was amazing how the zombies would miraculously break/leap through barriers when the plot called to up the action quotient.

    The second episode took all the wind out of this series for me. I'm shocked AMC was so quick to renew for a second season (Rubicon at least kept you guessing, at it's excruciatingly slow pace). I'll give it one more week and if doesn't improve I'm bailing.

    Though I'm rather tepid on this new series, have fun watching and I wish it luck!
    Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the first program you have a man wake up in an abandoned hospital with no living people, but a few dead people walking around. He manages to make it home to find his wife and kid missing, but signs they might still be alive. There's your set-up. What do you do to keep up the excitement? I'll tell you what you don't do. You don't then show the wife and kid safe and sound at a campground outside of town.

    Then our cop hero has to move along but the only vehicle he can find is a horse. That's exciting, because a horse leaves him vulnerable to zombies and this sets up an exciting chase. Except the writers decide, "to hell with an exciting chase, let's kill the horse immediately and have the guy hole up in an impenetrable armoured tank."

    I was looking forward to this series, but the acting isn't particularly good, is undermined by bad writing and both are further hobbled by a complete lack of suspense or tension. The characters are flat, introducing their one or two traits in their first moments (I'm a racist, and violent) and rest limply there, the only attempt at earning our interest is by having them share back-in-the-day stories; the characters chew over exposition instead of having conversations and seem largely unimpressed by the massive death around them. But where the show really fails is the inability to hold any tension. There are examples of this in every episode I've watched any bit of. I'm kind of mystified by the popularity of this program. After watching the premier and bits of the next two or three shows I was out of patience for it.
    Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2011
    0
    If any body read the comics, they would be furious. At least I was. For one not all the characters were in there and some you had all wrong. The comic is bout how the characters feel, bond and act in a situation of a zombie attack. It focuses on how people can be so cruel and how far people will go to keep their loved ones alive. I don't know how they are going to pull off season 2- itsIf any body read the comics, they would be furious. At least I was. For one not all the characters were in there and some you had all wrong. The comic is bout how the characters feel, bond and act in a situation of a zombie attack. It focuses on how people can be so cruel and how far people will go to keep their loved ones alive. I don't know how they are going to pull off season 2- its going way to far from the comic story line. What i like most about the comic is that it doesn't focus much on the government in the begining (unlike the tv show). They ruined it. They should stop, sit down and read the comic before making a series of it. If they would of just followed the comic, I think it would be better in every way! Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2011
    5
    I'm not a fan of zombie movies, but I liked this show right away. The first episode drew me in and I almost forgave Mr. Darabont for The Mist. Over the next three episodes though, I found the dialogue and some of the acting to be awkward and uncomfortably corny. I also find it funny that mostly the zombies are restricted to the usual slow limp, yet in one episode they were able to musterI'm not a fan of zombie movies, but I liked this show right away. The first episode drew me in and I almost forgave Mr. Darabont for The Mist. Over the next three episodes though, I found the dialogue and some of the acting to be awkward and uncomfortably corny. I also find it funny that mostly the zombies are restricted to the usual slow limp, yet in one episode they were able to muster up a light jog (a disappointing, "C'Mon!" moment) while pursuing the good guys. The make up is for the most part awesome, but every once in a while you see a zombie that's just a guy with a pale face (a bed-wetting fanboy no doubt). Based on all the positive reviews, I really expected/wanted this show to be awesome. Some of it is - fresh-faced and fearless. Some of it isn't - like an upright, rotting corpse. Expand
  24. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know there is only a handful of you, but you people with poor reviews just amaze me! This was a TV show about Zombies!!! Not Shakespeare or a crappy Transformers movie with non stop stupid action!! If you don't like this show, you will never like anything! This was an absolute joy to watch! I know it was only one episode, but I loved the fact that they DID build on characters and they DID make you care for them. I didn't want the dad and son to be left behind! It did make you think as to what YOU would do if you were in the same situation of blowing your own wife's head (even though she is a zombie). I really don't know if I could! The few times they did pull at the heart strings, it did work!! Even the horse part made me upset! I have never written a review for a T.V. show before. But this one was so good that I had to say something. If you like Zombie movies, give this one a try. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  25. Jan 6, 2011
    5
    First of this no where near as good as breaking bad or mad men, I really dont see why its got a golden globe nod. I enjoyed watching the first few episodes i, the parts where they were in the city were fun but the out of the city it was pretty dull. I still haven't manage to will myself to watch the finale maybe the finale will be so good it will change my mind........ I doubt it though,
  26. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    the show had a very promising beginning. and I had hopes for it, but after a few episodes it started to become quite boring, and it lacks the good acting and depth of shows like breaking bad or mad men.
  27. Dec 1, 2010
    2
    This show sucks. The first couple episodes were okay, but it has been downhill from there. The show's attempts at character development are soo weak. And there are so many moments that bore me to tears. Like the overly long scene where husband and wife are reunited and cuddling in the tent, and the never-ending scene where one sister mourns the death of the other. Keep it moving guys. NoThis show sucks. The first couple episodes were okay, but it has been downhill from there. The show's attempts at character development are soo weak. And there are so many moments that bore me to tears. Like the overly long scene where husband and wife are reunited and cuddling in the tent, and the never-ending scene where one sister mourns the death of the other. Keep it moving guys. No one cares about these people. We want to see a plot, we want to see action, and we want to keep it moving. These abundant and overly long scene edits are obviously designed to take up time, save money, and make up for the lack of plot developing scenes. Boring. Great to hear that all the writers from season one have been canned, but the real problem is a lack of planning and/or no real script. I'm tuning out. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    I just don't get it how a show LIKE this can get 85% metascore..... The show focus too much on violence,blood, bad language and nudity... I don't care about any character. Because there are no like-able characters. Not even the protagonist. All the characters do is swearing or talking bad about women (or hitting them on 4th episode) I almost vomit when i was watching the 2nd episode , whenI just don't get it how a show LIKE this can get 85% metascore..... The show focus too much on violence,blood, bad language and nudity... I don't care about any character. Because there are no like-able characters. Not even the protagonist. All the characters do is swearing or talking bad about women (or hitting them on 4th episode) I almost vomit when i was watching the 2nd episode , when they were taking the guts out of a zombie... DISGUSTING. And the show is not scary at all. Resident evil movies are far better than this. 0 score for me. i stopped watching after the 4th episode.. Expand
  29. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Sexist, racist and equally ridiculous. The writers and producers of this drivel want us all to know that they blatantly wish we could all go back to the dark ages. Where little missy washes clothes all day in the river, if she's not doing that she's hanging them on the line or looking after the children, while the men hunt and gather with the guns. The opening scene of the two cops hatingSexist, racist and equally ridiculous. The writers and producers of this drivel want us all to know that they blatantly wish we could all go back to the dark ages. Where little missy washes clothes all day in the river, if she's not doing that she's hanging them on the line or looking after the children, while the men hunt and gather with the guns. The opening scene of the two cops hating on women was just the warm up and it's down hill from there. Pity, because I really wanted to like it too. Special effects are good but they get a zero for the stink they've served up in this day and age. Shame on you. Expand
  30. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    Boring. How the hell is a zombie story boring? Because they spend too much time developing characters I care nothing about. Let me come clean though. When, in the very first episode, they ripped off the plot of 28 days later, I rolled my eyes, and knew I was in for some B.S. because I didn't think 28 days later was particularly good (but it was at least monumentally better than 28 MonthsBoring. How the hell is a zombie story boring? Because they spend too much time developing characters I care nothing about. Let me come clean though. When, in the very first episode, they ripped off the plot of 28 days later, I rolled my eyes, and knew I was in for some B.S. because I didn't think 28 days later was particularly good (but it was at least monumentally better than 28 Months Later...). The more you watch it, the more you realize the amount of "homage" they pay to every single zombie flick that came before, and you wonder if their winking, or just giving the middle finger to those writers of far better material. Zombie stories aren't fine literature, ever. They evoke primal fear, not intellectual, so when you try to engage the viewer on any level higher than what their amygdala can process, you no longer have a zombie movie/show, you have a show that's trying too hard, and missing the mark terribly. Frankly I'd rather watch something like "Night of the Comet" than this snore fest. Boooooooooo! Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    How the Walking Dead got an 84 is baffling to me. The show is bland and dumb. You dont give a flying **** about any of the characters. And the plot line is just stupid. I think people like this show just because it has zombies in it. I've asked many people what they like about this show, and I have not heard one that was not "Cuz it's badass," or "Zombies man, totally rad." The firstHow the Walking Dead got an 84 is baffling to me. The show is bland and dumb. You dont give a flying **** about any of the characters. And the plot line is just stupid. I think people like this show just because it has zombies in it. I've asked many people what they like about this show, and I have not heard one that was not "Cuz it's badass," or "Zombies man, totally rad." The first season was ok, but after that they stopped developing a plot. The past three seasons have just been the group finding a new place to stay for the season (i.e. the farm, the prison), gaining and loosing characters, and then finally have a big confrontation at the end of the season (i.e. the war, the raid on the farm). I could go on for hours about all of the dumb stuff in this show, but you get the point. Just go watch Breaking Bad, or something else Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2010
    4
    Ok, I take it back. The second episode is lots better. I am glad I gave it a try. I like that there is a woman with a brain (the African American woman who worked for the zoning department.)
  33. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    Finally, a weekly TV series that gives me my much needed zombie fix. AMC has totally knocked it out of the park with this original series. It's not just about zombies, and escaping from zombies, and the ultimate shootout in the end where one or two characters manage to live. This series is about how life changes in the zombie apocalypse. It's about the characters, and their uniqueFinally, a weekly TV series that gives me my much needed zombie fix. AMC has totally knocked it out of the park with this original series. It's not just about zombies, and escaping from zombies, and the ultimate shootout in the end where one or two characters manage to live. This series is about how life changes in the zombie apocalypse. It's about the characters, and their unique perspective on life (and death), and even though the characters are so different they are truly very similar. This is an amazing show that brings real life and real characters to an otherwise quirky horror genre. Great show AMC, please just go ahead and renew the contracts and bring us seasons 3, 4, and 5. Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The Walking Dead is not spoiled with Hollywood's glamorous charm. This show is a gritty, nasty zombie experience that will turn you into the said species as you watch the story unfold on your devil box.
  35. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Who wouldn't want to watch 28 Days Later as a series on TV? As I waited for the show, I really hoped they would make it work, because a large dose of well-done zombies is hard to get. We have 6 episodes this season, which equates to about 3 movies. Well done.
  36. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    I have never watched a Zombie movie since "Night Of The Living Dead." I visited "Sean Of The Dead" briefly and had decided that this genre is strictly for teens and those with too much free time on their hands. I'm hooked on this one though. It's a grown up survivor movie with Zombies thrown in. The script is smart, the actors are all low profile enough to share the spotlight and notI have never watched a Zombie movie since "Night Of The Living Dead." I visited "Sean Of The Dead" briefly and had decided that this genre is strictly for teens and those with too much free time on their hands. I'm hooked on this one though. It's a grown up survivor movie with Zombies thrown in. The script is smart, the actors are all low profile enough to share the spotlight and not detract from each other's characters, and the Director is Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption; The Green Mile.) And it has Sarah Wayne Callies a fellow alumni of mine (about 36 years apart), the cutie pie Doc of "Prison Break." What I love about this series is that it never disappoints, never lags, never forgets it's main purpose: to show movie making at it's most edgily entertaining. What I get from watching this is the same thing I got from watching "Alien" the first time: transportation to another under consciousness land of Hades. Expand
  37. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Absolute solid 10! If I could give it an 11 I would. This was top flight all the way, everything a zombie story should be. The effects are totally movie quality. The characters are interesting and I cared deeply for them. The sense of foreboding, the sudden fierce action sequences, EVERYTHING about this screamed "we loved making this", and it showed. GREAT first episode, if the rest of theAbsolute solid 10! If I could give it an 11 I would. This was top flight all the way, everything a zombie story should be. The effects are totally movie quality. The characters are interesting and I cared deeply for them. The sense of foreboding, the sudden fierce action sequences, EVERYTHING about this screamed "we loved making this", and it showed. GREAT first episode, if the rest of the series is this good I will be in heaven. Makes me want to dig up my old comics and reread these. if you haven't read the comics this was based on, you are missing out. Expand
  38. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I was really expecting something cheesy. I was pleasantly surprised by this one. Hope future episodes are as good or better. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  39. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    It's not fun Zombie (Zombieland), it's more like 1968's Planet of the Apes in tone and kinda depressing. That's not a cut on the show, but a compliment. It says a lot about the world we live in.
  40. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    All I can say is, Awesome show! Even though you can be assured the main character Rick, will probably survive, the show still puts him in situations of unbelievable doubt. This show is gritty, intense and perfectly paced. AMC is a hit pusher, with shows like "Mad Men", "Rubicon", "Breaking Bad" and now you can add, "The Walking Dead" to that list. Tell your wife and girlfriend to watch itAll I can say is, Awesome show! Even though you can be assured the main character Rick, will probably survive, the show still puts him in situations of unbelievable doubt. This show is gritty, intense and perfectly paced. AMC is a hit pusher, with shows like "Mad Men", "Rubicon", "Breaking Bad" and now you can add, "The Walking Dead" to that list. Tell your wife and girlfriend to watch it too. They might enjoy it. Expand
  41. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This must be the best show of the year! The Walking Dead is based upon the brilliant comic book and isn't afraid to veer off from the original comic and change things up a bit. I like this, because it allows us to see this storyline and these characters in a different way to the comics. Directed by Frank Darabont and produced by Gale Anne Hurd, this show has some pedigree. Every week isThis must be the best show of the year! The Walking Dead is based upon the brilliant comic book and isn't afraid to veer off from the original comic and change things up a bit. I like this, because it allows us to see this storyline and these characters in a different way to the comics. Directed by Frank Darabont and produced by Gale Anne Hurd, this show has some pedigree. Every week is like a mini-movie, and done exceptionley well like a movie. If there was only 1 show for me to recommend this year, let alone this decade, it's be The Walking Dead Expand
  42. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Engrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont'sEngrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont's influence is felt in the somewhat schlocky origin story arc and his trademark weakness for one-dimensional characterizations and shock kills - most notably in the gratuitous first scene - but this will hopefully ease up or disappear completely by season's end. At its worst it's a smartly adapted and compelling series that will let the zombie grow in ways it has and can not in film, tragically brief, and well worth! Expand
  43. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    The budget is evident. The sets and the effects are fantastic, and some of the empty city scenes are impressive. But there is a but. The acting is a bit 'daytime TV', and none of the characters develops enough for us to truly connect with them. I would have prefered less characters and more moments of silent reflection on the emptiness and violence of the place. I also agree with someThe budget is evident. The sets and the effects are fantastic, and some of the empty city scenes are impressive. But there is a but. The acting is a bit 'daytime TV', and none of the characters develops enough for us to truly connect with them. I would have prefered less characters and more moments of silent reflection on the emptiness and violence of the place. I also agree with some comments here, the series will now be about moving from set piece (the tank, the roof, the woods) to set piece. I imagine the formula will follow something along the lines of:

    1.This place looks safe
    2. There are more zombies here than we thought
    3. Now we are trapped.
    4. We lose one or two people (minorities likely)
    5. We make it out and move on.
    6. This place looks safe.

    But it is still a really good watch. Violent and fast and everything a zombie show should be.
    Expand
  44. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also,
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also, the show adds to the comic rather than just playing off of the comic. The emotion behind each choice for Rick Grimes is exaggerated in his expressions, the fear and hardship endured by everyone is prevalent in their actions and the overall scene is dismal, which is indicative to a zombie story.

    The acting is good so far, zombies are really good at being zombie and humans good at being humans. As for the story, I do know what to expect but I always wonder if there will be any twists or changes. All in all, this is a great show and only adds to the amazing AMC lineup. I would highly recommend anyone who can stomach the show, to watch it. This will definitely go down as one of the best zombie stories of all time.
    Expand
  45. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Landmark television folks. Diverges just enough from the comics to keep it fresh without also bastardizing. Truly hope this finds an audience. The opening scene may have pushed some viewers away.
  46. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Very promising show as down of the dead the movie was several years ago
    The first episode is very impressive in term of special effects and actors playing
    Hope it will continue on the same base This is an excellent tv focussed and refreshing try on the zombie genre
  47. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, but this is something that leaves me wanting more. The plot is solid, the characters are well played, and the scenes of horror are intense enough to experience the characters' despair yourself.
  48. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF?What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF? shows of the year. Expand
  49. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The cinematography is amazing, the music is amazing, the actors are good, the plot is amazing, the atmosphere is very well crafted, and the general tone of the show is very well done. Do not miss The Walking Dead.
  50. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes,Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  51. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale.
    Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'.
    Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show. Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale.
    Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'.

    Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show.

    Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl who always wants to shoot guns is annoying, Carl is deffo bent, t-dog is a **** the old camper man was cool, glen the Chinese guy is very likeable, daryl is legend, the farm man is good and Rick is a BOSS! Very well acted for a out of nowhere tv show.

    Lets hope it stays this good and takes best tv show from Lost or the sopranos.
    Expand
  52. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    This series started well enough but has quickly devolved into nothing but talk. Already on the 4th episode and zombies are on screen for less than 5 minutes during an "hour" long show. The suspense from the first two episodes seems completely gone now. The last two episodes have sunk into the standard TV series formula that strings you along for 40 minutes, leaving anything worth watchingThis series started well enough but has quickly devolved into nothing but talk. Already on the 4th episode and zombies are on screen for less than 5 minutes during an "hour" long show. The suspense from the first two episodes seems completely gone now. The last two episodes have sunk into the standard TV series formula that strings you along for 40 minutes, leaving anything worth watching for the last 5 minutes of the show (the time slot is an hour long with commercials). I really wanted to like this show. Please read the other low score reviews as they really nail what this show is like. Perhaps The Walking Dead will get better with time. Heck, Fringe sort of did...sort of. Expand
  53. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    "The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is"The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is really just nitpicking when it comes down to it. Expand
  54. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    The fact zombies are part of the content is secondary. The simple fact is Walking Dead is human nature showcased, its very touching because of this. Hopefully they remain true to the spirit of the books. WD is my favorite TV show of all time... One because I hate TV and two because I love exploring human nature. WD is awesome!

    BTW: I hate you!
  55. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    "The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing"The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing but quality and well thought out shows and "TWD" is just that. Every week this show has kept me glued to the screen and it makes you really feel for the characters even though we have only known them for a short time. This show so far is a very faithful adaptation and if the episodes continue the way they have been (dark environments, great acting and relationships that you can feel for.) it is going to last for years to come. In two words; Just Awesome. Expand
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    A TV series about zombie survival sounds like a great idea but unfortunately the Walking Dead doesn't do much new that we haven't already seen on other movies or video games. The characters are nothing special or interesting and their actions seem unbelievable to their circumstances. The first 2 episodes arn't too bad but as the series unfolds it gets far too ridiculous. The props andA TV series about zombie survival sounds like a great idea but unfortunately the Walking Dead doesn't do much new that we haven't already seen on other movies or video games. The characters are nothing special or interesting and their actions seem unbelievable to their circumstances. The first 2 episodes arn't too bad but as the series unfolds it gets far too ridiculous. The props and costumes are good but the rest of the show is a missed opportunity. Expand
  57. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    I really like the series but the first season was too short so we didn't have time to see the story to develop or to be emotionally attached to the characters. But the best thing about "The Walking Dead" is its humanistic and realistic side. We testify how people must to adapt to a new way of living, how they deal with the danger, death, and above all, how they have to count on oneI really like the series but the first season was too short so we didn't have time to see the story to develop or to be emotionally attached to the characters. But the best thing about "The Walking Dead" is its humanistic and realistic side. We testify how people must to adapt to a new way of living, how they deal with the danger, death, and above all, how they have to count on one another in order to persevere. Expand
  58. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    The season 2 premiere was edge-of-the-seat stuff, even given the fact they had to spend a little time re-establishing who's who. It was also quite possibly some of the goriest tv i've ever seen, but as always remains true to the plot, with excellent writing and fantastic special effects.
  59. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    I originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let meI originally rated this show a 10/10. That was on the first season. I downgraded it to a 7/10 after the disappointing second season. What happened? The show started with a bang. It was suspenseful, compelling and well-crafted. The short season helped the show to keep it snappy. Then the second season comes out, the setting changes to a farm, and everything goes downhill from there. Let me put it this way: If you watch Breaking Bad, imagine if every character in the show was Skyler White. The characters became whiny, sanctimonious and not very bright. A longer season didn't benefit the show, as every episode has filler of people whining nonstop until something happens. The show has turned into a cliched horror movie, with characters so stupid you root for the zombies to finish them off. I have read the comics, and it's not like that, so I hope the show gets better and I'm willing to improve my score if it does. Expand
  60. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    Great show, although slow-paced at times. It has a great production value, with the cities portrayed, and the lifelike zombie attire. My only concern is the growing further and further from the original comic story line. I understand they have to make their own impact for a general audience but there are great elements that could be combined. In certain times it even seems to not haveGreat show, although slow-paced at times. It has a great production value, with the cities portrayed, and the lifelike zombie attire. My only concern is the growing further and further from the original comic story line. I understand they have to make their own impact for a general audience but there are great elements that could be combined. In certain times it even seems to not have a sense of a strong female lead. They have made most of them weak and unable to make good choices. I do enjoy watching the show, but it definitely isn't a MUST see for this zombie fan. Expand
  61. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    Absolutely brilliant...!!
    An anguishing and realistic post-apocalyptic atmosphere but without the regular "stressful" tricks used in movies (e.g. scary music with camera focus on a door where a zombie is supposedly hiding)... the images are impressive too and the storyline is really captivating!
    This show is really scary, just try to go outside after watching some episodes and the streets
    Absolutely brilliant...!!
    An anguishing and realistic post-apocalyptic atmosphere but without the regular "stressful" tricks used in movies (e.g. scary music with camera focus on a door where a zombie is supposedly hiding)... the images are impressive too and the storyline is really captivating!
    This show is really scary, just try to go outside after watching some episodes and the streets will definitely look different and strange... scary I said but in a good way... zombies are everywhere, but don't expect to see zombie fights & blood 100% of the time! (that's another good point for the show!)

    For the fans of the comics, since I haven't read the comics (yet) it is difficult for me to compare... or to de disappointed in any way!
    Expand
  62. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    Season 1 of The Walking Dead is simply amazing. The Show doesn't reinvent the "zombie apocalypse" or even come close. A lot of things can be familiar to anyone who's watched a few zombie movies, but this keeps you on your feet feeling a zombie expert watching their prey barely escape death constantly. The acting is great. The effects are fantastic for television. If you watch this season,Season 1 of The Walking Dead is simply amazing. The Show doesn't reinvent the "zombie apocalypse" or even come close. A lot of things can be familiar to anyone who's watched a few zombie movies, but this keeps you on your feet feeling a zombie expert watching their prey barely escape death constantly. The acting is great. The effects are fantastic for television. If you watch this season, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  63. LMW
    Jun 10, 2012
    4
    Boring, plainly stupid and bleak TV series. Actors playing arouse nothing but gapes. Their so called "problems" are meaningless - how can they care about fishing when their world is overrun by zombies? Moreover, they do not know what the word respect means - when Dr. Edwin Jenner helps them to escape their sealed fate, how did most of characters pay him back? That is right, by accusing himBoring, plainly stupid and bleak TV series. Actors playing arouse nothing but gapes. Their so called "problems" are meaningless - how can they care about fishing when their world is overrun by zombies? Moreover, they do not know what the word respect means - when Dr. Edwin Jenner helps them to escape their sealed fate, how did most of characters pay him back? That is right, by accusing him in not providing a safe heaven for them. Can you believe that? I can't. And I couldn't for the whole first season. No emotions, no empathy, no drama. Did someone die? Who cares. And, by the way, why the heck all actors have clean and shiny hair even after a big fight or long trip? That looks really strange in a grim, bloody and "realistic" movie. Expand
  64. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Somebody pinch me. I honestly think i'm dreaming because never in a million years would I think a successful zombie-themed television show be on the air. The Walking Dead is based on a series of comic books of the same name that are written by Robert Kirkman after first being published in 2003. This show has essential features from many other great TV programs, books and films. The actingSomebody pinch me. I honestly think i'm dreaming because never in a million years would I think a successful zombie-themed television show be on the air. The Walking Dead is based on a series of comic books of the same name that are written by Robert Kirkman after first being published in 2003. This show has essential features from many other great TV programs, books and films. The acting is on par for some of the best presently on the small screen. One drawback is how short the first season is with only six episodes. Expand
  65. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    I can't stand people hating this for no reason, this is one of the best shows i have ever seen. No one, and i repeat no one have ever done this before, getting the whole zombie apocalypse plot and putting it together for a TV show with such brilliance is just amazing. I wasn't sure i'll ever watch this show but i did somehow just to see if i like it and since then i am a big fan. This showI can't stand people hating this for no reason, this is one of the best shows i have ever seen. No one, and i repeat no one have ever done this before, getting the whole zombie apocalypse plot and putting it together for a TV show with such brilliance is just amazing. I wasn't sure i'll ever watch this show but i did somehow just to see if i like it and since then i am a big fan. This show is brilliantly paced and acted with many scenes that gives you heart stopping thrills and chills. The good thing is that it is written perfectly so it doesn't comes off as a cheap show with Zombies and all. Just brilliant. Expand
  66. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best shows of all time. It ranks second on my list of best TV shows of all time behind only Firefly. There is so many things that I love with the show, the one that I love the most are the characters. You can actually see them grow and feel for them. This is not one of those unrealistic zombie shoot 'em show, this is a realistic survival show which is amazing.This is by far one of the best shows of all time. It ranks second on my list of best TV shows of all time behind only Firefly. There is so many things that I love with the show, the one that I love the most are the characters. You can actually see them grow and feel for them. This is not one of those unrealistic zombie shoot 'em show, this is a realistic survival show which is amazing. Every waking moment of this show I am on the edge of my seat anticipation whats going to happen next. Expand
  67. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    what a great show! I have just caught up with the 2nd season now and it is probably better than the 1st already! why I only give it a 9 though is because the first season was maybe too short and also I didn't enjoy the last episode at all..so that's a 9 for season 1 and a 10 for season 2 so far!
  68. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    After an overall solid first series yet a slow start to series 2, thw walking dead has finally reclaimed itself in my top 5 series of current times. Tension has been built up, the group is falling apart, things are getting epic again and i can't wait for the next 2 episodes.
  69. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Not slot of score but still. Story/adaption is great. It's so intense, it's just great. I think it was robbed in the Emmys. You couldn't ask for an even better beginning. Can't wait for the next season.
  70. Oct 31, 2013
    3
    It's plain and simple. Very boring. Some horrible acting and terrible subplots really hurt the show. It's also nothing like the comic, which are honestly far superior. It gets 3 points for having good special effects.
  71. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. AMAZING! Everything I would expect but more! The suspense through the first season was awesome and the writers painted an amazing picture of the zombie apocalypse and how bad things were. Every character has it's own personality which makes you wonder as the show goes on how they will clash with other members of there camp. Every character can be related to in some aspect which makes it that more exciting to watch cause you think you know what the survivors will do next. The story always leads to new hope and also leads to great losses as well. Expand
  72. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    I didn't thought this series was that good. I watched it and I enjoyed it - that's the main part. And then I found out why it was this good. It's based on a comic book. It's pretty darn good. I love the characters, though I had some trouble with Rick's wife and Shane. This series is definitely in the current top 10.
  73. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    First season was superb compared to season two. There was little too much drama going on and the story proceeded very slowly. I recommend reading the comic books which are far more better then the TV show.
  74. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    The first season of Walking Dead finally brings back the zombie genre. With great acting, characters, editing, and pacing, this show is not afraid to go all out and kill off main characters. Here's to hoping that this show sticks around a while!
  75. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    One of the most remarkable dramas on TV. Stunning, scary, disgusting, dramatic, suspenseful.........pure entertainment!!!! Don't miss it!!! Andrew Lincoln and Norman Reedus are the best in my opinion.
  76. Oct 13, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. there is no logic in the series, the characters are stupid, just irritate their illogical behavior. There is no common sense, the actions of the survivors contradicting themselves. 1 of only 10 in the first series of the first season. Expand
  77. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This show is masterpiece. Every time I watch one episode, I want to go to the next episode. You get emotionally attached to the characters, and they kill them off, that makes you unpredictable of what is going to happen next
  78. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    I don't understand all the hype for this show. I saw the first episode among others, and the show is kind of dull, to be honest. It has a lot of shots of Andrew Lincoln's confused face as the events in the first episode unfold, and a lot of confusion and devices to move the story long. It isn't a bad show, per se, but it definitely doesn't deserve all the hype it's been getting.
  79. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    The Walking Dead não traz grandes surpresas, e não se diferencia de outras obras com tema zumbis, a não ser pelo formado serie, e ai que a exigências aumentam. Para prender o telespectador a trama tem que ter muitos ganchos e sub temas atrativos e aqui isso não acontece, seguindo uma unica linha narrativa a trama se prende demais a estética zumbi e deixa a narração de lado.
  80. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I am starting to fall in love with the brand new season (season 4) omg I just love the walking dead. The way they started episode 1 off was just genius. If you havnt watched it then I suggest you do! Here come the walkers!
  81. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This season of the walking dead is a good season so far and the governor is back. i do not want spoiled the next week episode of it is all about the governor again
  82. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When it comes to watching horror movies or TV shows, there are many options out there. The genres of horror stories have changed dramatically over the years. They range from post-zombie apocalypse to gory spooky stuff. American filmmakers have turned the idea of horror shows into a joke. One popular show among high school and college students is The Walking Dead. Thankfully, the producers of the hit show, The Walking Dead, know what they are doing. After viewing a few episodes, a person will understand this. Bravo to the producers for how deranged, well acted and written the show is. The characters are well developed and it is based on things people might actually do if they were ever in situations like the ones in the first season.
    The pilot of The Walking Dead was great. This was a well-assembled show that creates great suspense and a scary fell to people. In this show, the series protagonist is Sheriff’s Deputy Rick Grimes. Shane Walsh is Rick’s best friend, Lori is Rick’s wife, Carl is Lori and Rick’s son, Andrea is a civil rights attorney, Amy is Andrea’s sister, Dale is the one who forms the group of survivors and owns an RV, and Glen is the one that’s sent on missions that are sometimes dangerous.
    In the beginning, Rick Grimes is left in a coma after a gunshot wound. He awakens to a post-zombie apocalyptic world. He calls these infectious zombies “walkers”. He discovers that the military is wrecked and have lost the battle. While he is on the look for this missing wife and son, he meets fellow survivors, Morgan Jones and his son Duane. They explain the whole situation to him. It has been rumored that the CDC is a quarantined safe-zone. Rick then believes that his wife and son could be there. He later learns that walkers overran it. Rick meets Glenn Rhee and becomes part of their group. Walkers attack them in a department store, which forces them to move.
    Rick’s wife Lori and son Carl are safe a few miles outside of Atlanta. Lori and Carl are with Shane Walsh, Rick’s former partner/best friend. Lori and Shane are now lovers because they believed Rick was dead. Rick reunites with Lori and Carl after escaping Atlanta. Rick does not know about Lori and Shane though. He becomes partners with Shane and is the leader of the group. Part of the group then goes back to the city with Rick to get weapons and to rescue Merle. Rick finds that Merle has escaped when the group arrives back to the building were Merle is. When they return to camp, they find that walkers overrun it. Andrea’s sister, Amy, is killed. Jim was injured during this period so the group plans to go back to Atlanta and try to get help from the CDC. When this is all over, one family sets off alone in hopes of finding their relatives. Jim tells the group that he wants to be abandoned on the road because of his infection from the zombie bite. The members left in the group then head towards the CDC.
    Once the group arrives at the CDC, they find only one staff member to be alive, Dr. Edwin Jenner. Dr. Jenner explains his study on this catastrophic zombie apocalypse. He then explains to the group that this building will self-destruct to keep the deadly diseases from escaping. Carol was able to save the group by a grenade that blows out a window. Dr. Jenner, Andrea, and Jacqui decide to stay as they have lost hope. Andrea goes back on her word because Dale refused to leave Andrea behind. They barely make it out of the building before it self-destructed. Jenner and Jacqui are killed. This all happens in the first season of The Walking Dead.
    Each episode leaves the viewers stunned. The show is interesting and thrilling as they leave one anxiously waiting to see what happens next. Some moments were upsettingly perfect. The characters are well developed and the idea of the post-zombie apocalypse is fascinating. The actions of the people in this TV show closely resemble what people would do in the real world as well. The audience that this show brings are people whom like zombie and gory scenes. In the end, the show gets plenty of viewers and is different from any other type of horror TV show.
    Expand
  83. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    AMC Originals is damn good TV and I can see this one going very far. I saw the first episode on Halloween and I had no idea it was a pilot to a new series. What a surprise! That was so cool - always been a big fan of the zombie movies. I hope that they can go the distance with such a complicated premise for a show. So far with only a few episodes they're off to an amazing start.
  84. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Holy Sh** dude!!! This is fantastic. I could say more about this "TV SHOW" but i think that FrozenStar90 has already said it all, so if you can't make up your mind about watching this series PLEASE for pity sake do watch it because it will blow you away, have you glued to the couch and many more. Peace ;)
  85. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    The Walking Dead is not bad, but sometimes it's too corny and boring. The characters are pretty bad ... But sometimes it's nice. But Prison Break is another world.
  86. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    I love this show. It dominates others.
  87. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Doesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story andDoesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story and development of the plot. Expand
  88. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    It's a fun show. It's got everything you want from a zombie show; sorrow, brutal violence, great characters and attachment. It's a good show. The show that everyone will talk about in 30 years besides Breaking Bad.
  89. Mar 23, 2015
    8
    In its first season, TWD shines bright in a sea of rehashed ideas. While the show doesn't get everything right - it's short set of episodes and lower starting budget can be partially blamed for this, TWD quickly becomes one of the most relevant pieces of entertainment in recent history. This is a show you must watch, assuming you can handle a heightened level of gore given the nature ofIn its first season, TWD shines bright in a sea of rehashed ideas. While the show doesn't get everything right - it's short set of episodes and lower starting budget can be partially blamed for this, TWD quickly becomes one of the most relevant pieces of entertainment in recent history. This is a show you must watch, assuming you can handle a heightened level of gore given the nature of the zombie survival setting and the fact that TWD is on AMC, allowing for more grit and realism that would be near-impossible on major networks. Expand
  90. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV series I have seen in the last 2 years
    Expand
  91. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    Having not been familiar with the source material when first aired, I was very skeptical with the idea of stretching a story about a zombie apocalypse into an ongoing series and even though I was generally won over by the end of episode one, I still had doubts about its longevity.

    Featuring Romero inspired gore and achieving a real sense of scale in spite of its television limitations,
    Having not been familiar with the source material when first aired, I was very skeptical with the idea of stretching a story about a zombie apocalypse into an ongoing series and even though I was generally won over by the end of episode one, I still had doubts about its longevity.

    Featuring Romero inspired gore and achieving a real sense of scale in spite of its television limitations, I was instantly won over by both its tone and style however it was the central story about the plight of Andrew Lincoln's Rick Grimes which carries it through the first season and indeed in all seasons since. Season one moves at a brisker pace with the introduction of a group of survivors whose lack of development is compensated by their diversity and general likability. It's testament to its excellent cast and writers that the pivotal and brutal night attack at the end of episode 4 really packs a punch whilst also serving as the real catalyst for climatic events in the second season.

    Season one in hindsight feels bare in comparison to what follows but it does its job perfectly in setting the scene and introducing the character so successfully that you care for them whilst looking forward to seeing what happens next. It may only have six episodes but it certainly doesn't waste them.
    Expand
  92. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favoriteOne of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favorite zombie movie. It asks many questions about our own sanity during difficult situations, what is the right thing to do, and how far will you go to save your loved ones. It has enough story and drama and zombie-killing action to back it up as a long-running series. Expand
  93. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    AMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. ThisAMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. This is what a zombie franchise needed. A series is better for zombie plots because you cannot cover the emotional and sub plots of people in a movie. There simply isn't enough time. AMC could certainly sell this series to a more profitable station for a ton of money but i wouldn't be surprised if they keep it on AMC and draw in more viewers. Overall: Great series, Cant wait for season 2! Expand
  94. Jan 21, 2011
    7
    Man, that pilot is one of the best things I saw on TV last year, but then, it went downhill after that. I feel a bit conflicted because there are some things I really love about this show, the atmosphere, mood, etc. but on the other hand its filled with clichéd dialogue, contrived situations, shoddy accents and acting, so overall I feel disappointed with it. I really thinkMan, that pilot is one of the best things I saw on TV last year, but then, it went downhill after that. I feel a bit conflicted because there are some things I really love about this show, the atmosphere, mood, etc. but on the other hand its filled with clichéd dialogue, contrived situations, shoddy accents and acting, so overall I feel disappointed with it. I really think that the show can only go up from here, now with a new writing staff hopefully they'll address these issue and if not, well, it did have an awesome pilot. Expand
  95. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    This show is fantastic, I became addicted to this show extremely fast and could not stop watching it. The truth of the matter is, they did so much right with the show, and few things wrong. Now, I haven't read any of the comics, but after watching this I plan too. Each of the characters in this show are unique and very much their own. Most if not all of the acting is absolutely superb,This show is fantastic, I became addicted to this show extremely fast and could not stop watching it. The truth of the matter is, they did so much right with the show, and few things wrong. Now, I haven't read any of the comics, but after watching this I plan too. Each of the characters in this show are unique and very much their own. Most if not all of the acting is absolutely superb, and the storyline is great too. There were 3 or 4 small things in the show that I don't think made sense, but they were always extremely small and usually did not effect any episode other than the one the flaw was in. Another gripe I had was that some of the Zombies really just looked like and acted like people with some dirt and makeup and fake cuts and bruises, but only some of them. Overall I think this was a fantastic season and I cant wait for more. Expand
  96. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This show already has an advantage over Zombie movies: Having the ability to flesh out characters. The fact that you care what happens to the cast is what makes this show great. Definitely a good show to watch if you like horror, drama, and humanity.
  97. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    It rocks my world !This is so entertaining and mindless. All you do is sit and relax and get the **** scared out of you. What could be better than that ?
  98. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    AMAZING show. at first I thought it started a bit slow..a lot of talking..and would have LOVED to see the collapse of the world happen (police and military trying to deal with the dead). EVERY zombie movies lacks this. BUT this is not a zombie movie, instead a GREAT show. Enjoy this very much and theyve made some very good changes. Only show i actually watch anymore. give it a 10!
  99. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    I haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring aI haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring a screen adaptation against the source material is unfair, just like Harry Potter films don't follow the books perfectly. Walking Dead is brilliant at what it does, it may be a bit deviant from the source material but that doesn't mean it cannot be appreciated for what it DOES do. Great show, I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive