• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1536 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    Finally, a weekly TV series that gives me my much needed zombie fix. AMC has totally knocked it out of the park with this original series. It's not just about zombies, and escaping from zombies, and the ultimate shootout in the end where one or two characters manage to live. This series is about how life changes in the zombie apocalypse. It's about the characters, and their unique perspective on life (and death), and even though the characters are so different they are truly very similar. This is an amazing show that brings real life and real characters to an otherwise quirky horror genre. Great show AMC, please just go ahead and renew the contracts and bring us seasons 3, 4, and 5. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    The Walking Dead is not spoiled with Hollywood's glamorous charm. This show is a gritty, nasty zombie experience that will turn you into the said species as you watch the story unfold on your devil box.
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Wonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been this excited about any TV show since Lost. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    It definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only I didn't have to wait... Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Who wouldn't want to watch 28 Days Later as a series on TV? As I waited for the show, I really hoped they would make it work, because a large dose of well-done zombies is hard to get. We have 6 episodes this season, which equates to about 3 movies. Well done.
  8. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  9. BMF
    Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Holy **** this shows great its the only show I actually plan to watch every week I hope it doesnt get cancelled prematurely like other excellent series.
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    I have never watched a Zombie movie since "Night Of The Living Dead." I visited "Sean Of The Dead" briefly and had decided that this genre is strictly for teens and those with too much free time on their hands. I'm hooked on this one though. It's a grown up survivor movie with Zombies thrown in. The script is smart, the actors are all low profile enough to share the spotlight and not detract from each other's characters, and the Director is Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption; The Green Mile.) And it has Sarah Wayne Callies a fellow alumni of mine (about 36 years apart), the cutie pie Doc of "Prison Break." What I love about this series is that it never disappoints, never lags, never forgets it's main purpose: to show movie making at it's most edgily entertaining. What I get from watching this is the same thing I got from watching "Alien" the first time: transportation to another under consciousness land of Hades. Expand
  11. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    AMC Originals is damn good TV and I can see this one going very far. I saw the first episode on Halloween and I had no idea it was a pilot to a new series. What a surprise! That was so cool - always been a big fan of the zombie movies. I hope that they can go the distance with such a complicated premise for a show. So far with only a few episodes they're off to an amazing start.
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  13. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Absolute solid 10! If I could give it an 11 I would. This was top flight all the way, everything a zombie story should be. The effects are totally movie quality. The characters are interesting and I cared deeply for them. The sense of foreboding, the sudden fierce action sequences, EVERYTHING about this screamed "we loved making this", and it showed. GREAT first episode, if the rest of the series is this good I will be in heaven. Makes me want to dig up my old comics and reread these. if you haven't read the comics this was based on, you are missing out. Expand
  14. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  15. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Holy Sh** dude!!! This is fantastic. I could say more about this "TV SHOW" but i think that FrozenStar90 has already said it all, so if you can't make up your mind about watching this series PLEASE for pity sake do watch it because it will blow you away, have you glued to the couch and many more. Peace ;)
  16. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull any punches here, ie: it's as bloody and gory as any zombie flick worth noting. So if you are interested in a series that has the time to really connect you to the characters ( and by the looks of it, they plan to ), and are any kind of a zombie flick fan, this is what you've been waiting for. I for one, truly cannot wait to see more. Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! You should certainly watch this show. Expand
  18. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I was really expecting something cheesy. I was pleasantly surprised by this one. Hope future episodes are as good or better. Looking forward to next weeks episode.
  19. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    I love this show. It dominates others.
  20. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Doesn't deserve a 10/10 but I think with it could get there. I really liked the drama/action scenes and I'm excited to see what Season 2 will bring to the show (I'm guessing the group will somehow go to France). But there was too much focus on the ridiculous social situation, I'ed be fine with most of the show being action intense scenes where the rest was focusing on the story and development of the plot. Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    It's a fun show. It's got everything you want from a zombie show; sorrow, brutal violence, great characters and attachment. It's a good show. The show that everyone will talk about in 30 years besides Breaking Bad.
  22. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    All I can say is, Awesome show! Even though you can be assured the main character Rick, will probably survive, the show still puts him in situations of unbelievable doubt. This show is gritty, intense and perfectly paced. AMC is a hit pusher, with shows like "Mad Men", "Rubicon", "Breaking Bad" and now you can add, "The Walking Dead" to that list. Tell your wife and girlfriend to watch it too. They might enjoy it. Expand
  23. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I was a bit skeptical before the premiere but now I am sold. It's truly amazing how AMC continues to come up with such great series that pretty much put the big networks to shame. This series shows great promise. Watching this premiere was like watching a high production movie, but in a good way. Definitely hope it gets renewed for a second season if it hasn't yet.
  24. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    An absolutly astounding series that has made me like zombie shows again after the abysmal Resident Evil films. The production quality is excellent for a TV series. The character development from episode to episode has been brilliant. The series takes alot of elements from the original comic series but then adds new elements to improve it even further and it succeeds!!!

    One of the best TV
    series I have seen in the last 2 years Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Movie quality TV. Completely agree with that review. The acting, zombies, and cinematography is great. Definitely looking forward to the rest of this great TV show.
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This must be the best show of the year! The Walking Dead is based upon the brilliant comic book and isn't afraid to veer off from the original comic and change things up a bit. I like this, because it allows us to see this storyline and these characters in a different way to the comics. Directed by Frank Darabont and produced by Gale Anne Hurd, this show has some pedigree. Every week is like a mini-movie, and done exceptionley well like a movie. If there was only 1 show for me to recommend this year, let alone this decade, it's be The Walking Dead Expand
  27. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever made. At first I didn't know what to expect; a full on blood-gushing TV series or just a run around scavenging survival tale, but the whole zombie genre was takes to whole new levels. Unlike zombie movies it is more than just a survival story, it is a whole odyssey of drama, emotions, and violence. It is a combination of your favorite drama and your favorite zombie movie. It asks many questions about our own sanity during difficult situations, what is the right thing to do, and how far will you go to save your loved ones. It has enough story and drama and zombie-killing action to back it up as a long-running series. Expand
  28. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Engrossing, paced and familiar - that last one being both good and bad, as the premiere episode shows us it is both faithful to Kirkman's graphic novels, but also stacked with hokeyness and cliches in areas it wouldn't need to be with a longer first season (only 6 episodes, it has to shuffle at a crisp pace even while taking it slower and fleshier than most cinematic outings). Darabont's influence is felt in the somewhat schlocky origin story arc and his trademark weakness for one-dimensional characterizations and shock kills - most notably in the gratuitous first scene - but this will hopefully ease up or disappear completely by season's end. At its worst it's a smartly adapted and compelling series that will let the zombie grow in ways it has and can not in film, tragically brief, and well worth! Expand
  29. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know there is only a handful of you, but you people with poor reviews just amaze me! This was a TV show about Zombies!!! Not Shakespeare or a crappy Transformers movie with non stop stupid action!! If you don't like this show, you will never like anything! This was an absolute joy to watch! I know it was only one episode, but I loved the fact that they DID build on characters and they DID make you care for them. I didn't want the dad and son to be left behind! It did make you think as to what YOU would do if you were in the same situation of blowing your own wife's head (even though she is a zombie). I really don't know if I could! The few times they did pull at the heart strings, it did work!! Even the horse part made me upset! I have never written a review for a T.V. show before. But this one was so good that I had to say something. If you like Zombie movies, give this one a try. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    AMC is certainly on the right track with this one. Every Sunday Night, i glued myself to this show instead of watching Sunday Night Football which is a feat in itself. The acting was brilliant for people ive never seen before and the production value for this was magnificent! The only thing that urks me is how short the season was but i love how it ended where it can keep going. This is what a zombie franchise needed. A series is better for zombie plots because you cannot cover the emotional and sub plots of people in a movie. There simply isn't enough time. AMC could certainly sell this series to a more profitable station for a ton of money but i wouldn't be surprised if they keep it on AMC and draw in more viewers. Overall: Great series, Cant wait for season 2! Expand
  31. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  32. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Great episode. If the show continues to be anything like it was tonight this will be one of the greatest adaptations ever! Also liked how AMC came out and proved that they aren't going to hold back on the show.
  33. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  34. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as a zombie craving brains. Expand
  35. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach. When Rick Grimes saw the "bicycle girl" zombie, I felt his terror. It didn't look like masterful special effects, it looked like a person who had been brutalized, come back to un-life, rotted, and dried out crawling around in the sun. Rick is human, not a juggernaut of a protagonist. I don't know if Rick will ever truly feel safe but as long as Rick doesn't feel safe, I won't feel safe, and as long as everybody feels unsafe and The Waking Dead remains goal-oriented, the series won't just "shamble along." Expand
  36. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Being an avid comic book reader, this is one of the best comics to date. I was a little leery on how the TV adaptation would do, and if they would keep with the story line of the comic. After watching the first episode I am amazed at how accurate the show is. It was shot almost scene for scene off of the comic and keeps really true to the events and personality of each character.

    Also,
    the show adds to the comic rather than just playing off of the comic. The emotion behind each choice for Rick Grimes is exaggerated in his expressions, the fear and hardship endured by everyone is prevalent in their actions and the overall scene is dismal, which is indicative to a zombie story.

    The acting is good so far, zombies are really good at being zombie and humans good at being humans. As for the story, I do know what to expect but I always wonder if there will be any twists or changes. All in all, this is a great show and only adds to the amazing AMC lineup. I would highly recommend anyone who can stomach the show, to watch it. This will definitely go down as one of the best zombie stories of all time.
    Expand
  37. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Landmark television folks. Diverges just enough from the comics to keep it fresh without also bastardizing. Truly hope this finds an audience. The opening scene may have pushed some viewers away.
  38. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    All the months of waiting paid off, thank you amc got this show and not HBO. Phew and the show actually made the comic book better. The gore and violence are all in context and not just stuck in there for the shock value.
  39. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Very promising show as down of the dead the movie was several years ago
    The first episode is very impressive in term of special effects and actors playing
    Hope it will continue on the same base This is an excellent tv focussed and refreshing try on the zombie genre
  40. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on their composition. Sure, the show started slow. However, the interactions before the disaster are extremely important to the structure of relationships between characters. This show is obviously not for the someone that's looking for a "bloody" good time. I do recommend this to someone who is looking for a realistic account to a very unrealistic scenario. Expand
  41. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! A great zombie movie made series!! Can't wait to watch it all!!! Great photography, great effects!!
    Well acted, very emotional!!
    WHAT ARE YOU WAITING TO WATCH IT!!!???
  42. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Being an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start the direction of the show has been great, from the great special effects to even nodding at a couple of zombie cliches. It's not scary but I don't think that's the point, it's a drama with zombies. The first episode alone is better than most zombie movies out there and I hope that the rest of the series follow.

    It's a wonderful show and I do suggest picking it up. Unless gore is not your thing, because the gore here is very high.
    Expand
  43. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Completely engrossing, movie quality series. This does nothing different, in fact, it fully embraces all the old Zombie cliches, including the old classic 'blood writing on the walls', moulding them into one fantastic show, which manages to keep you fixated on the screen.
  44. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best show on television right now. It has movie quality acting, special effects, and storyline. It's basically an epic movie that amc is showing an hour of every week.
  45. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    By far one of the most gripping stories told on television to date, and these days television is looking better than movies. The people, the zombies, the building all tell a story and... man, what a story. I can not stress enough how great this show is, i have no idea who these actors are but they are SO compelling and they drew me in. I cannot wait for this story hit it's stride because the substance they can use is basically infinite. Expand
  46. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of the comic, and I have to say that I wasn't let down in the least. In Ireland the first episode aired on a channel called FX, which screened the entire episode from start to finish in an hour (no ad breaks) and I have to say I was absolutely glued to the screen for the entire hour. The iconic scene when Rick stumbles across whats left of a wom-bie (woman zombie) really hits home how much of a world of **** / suffering Rick is in store for. Brilliant stuff - I can't recommend this enough to everyone. Must see series. Expand
  47. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    First of I'm not much of a zombie apocalypse fan as the whole genre seems overdone. However, I had read a few issues of the The Walking Dead graphic novel and was fascinated, with the direction the writers took with the story. When I heard about the TV version of it, I was a bit skeptical because film almost never does a great book justice. I'm glad to say that I am absolutely wrong on this account. The show is brilliantly paced, well scripted and the visuals are dark and gritty with the cinematography just hinting that something better is going to come for our protagonist, inevitably followed by something that much more sinister. I love this show!!!! Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I honestly can't find anything overwhelmingly unlikable about this show. The storyline is off to a good start. The characters are likable when they need to be. The blood and violence are intense, graphic, and very well done... but they don't use it as a crutch. All in all, this is probably the best new show I've seen in the last couple of years.
  49. pps
    Nov 17, 2010
    10
    i first watched this show thinking it would be the biggest crappfest on tv, mostly because i hate those horrible, unscary zombie movies with bad acting. but i was extremely surprised about how great it was, it kept you on the edge of your seat but also was truely about the characters, which really makes the show. i almost never like shows this much but it is really great, and makes me can't wait to see the next episode becaus the show takes its time but is also fast paced. Expand
  50. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of the best new shows out there right now. I've seen a lot of zombie apocalypse movies and haven't been impressed, but this is something that leaves me wanting more. The plot is solid, the characters are well played, and the scenes of horror are intense enough to experience the characters' despair yourself.
  51. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What could be more entertaining than watching a show about zombies? The answer is nothing. The characters are developed extremely well, and the core of the show is a dark and lonely tone, with everyone who hasn't been bitten by the infected people coming together to survive. Simplicity is a trend I have noticed in 2010, and the show creators create one of the most interesting and WTF? shows of the year. Expand
  52. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The cinematography is amazing, the music is amazing, the actors are good, the plot is amazing, the atmosphere is very well crafted, and the general tone of the show is very well done. Do not miss The Walking Dead.
  53. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  54. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, first 2 episodes are by far the best and I like the season one finale. Season 2 was ok, took the whole "we are the only ones left of this earth" feeling away when 3/4 of the series was just shouting "SOPHIA!"'. Never read the comics because I'm 24 and I don't buy comics, TBH never even heard of it before the tv show. Shane was cool in series 1, lorri is a slag, that girl who always wants to shoot guns is annoying, Carl is deffo bent, t-dog is a **** the old camper man was cool, glen the Chinese guy is very likeable, daryl is legend, the farm man is good and Rick is a BOSS! Very well acted for a out of nowhere tv show.

    Lets hope it stays this good and takes best tv show from Lost or the sopranos.
    Expand
  55. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This show already has an advantage over Zombie movies: Having the ability to flesh out characters. The fact that you care what happens to the cast is what makes this show great. Definitely a good show to watch if you like horror, drama, and humanity.
  56. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    "The Walking Dead' is one of the best new shows of the fall and I would like to personally thank AMC for the amazing shows they've been puting out. "The Walking Dead" is very well-acted and not kleshaed as some may have expected it to be. My only complaint is of the pacing. Sometimes the show is very slow then extremely fast moving and to-the-point near the end of the episode, but this is really just nitpicking when it comes down to it. Expand
  57. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    It rocks my world !This is so entertaining and mindless. All you do is sit and relax and get the **** scared out of you. What could be better than that ?
  58. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    The fact zombies are part of the content is secondary. The simple fact is Walking Dead is human nature showcased, its very touching because of this. Hopefully they remain true to the spirit of the books. WD is my favorite TV show of all time... One because I hate TV and two because I love exploring human nature. WD is awesome!

    BTW: I hate you!
  59. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    "The Walking Dead" (TWD) is fantastic. As a whole it is cinematographically brilliant. Every shot is like you are watching a theatrical movie. The picture is so vivid and mesmerizing. The acting is brilliant as well. I think this series is very on par with "Breaking Bad" and "Mad Men" as far as quality of entertainment, but ads a new twist to AMC's lineup. This network brings nothing but quality and well thought out shows and "TWD" is just that. Every week this show has kept me glued to the screen and it makes you really feel for the characters even though we have only known them for a short time. This show so far is a very faithful adaptation and if the episodes continue the way they have been (dark environments, great acting and relationships that you can feel for.) it is going to last for years to come. In two words; Just Awesome. Expand
  60. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    AMAZING show. at first I thought it started a bit slow..a lot of talking..and would have LOVED to see the collapse of the world happen (police and military trying to deal with the dead). EVERY zombie movies lacks this. BUT this is not a zombie movie, instead a GREAT show. Enjoy this very much and theyve made some very good changes. Only show i actually watch anymore. give it a 10!
  61. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    I haven't read the books which seems to be a problem for some of my friends, but maybe that is why I can love it for what it is. The human drama that unfolds is not only brought to life by the wonderful cast but the special effects are really great. The show features probably the best zombies I have ever seen on the screen. I do intend on reading the books soon but I think measuring a screen adaptation against the source material is unfair, just like Harry Potter films don't follow the books perfectly. Walking Dead is brilliant at what it does, it may be a bit deviant from the source material but that doesn't mean it cannot be appreciated for what it DOES do. Great show, I'm looking forward to the next season. Expand
  62. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    amazing characters great plot and storyline daryle is a badass they should air him more. better than resident evil. will be waiting for season two to air. and whoever does the zombie makeup is a extremely talented
  63. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great new show, I've read the entire comic book series up to 79 and season one only loosely uses the comic book story. (the part where Rick and Glenn cover themselves with rotting flesh actually comes from the comic version of the srory) I read a article the other day that says that Frank Darabont fired all the writers that wrote the first season and is bringing in some new writers. I am really looking forward to season 2.
    I
    Expand
  64. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    Nothing original in the first 6 episodes, but the writing and direction surpasses most of the material it plagiarizes. Overall, The Walking Dead had a strong (albeit short) first season. Looking forward to the second season.
  65. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    This is alive and well while most of TV & movies are dead. Reality shows & overated spew like Inception & Hurtlocker. You have to grade on a curve a little rasing the score for this show. They need more zombies and action but it still is engaging and has its chilling moments, mostly it does well what Steven King does even if the story isnt the best it can grab you and have you eagerly awaiting what comes next. The rest of TV is run by the brain dead, shoot em in the head. Expand
  66. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    One of the best shows ever to grace the television, the characters are enjoyable, the story is great as is the acting, my only complaint is that the season finale while great wasn't the best episode, I absolutely can not wait for season 2.
  67. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The first episode blow me away! I'm addicted to this show. I think that the history line is really interesting and the characters and their stories will surprise us! And dispite some opinions i've heard, i think that the final episode ended really well! The door is open for more drama. The worst part, and i think that was not clever at all, its the one year between series.
  68. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    I always wished to see a 10 hours Zombie movie. I know that it's not going to happen, but walking dead was exactly what I was looking for. A very good serie about the theme I aways like to see. I like everything about zombies and this serie has the best of it, It´s serious and have a good story. I give it a 10
  69. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Great Show! Great Acting, Great Plots! Overall Great BUT! In A Few Ep's It Seems Kinda Boring..
    9!
  70. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Based on the pilot episode alone, im delighted with what I saw. The Walking Dead offers detail that no zombie movie could ever be able to get across. Admittedly, I am intrigued by anything in the zombie apocalypse genre, but I have a good feeling that this one shall be better than most other series or movie dealing with the undead. It's safe to say I look forward to seeing the rest of the series. Let's just hope it stays real and doesn't go down the same pathetic road as the resident evil series. Expand
  71. May 19, 2011
    9
    The Zombie genre is something has been worn out time and time again but thankfully AMC's The Walking Dead is nothing short of sensational! Following a zombie apocalypse a group of survivors led by Rick Grimes are travelling across a desolate Americain the search for a safety however the dead are now coming back to life and danger awaits them around every corner. An engaging, stimulating and intense debut season that will have you hooked right from the start. Incredibly well paced in showing the atmosphere of a bleak and deserted America and also to develope each character enabling the audience to connect with them. Acting on show is fantastic and the story has been been wonderfully written. The only criticism I have is it is a mere 6 episodes! However, its 6 hours of quality stuff. Bring on Season 2! Expand
  72. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    One of the best shows on TV made for zombie lovers and haters. I've seen every episode at least three times now and they're all great. Props to AMC for giving so much freedom to the writers and producers. The wait for season 2 will be long and boring, but at least we'll have a full 13 episode season.
  73. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Initially, I thought this show would just be another generic zombie show. However, it is actually quite a masterpiece of interesting characterization, dialogue, and action. Another great AMC production (on-par with Breaking Bad).
  74. May 6, 2011
    10
    The acting is superb. Visually, it's beautiful. The story is intriguing, mainly because one becomes interested in seeing what the human survivors will do next. The suspense is intense. The music is very good and helps draw you in. All in all, this show is excellent. A zombie fan's dream come true. Keep 'em coming!
  75. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Great Show! I love zombies films/ tv shows. Finished the first season in a day cause it was that good! Cant wait for season 2!!! Best show on television right now.
  76. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire, The Shield, Rescue Me, and Sons of Anarchy) The Walking Dead has became a mega-hit and due to a large fan base (Although some of you don't appreciate the Walking Dead's brilliance as much as others) a rating's juggernaut. Expand
  77. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing, and there is no other way to put it. The Walking Dead is easily the best dramatic show on TV. It gets actual human emotions from a strong ensemble and great writing. This TV show manages to be both better then all non-Romero zombie movies, and it manages to be more dramatic then most other dramas. I honestly was starting to feel bad for the walkers, doomed to there horrible fate. This show, unlike most zombie movies, has likable characters that you really feel for. One of the top 5 shows on TV. Expand
  78. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilers going in because I had read the Kirkman books, but I was also apprehensive. When I heard a TV show was being developed I thought okay showtime or HBO, because they will be the only ones that can pull off the REQUIRED headshots, so I was worried that AMC had it. Not their rep for quality, just the reality of their audience. But wow, its gorgeous, and it had done a heck of a good job staying faithful to the source material. In the books the zombies are NOT in every frame, in fact they are ultimately secondary participants, and the fact that the show has followed this same blueprint is what makes the show superior. If the show continues keeps faith with the source, even if only 50%, we have some great television coming. Romero build the genre and the rules that go with it, but the Walking Dead will be looked upon as DEFINING the genre. Expand
  79. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I'm not much of a Zombie fan. This Series, however, has blown me away. The Walking Dead is loaded with suspense and action in every episode. The plot is mysterious and exciting, which always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I easily recommend The Walking Dead to everyone! Watch it!
  80. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the (if not the) greatest television show on right now. I just bought the DVD, and am rewatching all the episodes. What is brilliant about The Walking Dead is that it shares the same feel of the old Romero movies. It is quick, consuming, beautiful, gory, dark, and a lot of fun. And one more thing-for all of you complaining how the show was too gory, or had to much nudity (which, mind you, there is none at all. There was underwear in ep. 2, does that count as nudity to you psychos?) I'm gonna say this-to you, directly. ITS A F#$%ING ZOMBIE SHOW! It is a show about the living dead, who can only be killed with a shot to the head. You can't make this show without making it gory. So if you're one of those p%$$!#$ that likes clean entertainment for the whole family, go watch Nick Jr. Because people have grown up, and you should too. Expand
  81. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Excellently done zombie series, better than the comics IMHO. You really get a feel for the characters and their predicament. "Egg" from "This Life" is a decent lead. Season 1 final a tad disappointing.
  82. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Even know, I'm not a fan of zombie movies. The Walking Dead is one of the best shows on cable. Season 1 was amazing, filled with thrills and chills. Season 2, needs to come faster.
  83. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    in the 80's people used to talk about Miss World being a television event. **** The Walking Dead IS the real deal that cannot be missed. Everything from the gripping story lines, the costumes, the makeup, the crazy distopian landscapes, the uncertainty of what will happen to main characters helps to create a buzz that's like nothing else of TV. It has renewed my faith in the brilliance of TV. Watch it. NOW. Expand
  84. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    I decided to do my own review based on a lot of the Negative responses that I've seen like it's "disgusting' stuff like that. Now obviously its not a family show it was made more directly for zombie lovers do to the fact that for a long time no one had a good zombie show out their but vampires,their everywhere. This show is a bit stop and go as far as excitement but theirs always a surprise twist in all of it even some stuff no one see's coming. the show was aiming for a good realistic zombie apocalypse show that could ensnare it's viewers keep us all guessing and just when we think we got it figured out something bigger happens myself personally I think some things could have been portrayed better but I'm loving this show and looking forward to the next season which is soon to come and if you haven't seen the show and you like zombies, and your not afraid to get a but grossed out then this is an excellent show heart stopping, emotional, bloody, thrill ride excellent show with few flaws Expand
  85. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    The season 2 premiere was edge-of-the-seat stuff, even given the fact they had to spend a little time re-establishing who's who. It was also quite possibly some of the goriest tv i've ever seen, but as always remains true to the plot, with excellent writing and fantastic special effects.
  86. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing! My favorite show ever. Constant twists throughout the episodes with a great ending. I can expect season 2 to be even better. Daryl and T-Dog are the best.
  87. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Besides having some annoying characters, THE WALKING DEAD Season One is top-notch television; it is scary and suspenseful and feels very real, it is also very intense as well. I will be hard for the other seasons to top the brilliance that this introductory season offered.
  88. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    It has a movie like feel to it. I must say, it really is a great series that captures one's interest. If you like plot, this is the one to go for. Hands down best of its genre out there in the media today.
  89. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    I had always heard that the Walking Dead was very good, and it is, probably the best drama I have seen on TV. The series started off with a massive bang, and ended (literally) with one. The first episode remains my favourite, it was every bit excellent, violent and filled with drama, 10/10. The second episode was also very good, but episodes 3, 4 and 5 were not quite as good as the rest of the series (as the sixth episode is also very good). Essentially, the first episode was incredible, awesome stuff, and the rest was not quite up to the same standards: none of it is bad, or boring however, just not quite as good. Great, 87/100. Expand
  90. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    super exciting story line! Fast paced, no boring episode! I love the writing and direction of this show! I wish they will put more episodes into a series since the last time. I am definitely hooked and I can't wait for the next episode!
  91. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best show on television right now. The series is perfect for anyone who likes zombies, as I do. It has a lot of suspense to it and the show is really developing a great following for a reason.

    Best show on TV as of March 2012, period.
  92. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Great show, good plot, and entertaining characters. I had heard of this show from friends, some people I talk with online, and some family members talking about it. To my knowledge, it has a really big crazy fan base, and I can see why as I have joined this fan base. Let me start of by saying that I've always been a big fan of zombie movies/games. Resident evil namely being one of my favorite, also being one of the most prestigious series out there, I believe that this might just rival that! I don't want to talk about any specific moments in the series because I don't want to have any spoilers in this review, I mainly just want to talk about what I think. The actors in this series are great, especially that main character, Andrew Lincoln AKA Rick Grimes. He always seems to find a way out of bad situations and is a very motivational character and a great leader. The story line is very grabbing and can be very emotional at times. If you're a big zombie fan, this series is a MUST watch, if not, this series is great one to start with! Expand
  93. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    The Walking Dead television series is brilliant, such a good plot and very in depth, however it can be slow at points and take a more "Lost" approach in drawing the story out. Another good reason to watch this is because there is only 10 episodes so far (Across both series), so will be easy to get up to date with it.

    However series 2 is even more slow then the first, this I think is
    because they've been commissioned to create more episodes and series. Expand
  94. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best series from AMC. They did well with Mad Men, even better with Breaking Bad, and now completely outdone themselves with The Walking Dead. A perfect opening season for an amazing zombie show. The zombies on the show have to got to be the best I've seen in a while.
  95. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead Season 1 was an amazing start to a great new series based on a zombie apocalypse. Rarely done as a TV series the zombie genre has crawled its way back from the dead after several rehash comedic movies and have started a Renaissance which produced new seasons of this show among numerous games, movies, comics and other forms of media based on the Zombie genre. About the show itself however the characters, the storyline and the entire setting is quite nicely done. The emotion that is shown in the entire season is well put and despite the fact that some of the actors may not be well known upon the beginning of this show they will be known afterwards for years to come especially when newer seasons appear. The only main complaint in this season however is the length as the first season was only 6 episodes long. Expand
  96. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Somebody pinch me. I honestly think i'm dreaming because never in a million years would I think a successful zombie-themed television show be on the air. The Walking Dead is based on a series of comic books of the same name that are written by Robert Kirkman after first being published in 2003. This show has essential features from many other great TV programs, books and films. The acting is on par for some of the best presently on the small screen. One drawback is how short the first season is with only six episodes. Expand
  97. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    I absolutely love this series. The story is amazing, the characters are amazing, and the special effects are pretty good. My only problem is that the second season get a little slow at times.
  98. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I'm not sure if you can find a better example of adapting source material like the Comics for TWD in any genre. This is quintessentially perfect, and incredibly re-watchable even after 3 years it still is something I'll go back to and continually watch.
  99. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    First off the costume/make-up designs for the zombies is fantastic and is better then any zombie movie that was ever produced. The story is fantastic, personally I think the best part of the show is the fact that the zombies are not the main antagonist of the show so to say, the real antagonist is survival and functioning on whatever society is still left within the characters. The show does stick to the comic book as best as it could without making it to unrealistic (no spoilers sorry! Read the comic however because it is quite different then the show) One of the best shows on television right now, as well as one of the best horror shows on television ever. 10/10 Expand
  100. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Heck it made me start watching tv again. Does bore a bit in places bot otherwise a great show.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive