• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2645 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This first taste is damn near perfect.
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v.It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v. need better writers. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the number of sheep who lap up this garbage with zeal. I've come to the conclusion that the writers haven't yet let us in on the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episode discussing their feelings.
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    Points for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they'rePoints for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they're unreal. You really sense the writers trying to tug our heart-strings -- the manipulative plotting left me cold. It's a low-grade melodrama that fails to address any substantive social issues (unlike the excellent 28 Days Later). There was definitely some excitement in the long city sequence, in a survival-horror kind of way. If the characters weren't so hollow, and the dialogue so canned, the action sequences would have some weight behind them. Walking Dead gives the impression of a totally insincere, mass-market cash-grab made to capitalize on the zombie fad. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2016
    3
    The utter pain of AMC milking the life out of a series really is insulting to viewers.

    I stuck with the Walking Dead for 5 and a half seasons, quitting before the Season 6 finale. Season 1 starts pretty strong, some likeable characters, a zombie apocoplase and a lead character, Rick, who wakes in a world turned upside down, but tries to keep his self and morals. Alike Breaking Bad,
    The utter pain of AMC milking the life out of a series really is insulting to viewers.

    I stuck with the Walking Dead for 5 and a half seasons, quitting before the Season 6 finale.

    Season 1 starts pretty strong, some likeable characters, a zombie apocoplase and a lead character, Rick, who wakes in a world turned upside down, but tries to keep his self and morals. Alike Breaking Bad, this is the story of his decline through his survival. But, like LOST, as the seasons roll on, it feels more and more like a dramatisation about the relationships and back stories of every character just to make 16 episodes a season and as many seasons as they can. Let alone a spin off series.

    My problem with the walking dead is just this.

    Season 4 was an ordeal to watch through, it was slow in pace, boring in script, yet had one stand out episode with Carol and the kids, outside that, it was dull with very little of consequence happening. I think this is probably because I'm no longer in the target audience demographic. If I wasn't in my 30s now, and was 15, I would be hooked on this series for the gore and killings alone. Seeing a zombies face being caved in by a butt of a gun would of been gore-p0rn for 15 year old me, but in my 30s, and having watched some truly horrific movies and gore (Irreversible/A Serbian Film/GuiniaPig etc) it now feels very repetitive, which sums up the Walking Dead. I imagine a team of writers looking to do the plot of a new season goes something like:
    "The gang learn of a new place to take refuge off a man that dies in the 1st episode. Milk 6-7 episodes reaching said place, ensuring plenty of back story and flashbacks to fill up the episodes with as much "Brother and Sisters" like drama as they can, then have a mid-season Finale on the next episode when they reach the destination. Episodes 9-13 tackle to dynamics of the new destination and the people there and how the gang mix or dont mix with them. Season Finale = gang realises that there's no refuge where they arrived, and decide to move onto the next place inline with the next season."

    I read a few of the graphic novels, as a friend is obsessed with them, and the plots have a few massive differences. I think the show would of been better to keep with the comics plot. Now, it feels like this show has no direction other than Rick falling apart more and more, but it's so much filler and poorly written cliche back-stories, I can barely bother.

    And I wont add a spoiler - but COME ON ... the entire death / non death of a character in Season 5 will make you think the writers are taking you for a mug.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2016
    10
    Few things stop me from watching Sunday night football and TWD is one of them. All the people that love to hate this show can go fly a kite, yeah I said it! This is a great show, great story lines, great cast and I love how over the years the story has become more about survival in the new world and less about the zombies, they are more like gnats now, they are just an annoyance, but aFew things stop me from watching Sunday night football and TWD is one of them. All the people that love to hate this show can go fly a kite, yeah I said it! This is a great show, great story lines, great cast and I love how over the years the story has become more about survival in the new world and less about the zombies, they are more like gnats now, they are just an annoyance, but a deadly annoyance!! Expand
  8. Oct 20, 2017
    10
    this is GOLD its that perfect mix between zombies and survivors i love everything about this series including the characters and zombies places and man many more things ...
  9. Nov 5, 2017
    7
    I remember starting to watch this and the first time I saw Rick ride his horse into that giant hoard of walkers... man I fell in love with the show. The acting and character development are all brilliant. I remember simply just choosing this show to watch as I was with my dad and we wanted some horror with good acting for once, this show more than provides that and to this day we are stillI remember starting to watch this and the first time I saw Rick ride his horse into that giant hoard of walkers... man I fell in love with the show. The acting and character development are all brilliant. I remember simply just choosing this show to watch as I was with my dad and we wanted some horror with good acting for once, this show more than provides that and to this day we are still watching it. Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The glory days of the show. Characters could be killed in any episode, not just season/midseason finales. Before they fired Frank Darabont. Truly one of the greatest seasons of television, and it's too bad the show couldn't keep this kind of quality. Expand
  11. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it offI read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it off spectacularly and have given the TV show its own special place in an alternate setting to the comics (even if it does have a lot of the same characters). The cast are largely unknown to me but all are amazing at the role they play, bringing across the best interpretation of those well established characters possible. The Walking Dead is for any zombie fan or even people who like a good drama. A must watch by any means. Expand
  12. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Simply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than manySimply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than many theatrical releases on the zombie genre. I also watched season two, and the progression of the character development during this and the next season is truly amazing. HATS OFF TO ALL INVOLVED IN THIS PRODUCTION. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the firstThe First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the first episode was amazing followed by 6 other will down episodes, AMC's the Walking Dead is truly worth your time. FINAL VERDICT 10/10 Expand
  14. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    People who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. ThePeople who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. The show has fantastic camera work, plot, direction, and most importantly, unlike most entertainment today, it gives itself time to breath, to get a hold of itself. People complaining about the pace probably aren't used to this, and think a show about a zombie apocalypse should be about zombies instead of the survivors. This show is simply fantastic, and one of the best shows on T.V. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically females, however the majority of characters are brilliant. The Walking Dead not only refers to its realistic zombies AKA Walkers, but the minds and soul of our characters and how the world around them effects their declining morality.
    Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  17. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action andThis is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  18. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  19. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a fan of the horror genre but was pretty impressed by this show. Well acted, well-directed, well-written but could afford to move along at a little bit faster pace. More gore than I think I've ever seen on a basic cable show too. Looking forward to upcoming episodes and hope they utilize the twists and turns in the writing that AMC shows are known for.
  20. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilersI am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilers going in because I had read the Kirkman books, but I was also apprehensive. When I heard a TV show was being developed I thought okay showtime or HBO, because they will be the only ones that can pull off the REQUIRED headshots, so I was worried that AMC had it. Not their rep for quality, just the reality of their audience. But wow, its gorgeous, and it had done a heck of a good job staying faithful to the source material. In the books the zombies are NOT in every frame, in fact they are ultimately secondary participants, and the fact that the show has followed this same blueprint is what makes the show superior. If the show continues keeps faith with the source, even if only 50%, we have some great television coming. Romero build the genre and the rules that go with it, but the Walking Dead will be looked upon as DEFINING the genre. Expand
  21. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead is engaging, it's intense and overall very entertaining. Although a short season, this is definitely a strong one. It sets the atmosphere and story really well, has some good characters, and some annoying ones but overall it's a good start to the show and way better than season two.
  22. Aug 30, 2015
    3
    The characters are dumb. They are not thought-over, they don't show any kind of development, they sometimes seem act at random. Like the writers forgot who they were between episodes. Apart from that major flaw, the show is nice.
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best series from AMC. They did well with Mad Men, even better with Breaking Bad, and now completely outdone themselves with The Walking Dead. A perfect opening season for an amazing zombie show. The zombies on the show have to got to be the best I've seen in a while.
  24. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    To be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. ApocalypticTo be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. Apocalyptic series or films have been known to take long to develop a story, like the film Resident Evil which has along sequel. The plot is great and I think we'l get a good 10 seasons Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2017
    0
    From cinematography to acting to the writing, this show is one of the worst. It looks like it was filmed in the early 90's and the over acting, excessive dialogue concerning everyones feelings is painful to sit through.

    The only redeeming factor is the very rare times that a zombie with nice makeup pops onto the screen.
  26. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back withThe perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies andThe best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  29. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    The first part of the season is a well crafted, almost shot-for-shot adaptation of the original graphic novel. The second half strays away but maintains the excitement and terror you'd very much expect from a zombie apocalypse.
  30. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire,With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire, The Shield, Rescue Me, and Sons of Anarchy) The Walking Dead has became a mega-hit and due to a large fan base (Although some of you don't appreciate the Walking Dead's brilliance as much as others) a rating's juggernaut. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive